♥Rachel♥'s Reviews > Something About You

Something About You by Julie James
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5481477
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: favorites
Recommended to ♥Rachel♥ by: Smut Monday Club
Read 2 times. Last read April 2, 2012 to April 3, 2012.

This was picked for our Smut Monday Club reading and even though I read it before, I wanted to read it with everyone again. I forgot how much I really liked this! Actually after reading this for the second time, I realized I loved it!

This is a simple, drama and frustration free, romance! There is no angst or love triangle to pull you hair out over! There is just snarky, witty, banter between the main characters, Cameron and Jack, and a fast, fun, and super-sexy plot.

Cameron is a prosecutor for the Chicago DA and happens to be at the wrong place at the wrong time. She's staying in a fancy hotel, treating herself to some pampering while her hardwood floors are being re-done. Unfortunately for Cameron, she gets stuck next door to a very amorous couple that keeps her awake with their Viagra induced antics. At the end of all this, we're left with a dead woman, and a Senator for a suspect. Cameron ends up being the only potential witness in a high profile murder case with Jack Pallas, FBI agent, leading the investigation. This is Cameron's worst nightmare because she has a less than friendly history with glowering, but hunky, Agent Hottie, Jack! Don't worry, all this will be explained when you read this story (you must, by the way!).

I loved how well this story developed. You don't want to put this down! The plot is fast-paced and well-thought out, and the dialogue is smart and funny. And let's not forget Jack! Glowering, and darkly handsome, Jack! Who doesn’t lust after a hot, Alpha male in law enforcement?!! Loved this description of him: "a lean, muscular build and a face that was just barley saved from being almost too handsome by that five o'clock shadow." and then this one: "Rugged hotness, sex in a shoulder harness." So, yes, he was pretty much one of my favorite male fantasies characters! Cameron was also a worthy female lead. She was a strong, independent woman with a big heart and a lot of sass! There were so many quotes that had me laughing and sizzling! I laughed about this one:

Purple Hair stopped dusting blush over Cameron's cheeks. "Hold up. Are you talking about the dark-haired guy who came in with you? The one who searched me before I could do your makeup?" Cameron grimaced. "Sorry about that." "Don't be-it was the highlight of my month. That's the guy you're holding out on? Sweetie, you need to grab that stallion and ride him like a cowgirl."


Funny, I just had a vaguely similar conversation with my lovely GR friend, Laura, about cowboys! Haha!

So, if you like romance, with a smart plot, do yourself a favor and pick this one up! You won't be disappointed.

38 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Something About You.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

Finished Reading
September 5, 2011 – Shelved
October 30, 2011 –
12.0% "Already really liking this!!"
April 2, 2012 – Started Reading
April 2, 2012 –
11.0% "This is the second time around for me. Forgot how it started. What a way to spend a night at an expensive hotel! Banging, yelling, and a spank. (disappointing when it's coming from another room, Lol!)"
April 2, 2012 –
51.0% "Liked this: "I was standing on the stairs when Jack first showed up at the door, and I saw the way you looked at him, Cam.". "What is this so-called 'look'?" "You know the Tom and Jerry cartoon where Tom hasn't eaten for days and he imagines Jerry looking like a ham? Kind of like that.""
April 2, 2012 –
72.0% "Going to sleep with thoughts of naughty boots!"
April 3, 2012 – Finished Reading
August 4, 2015 – Shelved as: favorites

Comments Showing 1-36 of 36 (36 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Kristina Snyder Can't wait to see what you think of this.


♥Rachel♥ I've read this before, Kristina. I really liked it. I think you would too. :) It's adult, though, not YA.


Bethany I think it might have been a mistake for me to skip this Monday’s book. This sounds good!


♥Rachel♥ Bethany, are you skipping because you feel pressure to get that other book out? If so, don't!! I'd rather you join us. You'd like this one.


Bethany No, I was looking forward to reading it. I thought about trying to read both books at the same time, but I’m not that fast of a reader. :)


♥Rachel♥ You should read it after, Bethany, so you could join us. But no pressure! It's just that we'll miss you! :)


Bethany I miss you guys too! My Monday has not been the same. I think I will start this after Red Death. It sounds like a lot of fun!


♥Rachel♥ I'll stalk your updates then. :)


Kristina Snyder I read anything now Rachel. It sounds really good.


Bethany I'm so ready to read this! I'm in need for a "drama and frustration free, romance."


Eunice Great review, Rachel. This sounds fun, I think I might check this out someday. :))


♥Rachel♥ I think you'd like it Eunice, and thanks! :)


♥Rachel♥ Bethany, aren't we all?!! ;)


Jasprit Nice review Rachel, how can we not mention the glowering looks! And I love the quotes! :)


message 15: by ♥Rachel♥ (last edited Apr 04, 2012 03:29AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

♥Rachel♥ I have never been so fond of the glower, Jasprit! And thanks. :)


Arlene Perfect review Rachel! LOL I love Purple Hair's quote. I actually laughed out loud when I read that one. Great Smut Monday pick!


♥Rachel♥ Thanks Arlene, I have so many quotes highlighted in this one. I forgot how fun and smexy it was. I kept going back and forth with my vote for our next Smut Monday after I finished this one. It kind of looks as though we'll be doing book 2 in 2 weeks (if I don't end up changing my vote!) lol! Glad you enjoyed it. I'll look for your review. :)


Arlene LOL I almost changed my vote too. You know what? Maybe now I will. I didn't realize how much I'd love this book. I'd like to read book 2 next week. :)


JoJo - JJJ (Jo Anna) Janesko Starting this book tonight. Can't wait!!! Great review Rachel.


♥Rachel♥ Thanks JoJo. I think you'll like it! You're not the only one starting late on this one. I think Bethany, Jennifer and Mary started late too. I'll be stalking your updates! :)


JoJo - JJJ (Jo Anna) Janesko Jennifer and I are going to buddy read it. So yes she is starting late with me as well. Can't wait I hope it is a winner!!! You all seem to like it so it is a good sign.


~Tina~ Great review! I'm starting it today. I'm late, but better late then nevah;)


♥Rachel♥ Thank you, Tina. Have fun with Jack and his sexy glower! I don't think you're alone. JoJo, Jennifer, Mary, and Bethany are reading this now. I'll stalk you status updates! :)


Laura Oh, goodness! I drool every time an alpha male in law enforcement comes into play! Hehe…Wonderful review, Rachel!
p.s. We SO have to get a cowboy in on the Smut Monday fun in the next couple of weeks! Speaking of me drooling. ;)


♥Rachel♥ Oh, I'm SO with you, Laura. Wasn't your pick for the poll a cowboy book? I'll have to check. It's funny, I just got an invite last week from Netgalley Colby Law. Check out the cover! Hahaha! Of course, I took them up on it, lol! ;)


Angie - Angie's Dreamy Reads Great review....this looks good and sounds awesome too!!


♥Rachel♥ Thanks Angie. This was a lot of fun and our very first SMC read! Good times. :)


message 28: by Rachel (new) - added it

Rachel Haha!!!!!!!! Love the cowboy conversation mention! love the fun nature of this review! I really want to read this book to meet jack. love how this review was 1st posted on my birthday!


♥Rachel♥ Thank you Rachel! I just re-read that quote since it was a while since I wrote this review, and I was laughing. This was definitely a book that sucks you right in & holds on until you finish. Hope you like it if you pick it up. :)


message 30: by Book (new) - rated it 4 stars

Book Smut Monday Club?!?! I want to be on one of those! Haha. I've read another in this series and enjoyed it.


Hershey Great review, Rachel :)


message 32: by • Lisa • (new)

• Lisa • Love the sound of this x


♥Rachel♥ Lisa Jayne wrote: "Love the sound of this x"

Oh, I think this is exactly your type of book, Lisa! I didn't know you haven't read it. Hope you like it if you pick it up. :)


message 34: by • Lisa • (new)

• Lisa • I've never read any of this authors books but like you say I've been told it's my thing !!!! ❤️❤️


Ronyell Awesome review Rachel! I loved this book also! Cameron and Jack are an awesome couple!


♥Rachel♥ Ronyell wrote: "Awesome review Rachel! I loved this book also! Cameron and Jack are an awesome couple!"

Oh, yay, Ronyell! I'm so happy you loved this too. Julie James has a way with classy romance! :)


back to top