Rebecca's Reviews > In Pursuit of Memory: The Fight Against Alzheimer's

In Pursuit of Memory by Joseph Jebelli
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5875398
(4.5) Debut author and neuroscientist Joseph Jebelli has a personal stake in the fight against Alzheimer’s disease: his beloved grandfather succumbed to it back in Iran in 2012. With the world’s population aging, it’s expected that by 2050 Alzheimer’s will be the second leading cause of death (after heart disease). What to do in the face of what Jebelli calls a “global and inescapable epidemic”? You might expect a book like this to be depressing, but instead it is reassuring to see how our understanding of dementia and the genetics of diseases has advanced in the last century and just how many research avenues are open and promising. Jebelli’s writing style is comparable to that of Siddhartha Mukherjee, Ed Yong and Atul Gawande. His prose is perhaps not quite as lively and literary as theirs, but he conveys scientific facts in a clear way the layman can understand; in addition, he balances history and research with a personal story readers can relate to.

See my full review at BookBrowse. (See also my article on Alzheimer’s facts.)

I won a copy in a Goodreads giveaway.
15 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read In Pursuit of Memory.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

August 14, 2017 – Shelved
August 14, 2017 – Shelved as: to-read
August 14, 2017 – Shelved as: medical
August 14, 2017 – Shelved as: dementia
August 14, 2017 – Shelved as: family-memoirs
August 14, 2017 – Shelved as: science-tech
August 28, 2017 – Shelved as: giveaways-winner
October 1, 2017 – Started Reading
October 3, 2017 – Shelved as: old-age-or-ageing
October 6, 2017 – Shelved as: reviewed-bookbrowse
October 17, 2017 – Finished Reading
December 21, 2017 – Shelved as: best-of-2017
March 9, 2018 – Shelved as: wellcome-prize-longlist

Comments Showing 1-8 of 8 (8 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Canadian Reader Rebecca, does he address Alzheimer’s as Type 3 diabetes (insulin resistance)?


Rebecca Yes, that gets a brief mention. I originally had a line about it in my review, but it was cut for being too science-y :p


Canadian Reader Too bad it was cut, because apparently this research is cutting-edge and may prove to be key. Apparently a diet of refined grains is highly problematic; insulin is constantly high and cells become resistant to its effects. Enjoyed your review, even if you were compelled to cut out the science. Must be frustrating at times for you!


message 4: by Rebecca (last edited Nov 16, 2017 11:46PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Rebecca I realize the website wants to make sure the reviews are at a level understandable to the layman. Hopefully lots of people will be inspired to pick up the book and learn more for themselves.


message 5: by Cheri (new) - added it

Cheri Terrific review, Rebecca! Added!


Rebecca Cheri wrote: "Terrific review, Rebecca! Added!"

Thanks, Cheri!


message 7: by Sue (new) - added it

Sue Really interesting, Rebecca. Thanks for your review. I'm going to look for the book as I am very interested in all of the latest information in this area.


Rebecca It's a well-written and engaging layman's survey. I hope you find it useful.


back to top