Chandra Claypool (wherethereadergrows)'s Reviews > The Fact of a Body: A Murder and a Memoir

The Fact of a Body by Alexandria Marzano-Lesnevich
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
9722719
's review

it was amazing

Do you ever just turn the last page of a book, sit back, and go WOW? That's exactly what happened for me with this piece of art. This book tells two different stories - a tale of convicted murderer and pedophile, Ricky Langley, and the author's own story; how through her research into Ricky, faces her own past - changing her initial view into his case.

I have never read a book like this one. Bouncing back and forth between the tales, the author's research and clear ability to weave a story seeps through the pages and into ever fiber of your being. You can see her bare her own soul unabashedly while somehow making you empathize for Ricky. She also has the ability in her reconstruction to show how everyone else affected by this case uses their own experiences to try and understand. Personal experiences give people reason to find compassion in some cases. She truly shows the complexities of holding on to secrets, raw emotion, and the scars that become part of human growth, both physically and mentally. Her blending of her own memoir with this true crime story is unprecedented and something that will be with me for a long time coming.

Fans of Serial and Making a Murderer will be fascinated by this novel. If you pick up this book, and you should, take the time to read the foreword, the Sources Consulted section and the Author's acknowledgment.

Thank you, Flatiron Books, for this beautiful book.
6 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Fact of a Body.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

April 11, 2017 – Shelved
April 11, 2017 – Shelved as: to-read
May 15, 2017 – Started Reading
May 15, 2017 – Finished Reading

No comments have been added yet.