Candace's Reviews > The Secret Wife

The Secret Wife by Gill Paul
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
16384209
** spoiler alert ** 'The Secret Wife' was a nice, enjoyable historical fiction/romance. Although it lacked the "wow" factor, I found it to be a good story overall. It was interesting and I enjoyed the details related to the time period. However, given the subject matter, the book lacked the suspense that I would have expected.

The story alternates timeframes, as well as locations. In 2016, Kitty Fisher discovers that her husband is having an affair. She has recently inherited a cabin in the United States from a great-grandfather that she never knew existed. Given the recent revelations about her marriage, she packs her bags and leaves her home in London, setting out for the cabin at Lake Akanabee.

Soon after her arrival, Kitty discovers some old writings in the cabin. She becomes consumed with uncovering the story of her great-grandfather, Dmitri Malama. The more she unearths, the more apparent it becomes that Dmitri's life was anything but unremarkable.

Through the writings, a new look at Russia in 1914 and the downfall of the Romanov family is offered. Unlike many other stories centered on the Romanov family, which tend to speculate about Anastasia's fate, this book focuses on Tatiana Romanov. I found this part of the story to be fascinating and highly entertaining. I lavished in every detail of this era in Russian history.

Dmitri was a cavalry officer who meets Tatiana when he is injured. Tatiana volunteers at the hospital where he is sent for treatment. The two fall in love, only to be separated thereafter by the overthrow of the Russian Tsar and the subsequent restrictions placed on the Romanov family.

Even after the reported murder of the Romanovs, Dmitri holds out hope that Tatiana is alive. Eventually, he gives up hope. He goes on to start a family of his own and relocates to America.

However, things aren't always what they seem. When fate thrusts Tatiana back into his life, Dmitri is forced to make some very hard choices. Can he reconcile his love for Tatiana with the new life that he has made for himself and the wife that has stuck by his side throughout the years?

All things considered, I expected this to be a much more emotional read. Instead, it felt sweet and maybe even a little sad. Even with Tatiana's reappearance, the story failed to elicit the tremendous emotional highs and lows that I expected. Things just fell together too perfectly.

Dmitri's wife was just too accepting and almost complacent. I even felt the same way about how things worked out for Kitty and her husband. It was like these characters had been given a heavy dose of a sedative. Where was the anger and sense of betrayal?

Overall, it ended up being a good but not great type of story for me. It had a lot of unrealized potential. I needed more emotion and a stronger connection to the characters. It felt kind of "flat" to me, for lack of a better descriptor.

Check out more of my reviews at www.bookaddicthaven.com
159 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Secret Wife.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

July 17, 2017 – Started Reading
July 17, 2017 – Shelved
July 17, 2017 – Shelved as: listened-to-audio-version
July 19, 2017 – Shelved as: childhood-loves
July 19, 2017 – Shelved as: forbidden-romance
July 19, 2017 – Shelved as: love-triangles
July 19, 2017 – Shelved as: shocking-twists
July 19, 2017 – Shelved as: sweet-heart-warming-stories
July 19, 2017 – Shelved as: historical
July 19, 2017 – Finished Reading

Comments (showing 1-28 of 28) (28 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Brina (new)

Brina Sounds like a fun summer read :)


Candace Brina wrote: "Sounds like a fun summer read :)"

It was pretty good, Brina. :) xoxo


Jackie***Obsessed with my Kindle I gave it a 3-stat too! Thank goodness I wasn't alone. Everyone else in the book club gave it a 5-star. Looking forward to your review!!


Candace Jackie***Obsessed with my Kindle wrote: "I gave it a 3-stat too! Thank goodness I wasn't alone. Everyone else in the book club gave it a 5-star. Looking forward to your review!!"

I felt the same way. It was good, but nothing spectacular. Good to know I wasn't the only one that thought so, Jackie. :) xoxo


Jackie***Obsessed with my Kindle excellent review! conveyed my thoughts exactly! =)


Jenny••Steamy Reads Blog•• Wonderful review, luv!! xx


Sophie "Beware Of The Reader" Excellent honest review Candace! ;-)


message 8: by Steffi (new)

Steffi De Ceuster  ♥ Fantastic review, Candace! Xoxo


message 9: by Judith (new)

Judith Terrific review,sweetheart,x


KAT ♕ Kitty Kats Crazy About Books ♕ Lovely review Candace xxx


Norma * Traveling Sister Wonderful review, Candace! :-)


Candace Norma wrote: "Wonderful review, Candace! :-)"

KAT ⚛ Kitty Kat's Crazy About Books ⚛ wrote: "Lovely review Candace xxx"

Judith wrote: "Terrific review,sweetheart,x"

Steffi wrote: "Fantastic review, Candace! Xoxo"

Sophie "Beware Of The Reader" wrote: "Excellent honest review Candace! ;-)"

Jenny wrote: "Wonderful review, luv!! xx"

Jackie***Obsessed with my Kindle wrote: "excellent review! conveyed my thoughts exactly! =)"

Thanks so much, ladies! :) xoxo


Melissa ♥ Dog/Wolf Lover ♥ Martin Fab review, Candace 💕😊


Candace Melissa ♥ Dog Lover ♥ wrote: "Fab review, Candace 💕😊"

Thanks so much, Melissa! :) xoxo


Melissa ♥ Dog/Wolf Lover ♥ Martin You're most welcome =) xoxo


message 16: by Choko (new)

Choko Great review, Candace!! It sounds interesting despite the lack of "wow":)


message 17: by Nazanin (new)

Nazanin Amazing review, Candace! xoxo


message 18: by Jessica's (new)

Jessica's Totally Over The Top Book Obsession Great review doll :)


Candace Choko wrote: "Great review, Candace!! It sounds interesting despite the lack of "wow":)"

Thanks, Choko! It was very interesting at times. There were plenty of historical details that really intrigued me. It was the love story and implausibility that was disappointing. :) xoxo


Candace Jessica's wrote: "Great review doll :)"

Nazanin wrote: "Amazing review, Candace! xoxo"

Thanks so much, ladies! :) xoxo


message 21: by CC (new)

CC Wonderful review, Candace! ;)


Candace CC wrote: "Wonderful review, Candace! ;)"

Thanks so much, CC! :) xoxo


Muireannwolfsbane great review, I'm glad that I'm not the only one who didn't buy Rosa.


Candace Muireannwolfsbane wrote: "great review, I'm glad that I'm not the only one who didn't buy Rosa."

Thanks so much! Me too. :) xoxo


message 25: by Kathryn (new)

Kathryn Great review!


Candace Kathryn wrote: "Great review!"

Thanks so much, Kathryn! :) xoxo


message 27: by Kim (new) - rated it 3 stars

Kim You summed up my thoughts exactly! Thanks for the great review.


message 28: by Ro (new) - rated it 3 stars

Ro Great review. Exactly how I felt.


back to top