Rachel Solomon's Reviews > The Midnights

The Midnights by Sarah Nicole Smetana
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
9395720
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: 2018-favorites, class-2k18, electric-18s

THE MIDNIGHTS is one of the most exquisite YA novels I've ever read, with an evocative, dreamy setting that is truly a character in itself. I've never read a Southern California so raw and alive and unapologetic. Sarah Nicole Smetana's prose should be savored like the darkest dark chocolate. So many lines burrowed into my heart and stuck in my throat. I loved and ached for Susannah, grieving the sudden loss of the musician father who didn't have enough time for her. Every member of Susannah's friend group is deeply realized, nuanced, and compelling. This book is 400 pages, but I'd happily have read another hundred. A must-read for fans of Nina LaCour, Jandy Nelson, and Jessi Kirby. Pairs beautifully with Janet McNally's GIRLS IN THE MOON.
8 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Midnights.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

September 3, 2017 – Started Reading
September 3, 2017 – Shelved
September 3, 2017 – Shelved as: 2018-favorites
September 3, 2017 – Shelved as: class-2k18
September 3, 2017 – Shelved as: electric-18s
September 13, 2017 – Finished Reading

No comments have been added yet.