Robert's Reviews > The Way of Kings

The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
67084697
's review
Sep 20, 2017

it was amazing
bookshelves: 2017, epic-fantasy, fiction, favorites, actual-shelf

There is a lot to say about 'The Way of Kings' by Brandon Sanderson, but I don't think that I can do the book justice. Imagine a world that is understandable, yet strange and foreign. (view spoiler)

Occasionally- a huge hurricane/typhoon of a storm (is that insulting the magnitude of the storm?) sweeps across the land of Roshar. The book follows a couple of characters and the lives they live. One is a man who believes he is cursed and cannot do anything right. Another is a scholar whose goal is to steal. Another is a man of honor who serves his king and adheres to (view spoiler) Finally- another weeps as he assassinates people at the behest of unknown benefactors.

The prose within the book and the careful construction of this story is nearly unparalleled. What I am saying is that the book is so good that it is leading into an epic 10 book series. Think of the book like riding the winds of a storm. At first it begins to pick up speed, but as you read the book the storm turns into a maelstrom. When an author can build a world and make it fun? I am most certainly interested.

There are many good lessons that can apply to real life in this book. Ideas of honor and integrity in a world full of conceit and dishonesty. The book, in my opinion really begins to take off around page 500. This is when I 'bit the hook' so to speak. Your reward for reading an interesting story is an epic 'ramping up' of things to come. This is a book series that I can recommend to any Epic Fantasy or Fantasy readers. The struggles are real, the emotions are real- and the world feels real too. I do not give 5's to books easily, but this one deserves a 5.

My favorite parts of the book were when Kaladin (view spoiler) and when Dalinar (view spoiler) as well as (view spoiler) The commentary afterward was priceless.

I've already ordered the hard cover of book 2- and will get the hardcover of book 1 in the near future.
flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Way of Kings.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

May 30, 2017 – Shelved
May 30, 2017 – Shelved as: to-read
July 11, 2017 – Started Reading
July 11, 2017 –
page 16
1.59% "Oh wow. This is gonna be good. This is my first book from Brandon Sanderson."
July 15, 2017 –
page 39
3.87%
July 19, 2017 –
page 48
4.77%
July 19, 2017 –
page 60
5.96% "I did not know what to expect from Sanderson as this is my first read of a book authored by him. So far the story is extremely vivid and very solid. I look forward to reading more. This will be a long, long series if I read correctly that this is 1 in a proposed 10 books in the series."
July 20, 2017 –
page 70
6.95%
July 22, 2017 –
page 96
9.53%
July 22, 2017 –
page 107
10.63%
July 24, 2017 –
page 118
11.72%
July 24, 2017 –
page 145
14.4%
July 25, 2017 –
page 167
16.58%
July 25, 2017 –
page 178
17.68%
July 29, 2017 –
page 190
18.87%
July 29, 2017 –
page 204
20.26%
July 29, 2017 –
page 204
20.26%
July 31, 2017 –
page 236
23.44%
August 3, 2017 –
page 275
27.31% "look. When I have nine minutes to go for me to leave for work and I want to read this book that means it's going to get four stars. Now I kind of want to hardback for collectors purposes"
August 4, 2017 –
page 287
28.5%
August 4, 2017 –
page 309
30.69%
August 7, 2017 –
page 323
32.08%
August 8, 2017 –
page 324
32.17% "https://tgwnetohh.blogspot.com/2017/0..."
August 8, 2017 –
page 351
34.86%
August 8, 2017 –
page 368
36.54% "I'm starting to think that he got the wrong guy. But what do I know. Now the plot thickens..."
August 11, 2017 –
page 390
38.73%
August 11, 2017 –
page 431
42.8% "The tilt-a-whirl begins to spin..... oh my."
August 12, 2017 –
page 434
43.1%
August 16, 2017 –
page 485
48.16%
August 16, 2017 –
page 519
51.54%
August 16, 2017 –
page 534
53.03%
August 18, 2017 –
page 558
55.41%
August 18, 2017 –
page 601
59.68%
August 19, 2017 –
page 606
60.18%
August 19, 2017 –
page 621
61.67%
August 19, 2017 –
page 650
64.55%
August 20, 2017 –
page 661
65.64%
August 21, 2017 –
page 667
66.24%
August 30, 2017 –
page 680
67.53%
August 30, 2017 –
page 707
70.21% "Think of this book like a tempest. It slowly starts to build and half way through the book it begins spinning violently. I can identify with the characters and actually look forward to finding out what happened. It's also very interesting that when select people die- they utter completely random lines as if someone said them in the past OR they were written in a text. This is getting good."
September 1, 2017 –
page 777
77.16% "The tempest is fast approaching its apex."
September 7, 2017 –
page 811
80.54%
September 15, 2017 –
page 819
81.33%
September 16, 2017 –
page 878
87.19%
September 18, 2017 –
page 893
88.68%
September 19, 2017 –
page 962
95.53% "Bloody BRILLIANT."
September 20, 2017 – Shelved as: 2017
September 20, 2017 – Shelved as: epic-fantasy
September 20, 2017 – Shelved as: fiction
September 20, 2017 – Shelved as: favorites
September 20, 2017 – Finished Reading
October 19, 2017 – Shelved as: actual-shelf

No comments have been added yet.