Mary ~Ravager of Tomes~'s Reviews > The Infernal Battalion

The Infernal Battalion by Django Wexler
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
1452829
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: 5-star, arc, year-2017, audiobook, lgbt

Geez. What do I even say?

This is literally one of the best fantasy series I have ever read.

It just hit all the right notes for me.

An expansive world set in the age of gun smoke, and upon a foundation of nuanced & well-researched military strategy.

A smartly written story line teeming with interesting magic & a satisfying grand design.

An amazing cast of characters, each with their own unique personalities, each rising to the occasion as necessary, and each capturing me with their individual depth & charm.

In particular, I have to especially mention main character Winter Ihernglass. She is strong. She is competent. She is in touch with her emotions. She brave & complex & powerful in her evolution as a character. She is the female protagonist we all want in our fantasy stories.

This wrap up came with all the drama & tears & resolution I hoped it would.

I'm here to tell you, my heart was in my throat for nearly all 500+ pages. And it was worth it.

I'm so thankful to have found this series, as it's not often that I feel so immediately ready to experience the story I just finished again. A consistently wonderful journey that I foresee rereading many, many times in the future.

The Infernal Battalion is a beautifully fitting conclusion to The Shadow Campaigns. It only leaves me waiting not-so-patiently for the next masterpiece Django Wexler will publish!

description

***Check out my interview with the author here!!***

This review and other reviews of mine can be found on Book Nest!
101 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Infernal Battalion.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

April 10, 2017 – Shelved
April 10, 2017 – Shelved as: to-read
October 10, 2017 – Started Reading
October 11, 2017 –
page 100
20.83% "*strangled noises*"
October 18, 2017 –
page 275
57.29% "I am not calm. I AM NOT CALM."
October 19, 2017 –
page 368
76.67% "Oh. OH. I AM NOT CRYING THERE'S JUST SOME EMOTION IN MY EYE. "
October 21, 2017 – Shelved as: 5-star
October 21, 2017 – Shelved as: arc
October 21, 2017 – Shelved as: year-2017
October 21, 2017 – Shelved as: audiobook
October 21, 2017 – Finished Reading
June 15, 2019 – Shelved as: lgbt

Comments Showing 1-27 of 27 (27 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Jack +Books & Bourbon+ I'm very torn. I've been reading this series almost from day one, so I'm incredibly sad to know that it is ending. On the flipside, I don't want it to overstay its welcome and be diminished through overexposure. First world problems...


Mary ~Ravager of Tomes~ lol jack I couldn't agree more!! I adore this series & I can't wait to find out how it ends even if it is bittersweet!! 😔💔


Jack +Books & Bourbon+ Much sadness will ensue...


Travis I am so sad to see this story end but like they say, "All good things must come to an end"


Mary ~Ravager of Tomes~ Exactly Travis!! 😭😔


Travis Same Mary, Same!!!!!!!!!


Mary ~Ravager of Tomes~ -screams with Travis for eternity-


Travis "internally screaming"


Megan *whispers* DOOOOOOO ITTTTT

(also, guess what, book 4 is finally in transit to me at the library, hallelujah)


Mary ~Ravager of Tomes~ YAY MEGAN HOLY SHIT I HOPE YOU ENJOY


Megan *UNHOLY SCREAMING* HOW DID YOU GET THIS ALREADY ASHNEMSKWKWJDBWBWJWJDNEJWKSLSOSS


Haïfa You deserve it, gorgeous!!! <333


Mary ~Ravager of Tomes~ MEGANNN *SCREAMS TOO* THE BOOK GODS ARE SMILED IN MY DIRECTION TONIGHT 💃🏽💃🏽💃🏽💃🏽💃🏽


Mary ~Ravager of Tomes~ Haifaaaa thank you my lovely friend 💕☺️🤗


Megan OKAY BUT IM SO HAPPY FOR YOU BUT ALSO SO INCREDIBLY JEALOUS UGHHHHH


Mary ~Ravager of Tomes~ THANK YOU MEGAN IM
PRETTY MUCH DEAD WITH DISBELIEF ATM lol I'm so fucked up I said "are smiled" 😂


Jody I am starting this series VERY soon. Good luck on your peace and quite Mary! :)


Mary ~Ravager of Tomes~ SUCH A GOOD DECISION JODY I love this series & I hope you do too! Thank you, haha! 🤗


Travis AMBULANCE IS ON STANDBY!!!


Mary ~Ravager of Tomes~ TRAVIS MY HERO 🙌🏽


Megan 😭😭😭😭


Megan A+ review though, Mary 😄


Mary ~Ravager of Tomes~ Megan wrote: "A+ review though, Mary 😄"

THANK YOU BABE CAN'T WAIT FOR YOU TO READ IT. <3


message 24: by Celeste (new)

Celeste Wonderful review, my darling!! I'm so happy that this series made you so happy!! 💞💞


message 25: by TS (new)

TS Chan Fantastic review, love!! It's such a wonderful feeling to have found a favourite series. 😙


Mary ~Ravager of Tomes~ Thank you so much Celestial! This is one for the history books! (At least the history of Mary hehe) 😂💕


Mary ~Ravager of Tomes~ TS thank you it truly is I love this series with all my heart! I hope you Celeste and Haifa will as well! ☺️😘


back to top