Gregory Close's Reviews > The Wise Man's Fear

The Wise Man's Fear by Patrick Rothfuss
Rate this book
Clear rating

's review
Aug 13, 2011

liked it
Read from August 13 to October 24, 2011

If you are a fan of Rothfuss and this series, you will read this and you will probably enjoy most of it (as I did). However, even as a big fan I was left dumbfounded by some of the content (the faerie escapades, most notably) as well as the meandering nature of the narrative and recurring all-too-convenient plot devices. It had moments of pure brilliance, but it did not achieve that level consistently. I'm still a fan, and I'm still buying the next book in this series. All in all, weighed against the strength of it's predecessor and my high expectations, this one just fell a little bit flat.

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Wise Man's Fear.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

August 13, 2011 – Started Reading
August 13, 2011 – Shelved
September 20, 2011 –
page 83
October 10, 2011 –
page 283
28.47% "First 100 pages I was skeptical if it was going to live up to original. Skepticism evaporating as I'm sucked back into the world/plot/characters."
October 11, 2011 –
page 412
41.45% "Yup. Hook, line and sinker. I'm either relieved or annoyed that I can't stop reading and get some sleep. ;)"
October 13, 2011 –
page 562
56.54% "There was a conversation between Kvothe and Denna that seemed a bit contrived - like the plot drove the interaction more than the characters, and the charm of the meandering adventures of the protagonist is getting a bit strained. I still enjoy it, to be sure, but the balance between tiring and intriguing can be a tricky business."
October 17, 2011 –
page 650
65.39% "Ummmmm... Yeah. The Felurian bit. Unfortunately, this is a true Ewok Moment and tarnishes all the good stuff that came before. Ruin? No. But tarnished, certainly so."
October 19, 2011 –
page 716
72.03% "Hmmmmm. I definitely think the Felurian bit was a detriment to the narrative. Some good stuff is in there, but it's muddled in with some questionable and almost sophomoric passages. Glad to be moving on."
October 23, 2011 –
page 888
89.34% "The narrative is all over the place. It really feels unfocussed. If he wasn't such a good writer in general, he might have lost me."
October 24, 2011 – Finished Reading

No comments have been added yet.