Manny's Reviews > Handmaid's Tale

Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
1713956
's review
Sep 19, 2011

liked it
bookshelves: science-fiction, too-sexy-for-maiden-aunts, celebrity-death-match, life-is-dante
Read 2 times. Last read January 1, 2001.

For the Celebrity Death Match Review Tournament, The Handmaid's Tale (7) versus The Divine Comedy (26)

As she neared the gates, Offred saw an inscription over them which read
ABANDON HOPE, ALL YE WHO ENTER HERE
She passed through, and they closed silently behind her. A moment later, she heard a voice that seemed to come simultaneously from the ground, the sky, and the inside of her head.

"You have forfeited all your rights," said the voice. "You will be my chattel and my plaything here through all eternity, and I will do with you as I please. There is no end to the ways I will find to torment you; but the first and greatest of these torments is that you will have no hope."

Offred was rather reminded of her late husband. I will find it easy to get used to my new life, she thought. But then she remembered that she was now dead.
47 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Handmaid's Tale.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

Started Reading (Other Paperback Edition)
May 1, 2000 – Finished Reading (Other Paperback Edition)
Started Reading
January 1, 2001 – Finished Reading
December 20, 2008 – Shelved (Other Paperback Edition)
December 20, 2008 – Shelved as: science-fiction (Other Paperback Edition)
January 2, 2009 – Shelved as: too-sexy-for-mai... (Other Paperback Edition)
October 6, 2010 – Shelved as: older-men-younge... (Other Paperback Edition)
September 19, 2011 – Shelved
September 19, 2011 – Shelved as: science-fiction
September 19, 2011 – Shelved as: too-sexy-for-maiden-aunts
September 28, 2011 – Shelved as: celebrity-death-match
June 26, 2012 – Shelved as: life-is-dante

Comments (showing 1-5 of 5) (5 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Manny (last edited Sep 19, 2011 06:12AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Manny Technical note: in case anyone was unsure, this counts as a win for The Divine Comedy. I mean, she's dead, right?


Manny Jane wrote: "Hmmm trying to decide if I want to put the handmaid on my to-read list.."

I love Margaret Atwood, but this was my least favorite of the ones I've read! My advice is to start with the short story collections, they are completely fabulous.


Manny I think I slightly preferred Wilderness Tips, but Bluebeard's Egg was also terrific.


message 4: by Nenče (new)

Nenče Did you know that Geoffrey Chaucer interviewed Atwood?

http://houseoffame.blogspot.com/2011/...


Manny Thank you, I had not looked at his Blog for too long! I particularly liked

GC: Chivalrie?

MA: Code of honour seldom followed, except in literature, and by parfit gentil Knyghtes; OR rescuing chained-up maidens, with soft-porne illustracciouns; OR sayinge thank you when someone openeth the door for you.


back to top