Aerykah's Reviews > Pride and Prejudice

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5920961
's review
Aug 11, 2011

it was amazing
bookshelves: favorites, books-i-own, e-book, re-reads, 2016, reviewed, singles-challenge-2016, library-challenge-2016, audiobook
Read 6 times. Last read March 16, 2018 to March 23, 2018.

March 2016 UPDATE: Read count up to 5 now. ;)

This time around, I listened to the audiobook (Blackstone Audio - Narrated by: Carolyn Seymour) and thoroughly loved it!! :D I couldn't have asked for a better narrator! So if you're looking for a great audio version of this book, look no further.

I listened to this at work and finished it in just a couple days. I honestly think I need to buy this because I could totally use it as a "P&P fix" whenever I can't find the time to watch the mini-series or sit down with the book. It's just really fantastic, y'all!

___________________

Absolutely LOVE this book! One of my favorite movies is Pride And Prejudice - the A&E version with Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle. It's the one most similar to the book. My copy of this book has multiple places underlined marking my favorite quotes; and I have many favorite quotes from this book. I've only read it twice but I'll probably read it again.
27 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Pride and Prejudice.
Sign In »

Quotes Aerykah Liked

Jane Austen
“There are few people whom I really love, and still fewer of whom I think well. The more I see of the world, the more am I dissatisfied with it; and every day confirms my belief of the inconsistency of all human characters, and of the little dependence that can be placed on the appearance of merit or sense.”
Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

Jane Austen
“A lady's imagination is very rapid; it jumps from admiration to love, from love to matrimony in a moment.”
Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

Jane Austen
“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.”
Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

Jane Austen
“What are men to rocks and mountains?”
Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

Jane Austen
“I declare after all there is no enjoyment like reading! How much sooner one tires of any thing than of a book! -- When I have a house of my own, I shall be miserable if I have not an excellent library.”
Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

Jane Austen
“Angry people are not always wise.”
Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

Jane Austen
“Vanity and pride are different things, though the words are often used synonymously. A person may be proud without being vain. Pride relates more to our opinion of ourselves, vanity to what we would have others think of us.”
Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

Jane Austen
“I cannot fix on the hour, or the spot, or the look or the words, which laid the foundation. It is too long ago. I was in the middle before I knew that I had begun.”
Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

Jane Austen
“I must learn to be content with being happier than I deserve.”
Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

Jane Austen
“I am the happiest creature in the world. Perhaps other people have said so before, but not one with such justice. I am happier even than Jane; she only smiles, I laugh.”
Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

Jane Austen
“Till this moment I never knew myself.”
Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

Jane Austen
“An unhappy alternative is before you, Elizabeth. From this day you must be a stranger to one of your parents. Your mother will never see you again if you do not marry Mr. Collins, and I will never see you again if you do.”
Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

Jane Austen
“Oh, Lizzy! do anything rather than marry without affection.”
Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

Jane Austen
“I am all astonishment.”
Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice


Reading Progress

Finished Reading
Finished Reading
Finished Reading
Finished Reading
August 11, 2011 – Shelved
December 16, 2011 – Shelved as: favorites
March 29, 2012 – Started Reading
May 18, 2012 – Shelved as: books-i-own
May 18, 2012 – Shelved as: e-book
May 18, 2012 – Shelved as: re-reads
August 29, 2012 –
page 1
0.36% "It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.\n \n I've read this book a few times already, but it's such a great book! I never get tired of it. ;)"
September 8, 2012 –
page 1
0.36% "I love reading about what was going on in the world when my ancestors were young... :)"
September 13, 2012 –
page 8
2.87% "Mr. Bingley was good looking and gentlemanlike; he had a pleasant countenance, and easy, unaffected manners.... but his friend Mr. Darcy soon drew the attention of the room by his fine, tall person, handsome features, noble mien.... The gentlemen pronounced him to be a fine figure of a man, the ladies declared he was much handsomer than Mr. Bingley, and he was looked at with great admiration...."
September 13, 2012 –
page 16
5.73% ""I would not be so fastidious as you are for a kingdom!" ~ Bingley\n \n "She is tolerable; but not handsome enough to tempt me" ~ Darcy\n \n "He (Bingley) is also handsome, which a young man ought likewise to be if he possible can." ~ Elizabeth\n \n "he (Darcy) is such a disagreeable man that it would be quite a misfortune to be liked by him." ~ Mrs. Bennet"
September 21, 2012 –
page 29
10.39% ""My mind was more agreeably engaged. I have been meditating on the very great pleasure which a pair of fine eyes in the face of a pretty woman can bestow." ~ Mr. Darcy\n \n Love the look on Caroline's face in P&P 1995 when Mr. Darcy says this. The smile just slips from her eyes even though it's still plastered to her mouth. ;)\n \n "If my children are silly I must hope to always be sensible of it." ~ Mr. Bennet"
October 1, 2012 –
page 31
11.11% ""I am afraid, Mr. Darcy, that this adventure has rather affected your admiration of her fine eyes."\n - Caroline Bingley\n "Not at all, they were brightened by the exercise."\n - Mr. Darcy"
October 1, 2012 –
page 33
11.83% ""Do you prefer reading to cards? That is rather singular."\n - Mr. Hurst\n "Miss Eliza Bennet despises cards. She is a great reader and has no pleasure in anything else."\n - Caroline Bingley\n "I deserve neither such praise nor such censure; I am not a great reader, and I have pleasure in many things."\n - Elizabeth Bennet"
October 1, 2012 –
page 35
12.54% ""...and to all this she must yet add something more substantial, in the improvement of her mind by extensive reading." - Mr. Darcy\n \n I'm really working hard on this one... ;)"
March 30, 2016 – Finished Reading
March 31, 2016 – Shelved as: 2016
March 31, 2016 – Shelved as: reviewed
March 31, 2016 – Shelved as: singles-challenge-2016
March 31, 2016 –
88.0% "*\n Been listening to the audio version of this book the past couple days at work and really, really enjoying it!! :D\n This narrator is superb-- couldn't ask for a better one!!\n \n Definitely finishing this tonight. :)"
April 2, 2016 – Shelved as: library-challenge-2016
April 7, 2016 – Shelved as: audiobook
March 16, 2018 – Started Reading
March 16, 2018 –
21.0% "I'm in a bit of a reading slump right now so I decided to spend some time with an old friend... I will never tire of these characters. ;)"
March 20, 2018 –
48.0%
March 20, 2018 –
56.0%
March 22, 2018 –
59.0%
March 22, 2018 –
87.0% "Unless something derails my plans, I'll be finishing this tomorrow morning and moving on to "If I Live" by Terri Blackstock. Talk about a genre change! ;P"
March 23, 2018 – Finished Reading

Comments (showing 1-28 of 28) (28 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by sarah (new) - added it

sarah You're reading this AGAIN?! lol


Aerykah sarah wrote: "You're reading this AGAIN?! lol"

LOL! Um, yeah... ;)


message 3: by sarah (new) - added it

sarah Funny, because I was watching it when I saw this. :)


message 4: by Aerykah (last edited Sep 14, 2012 09:59AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Aerykah You have excellent taste in movies! ;)

I just go read some whenever the mood strikes me... :)


Carolyn i just saw the one with keira knightley last night..,it was good


Aerykah Caro wrote: "i just saw the one with keira knightley last night..,it was good"

You really liked it?
Have you seen the mini series?


Carolyn no i havent actually


Carolyn now i have..


Aerykah Caro wrote: "now i have.."

YAY!! ;D
And you LOVED it... right?! ;)


message 10: by Evelynn (new) - added it

Evelynn I ADORE the version with Colin Firth as Mr. Darcy! My mom and I have watched it over and over and over (you get the picture) again, and we never get tired of it, especially now that we have the digitally remastered DVD set. ^_^ The one with Keira Knightley is good too, but it's more Americanized, so really Colin Firth always wins out. :)


Aerykah LOL! I couldn't count how many times I've watched the P&P mini series... It's just so great!! ;D


Carolyn OF COURSE I LOVED IT!!!!!


Aerykah Caro wrote: "OF COURSE I LOVED IT!!!!!"

LOL!! ;D Well, I knew you would!!


Carolyn haha ikr!! i watched it awhile ago over the holidays :) SO addicting


Aerykah Sarah wrote: "Ewww... you like the one with Colin Firth! :P"

No, I don't "like" it... I LOVE IT!!! :D It's the BEST EVER!!! :D


Aerykah The mini-series?? If so, your dad is amazing!! I think my dad likes it as much as I do! ;)


Aerykah I've seen several episodes of Downton Abbey, but it's been a while. And dad never watched it with me. I think he just really enjoys Jane Austen's sense of humor & that's why he likes P&P so much. ;)


Maria My absolute favourite novel! :)


Aerykah Oh, mine too!! ;D
Have you listened to an audio version?


Maria No, I haven't. I've only listened to some chapters on YouTube. But I promised myself that I will listen to the whole book! :) In the meantime, I reread it every year! :P


Claudine DiMuzio / Just Jane 1813 Here's an article you'll love and it also describes why people reread Austen so frequently...

http://fivebooks.com/interview/patric...


Aerykah Maria wrote: "No, I haven't. I've only listened to some chapters on YouTube. But I promised myself that I will listen to the whole book! :) In the meantime, I reread it every year! :P"

Oh, really? I didn't realize there was an audio version on YouTube... I loved this narrator so much that I bought a copy for myself. ;)


Aerykah Claudine wrote: "Here's an article you'll love and it also describes why people reread Austen so frequently... "

Thanks for sharing that, Claudine! :)


Claudine DiMuzio / Just Jane 1813 You're welcome! Enjoy!


message 25: by Maria (last edited Apr 04, 2016 06:56AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Maria Aerykah wrote: "Maria wrote: "No, I haven't. I've only listened to some chapters on YouTube. But I promised myself that I will listen to the whole book! :) In the meantime, I reread it every year! :P"

Oh, really?..."


It's a Librivox recording. Here's the link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eVHu5...
I've seen that there are also other books that might be interesting to listen to.

Thanks, Claudine!


Claudine DiMuzio / Just Jane 1813 Thanks!


Aerykah Thanks, Maria! I'll definitely check that out. :)


Maria You're welcome! :)


back to top