Elise (TheBookishActress)'s Reviews > The Thief

The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
52545435
This felt like such a classic fantasy novel. You know those 2005-era books about journeys that you liked for some inexplicable reason? Yeah. That kind. Except with really good worldbuilding and a lot of potential built up.

This novel follows Gen, a thief hired by a magus of Sunis to find a stone that gives the holder the right for rulership of Eddis.
➽Sunis - the king’s county, attempting to take over Eddis
➽Eddis - the country across, a country they must overtake
➽Attolia - a country lying in between, over which they must journey
➽Mead - a threatening country across the sea.
There’s clearly a lot of interesting potential set up in the worldbuilding realm, and I have a feeling things will get intense and political by the end.

While the characters aren’t my favorite ever, a few have serious potential. Sophos is a really sweet character I wanted the best for. (Am I the only one who spent around eight pages thinking him and Gen would be a thing?) The magus is a character I started out hating and ended up sort of liking. Gen, our lead character, has a sarcastic sense of humor and a somewhat duplicitous narrative that made him easy to love.

Something that stood out to me here was the subtle discussion around classism, the mage’s belief that Gen is lesser because he is an immigrant. Some of the things he said about Gen’s culture – the comments about how he knows Gen’s culture better than Gen’s mother did.

My biggest thesis statement about this book - my most overreaching opinion, if you will - is that this book is an extended prequel to what promises to be an intriguing series. And not to offend anyone, but honestly: isn’t that every first book in every good series I’ve read in my life? I’ve heard a lot that the sequels to this get better, and I totally believe it — the worldbuilding here is so complex, so intricate, that a mediocre first book is almost needed to build it up. You can’t go straight to the climax - you have to go for the basic premise first.

Hey, I’ve always said that middle book syndrome is a myth and the middle book is usually better than book one in good series. And I stand by that. So everyone agreeing with me for once is actually totally nice.

Overall, while I didn’t think this was the most stunning book ever, I’m super excited to continue on.

here are my other series thoughts:
book one - ★★★☆☆
book two - ★★★★☆
book three - ★★★★☆
book four - ★★★★☆
book five - ★★★★☆
book six - TBD

Blog | Goodreads | Twitter | Youtube
83 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Thief.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

May 9, 2017 – Shelved
May 9, 2017 – Shelved as: tbr-series
July 5, 2017 – Shelved as: tbr-immediate-series
July 6, 2017 – Shelved as: tbr-ya-series
July 6, 2017 – Shelved as: tbr-c-series
July 6, 2017 – Shelved as: tbr-c-ya-series
July 19, 2017 – Shelved as: tbr-c-series
July 19, 2017 – Shelved as: tbr-c-first-series
July 19, 2017 – Shelved as: tbr-c-next-series
July 19, 2017 – Shelved as: tbr-c-2018-series
July 31, 2017 – Shelved as: tbr-d-2018-series
September 6, 2017 – Shelved as: tbr-d-series
September 6, 2017 – Shelved as: tbr-d-2018-series
September 26, 2017 – Shelved as: tbr-d-library-series
October 1, 2017 – Shelved as: tbr-e-library-series
November 15, 2017 – Shelved as: tbr-library
February 1, 2018 – Shelved as: to-read
February 4, 2018 – Started Reading
February 7, 2018 –
32.0% "enjoying this so far but definitely a fairly tame first installment."
February 8, 2018 –
50.0% "still sort of mediocre to good, but the action is maybe going to pick up? finally?"
February 10, 2018 – Shelved as: books-released-2000-2015
February 10, 2018 – Shelved as: 3-star
February 10, 2018 – Shelved as: books-read-2018
February 10, 2018 – Shelved as: genre-series-books
February 10, 2018 – Shelved as: genre-high-fantasy
February 10, 2018 – Shelved as: favorite-characters
February 10, 2018 – Shelved as: marked-as-coverporn
February 10, 2018 – Finished Reading
February 26, 2018 – Shelved as: marked-as-unowned

Comments Showing 1-24 of 24 (24 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Alienor ✘ French Frowner ✘ MY BABY GEN ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️


Elise (TheBookishActress) Alienor ✘ French Frowner ✘ wrote: "MY BABY GEN ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️"

i can't WAIT


Alienor ✘ French Frowner ✘ I just need to reread his books so bad ❤️ especially books 2 and THREE OMG THREE IT'S AMAZING


Elise (TheBookishActress) I hope I love it aaaaah


Alienor ✘ French Frowner ✘ I'm always so scared because many readers didn't like the first so much and that's true, it's not as amazing but... I mean Gen. Gah. Sorry for the pressure XD


Alienor ✘ French Frowner ✘ This one has a distinct voice - it's the only one written in 1st pov, for one, and has a younger feel to it.


Alienor ✘ French Frowner ✘ Okay I need to stop talking lol. SORRY HIDES


Elise (TheBookishActress) NO I LOVE IT. I’ve heard that it gets a lot better so I’m planning on just going through this one and reading book two no matter what. at least it’s short!


Alienor ✘ French Frowner ✘ YES DO THAT PLEASE YES

With the hindsight of the next books, this one holds a special place in my heart but the others are definitely better.


message 10: by Yusra (new) - added it

Yusra  ✨ I’m like around the same part and thinking the same thing lololol


Vicky Who Reads *it is such a classic fantasy novel XD it was originally published in 1996


Aspen (Skeleton Leaf Reviews) I love this series as a whole, but strangely enough, I never actually loved a single one of the books. They are pretty much stand alone novels that take place in the same world but if you read them like that, they are not enjoyable. Reading them as a series though, they are perfection and no one will convince me other wise.


Tadiana ✩Night Owl☽ Books 2 and 3 are THE BEST!


Elise (TheBookishActress) @Vicky I’m aware, don’t worry 😉

@Aspen I can’t wait to get to the rest!

@Tadiana I’ve heard such great things!!


message 15: by Hiba (new) - rated it 3 stars

Hiba I hwd the same feelings for this book. I really need to read the next book now I've been delaying it for so long.


message 16: by Alienor ✘ French Frowner ✘ (last edited Feb 10, 2018 08:27PM) (new) - added it

Alienor ✘ French Frowner ✘ Yay! Totally agree. Also YOU ARE NOT THE ONLY ONE. I TOTALLY THOUGHT THEY WOULD BE A THING. XD

I'm glad you ended liking it and I cannot wait for you to read the next two books <3! My absolute fave is book 3 (which is one of the best books I've ever read honestly)


Elise (TheBookishActress) @hiba I keep hearing how great they are!! I can’t wait to finally read them.

@alienor I can’t wait for the next two books!! they should be excellent. also GEN X SOPHOS IS REAL.


Audrey Isn't Sophos around 10 and Gen over 20? That's kind of disturbing.


Elise (TheBookishActress) @Audrey maybe I’m wrong but I sort of thought they were both around sixteen? I definitely didn’t picture Gen as that old or Sophos as that young 🧐


message 20: by idiffer (new) - added it

idiffer the seconf one is supposed to be better, i skipped the first one.


Alienor ✘ French Frowner ✘ Elise wrote: "@Audrey maybe I’m wrong but I sort of thought they were both around sixteen? I definitely didn’t picture Gen as that old or Sophos as that young 🧐"

They're both 15/16 in the first book.


Elise (TheBookishActress) that’s what I thought. thank you Alienor 💚


message 23: by mith (new) - rated it 3 stars

mith I'm reading this now and highkey wanted Gen and Sophos to be a Thing.


Elise (TheBookishActress) BIG MOOD @MITH what kind of wasted potential


back to top