Dija's Reviews > Bloodrose

Bloodrose by Andrea Cremer
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
2857113
Thoughts before reading:

What I want demand to see in this book:

1. More Ren. We got a book dedicated to Shay, now I want one solely for Ren!!
2. No Shay. He's not even worthy of the screen-time he got in Wolfsbane, and it would be terribly inconsiderate of Cremer if she makes us tolerate him for one more entire book.
3. Calla growing up for once and making decisions for herself that don't immediately put everyone close to her in mortal danger.
4. Emile dying an extremely painful and drawn-out death, preferably by Ren's hand.
5. An awesome epilogue featuring Calla and Ren as a married couple with a few tiny cubs. ♥♥

Thoughts after reading:

I have yet to come across a more wimpy, spineless ending. This is one of the few times I've judged a book based not on the characters, but on the plot. And because it is virtually impossible to discuss Bloodrose without spoiling it, I'll try my best to convey my feelings through GIFs alone.

I first read the ending, and it took a while for it to sink in.



After re-reading the passage a few times, it finally hit.




And then...






Really, Cremer.


I set out to write a long review (view spoiler), but I now realize that I simply can't be bothered.



So, well done, Cremer. I hope you're having fun in Shayland.

For more reviews, visit my blog.
296 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Bloodrose.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

August 7, 2011 – Shelved
August 7, 2011 – Shelved as: jan-2012
January 7, 2012 – Started Reading
January 7, 2012 –
page 53
13.05% "I was sure I would hate this eventually, but it's already becoming unbearable. Somebody please kill Shay and/or Calla."
January 9, 2012 –
page 125
30.79% "BATHROOM SCENE!!! "
January 9, 2012 – Shelved as: wtf-abkjkad
January 9, 2012 – Finished Reading
January 12, 2012 – Shelved as: great-disappointment
January 12, 2012 – Shelved as: waste-of-anticipation-energy
February 9, 2012 – Shelved as: why-do-i-even-bother
February 26, 2012 – Shelved as: ya
February 26, 2012 – Shelved as: uf-or-pnr
March 1, 2012 – Shelved as: could-have-been-sooo-much-better
March 7, 2012 – Shelved as: read-in-2012
March 13, 2012 – Shelved as: my-reviews

Comments Showing 1-50 of 162 (162 new)


message 1: by MISS VAIN (last edited Sep 17, 2011 11:58PM) (new) - rated it 1 star

MISS VAIN I couldn't have mapped out my expectations for this book any better than you just did. I totally agree with you!!!:) Now if only Andrea Cremer can take our "requirements" into consideration for the upcoming release of Bloodrose .....;)


message 2: by Dija (new) - rated it 1 star

Dija Thanks, Miss V! We do tend to have almost similar views on this series, so I'm not surprised you feel the same way. :D And yes, Cremer should take our feelings into consideration! This series still has lots of potential for being epic, I hope AC doesn't ruin it all by forcing us to bear her love for Shay.


MISS VAIN Yes, we sure do share the same passionate views of this series as well as our commonality of our love for the Alpha-Licious Ren. Ughhhh just the thought of Calla ending up with Shay leaves an ill taste in my mouth....However, I'm still holding out for a Calla/Ren HEA!!!


message 4: by Dija (new) - rated it 1 star

Dija Ugh, Calla and Shay are horrible together! I would probably sleep through the whole book if there's too much of them together in it.


TheLoupGaroux Yup. I don't mind if Calla is single at the end, BUT I don't want Ren to find another girl. That would be so Romeo of hum yuck. I'd like to see Calla and Ren maybe not being a couple but getting together at the end and discussing their future and the pack and such, and then in my mind they will get together when they've both grown up a bit lol. Shay can't be the alpha for the new pack, he's a 'Scion' and that has to come first, no pack business. So . . . that wouldn't really work. Plus he is gross and had sex with Calla the same day she was sexually assaulted which is so romantic right? ugh


message 6: by Dija (new) - rated it 1 star

Dija @Andrea: LOL, for a second I thought you were the author, and it scared me shitless because I don't want her to be offended at how much I despise her love for Shay. XD

Anyway, I agree Calla should be single (she's too immature for a serious relationship XD), but I would sort of like a scene where Ren pays attention to another girl. It would be nice having Calla all jealous, and maybe it'll make her realize how much she loves Ren.

And I'd missed the little detail about Shay and Calla having sex on the same day as when she was assaulted, but you're so right, that's disturbing! Not to mention the whole dialogue and action that led up to that point.

I still have hopes for this book, though. Really, more Ren is seriously my only demand.


MISS VAIN Me too Dija, when I read Andrea I was thinking the same exact thing! LOL

Will one of you please refresh my memory when was (view spoiler) Although since I despise Shay, that seems like pretty typical behavior of his; have sex on the same day she's (view spoiler) Ughhhh what a charmer....

I only want Calla to end up with Ren *sigh* however if Ren ends up in the arms of a more worthy girl...I'll be happy for him!!!! That's where my opinion slightly differs from yours. :))


Mariya LOL


MISS VAIN Mariya wrote: "LOL"

I know why your LOLOLing! ;)


Mariya LOL LOL LOL LOL


MISS VAIN Oh this anticipation is killing me!


message 12: by Dija (last edited Nov 30, 2011 09:39PM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Dija Actually, I can't remember it in detail either. I just have a vague recollection of something like that happening to Calla, but I can't remember exactly how it happened. Like you, I figured it's typical Shay behavior and decided to trust Andrea for remembering that scene. Do you remember how it happened, Mariya?

And that's very generous of you, but I would hate to see Ren with someone else. I'm just too possessive. I have a "If I can't end up with him, the heroine is the only other girl I'll tolerate for the guy." mentality. XD


Mariya How what happened? The assault mentioned above? I don't even remember. Read too many books since then! Haha!


message 14: by Dija (new) - rated it 1 star

Dija Yeah, same thing happens to me. I can never remember details. Hmmm...


MISS VAIN Haha. Usually I'm the same way Dija, but sometimes though, it is very rare that I get angry with the protagonist and I decide she doesn't deserve to have my fictional bf! ;) That's how I felt after reading the last Sirantha Jax book, I wanted March with someone other than her.....I'm so evil.

Glad to know I'm not alone in my forgetfulness; Mariya and Dija. ;)


message 16: by Dija (new) - rated it 1 star

Dija I've heard stuff like that a lot about the most recent SJ book, and since I already hate Sirantha, that really doesn't motivate me about reading the rest of the books. XD


MISS VAIN Oh I totally forgot you do hate her, yes Dija I liked her up until the last book and now I just think she's selfish, so yeah she's not going to earn any points with you if you already loathed her. Lol


message 19: by Dija (new) - rated it 1 star

Dija LOL, selfish is the exact word that comes to my mind when I think of her, and if she gets worse, I really don't want to waste my time with this series, no matter how awesome March is.


MISS VAIN If we looked up the word selfish online, I wouldn't be surprised if her pictured showed up as an example of a synonym for it. LOL


TheLoupGaroux I've actually had several people assume I was Andrea Cremer when I commented on things!! LOL!

The assault: When Calla and crew go back to Eden to rescue her pack, she is sexually assaulted by Ren in his cell. He was told that literally the only way to save her life, his life, and their packmates would be to "break" his mate and force her submission through rape. Taken into context, considering the high amount of sexual abuse going on throughout Ren's world and also it's more or less tolerance, I can understand Ren's actions. When you are a wolf raised in a society where women are submissive, you can see how while this "breaking" of calla would be painful it is not entirely shocking. He admitted later that he wouldn't have gone through with it.

But Shay has no excuse. He was raised a human. In a normal world. A sheltered, male-white, elite world.And he keeps pushing sexual advances on Calla even though her whole world has been destroyed and her family slaughtered. It is incredibly disturbing to me that Shay would finally 'get his reward for being a Nice Guy TM' in the form of sex, when Calla herself is too emotionally void to do anything but give in to sexual advances. I'm not saying the 'correct' way for a victim to be behaving, but it isn't right when you care about someone to initiate that sort of thing mere hours after they were shoved against a wall, bitten, and had their knees forced apart. You would think Shay would maybe send Bryn out to her. You know, her best friend. But whatever. :(


message 22: by Nina ♥ (new) - added it

Nina ♥ "An awesome epilogue featuring Calla and Ren as a married couple with a few tiny cubs."

description


message 23: by Dija (new) - rated it 1 star

Dija LOL, Nina! That's perfect. 8D


message 24: by Dija (last edited Dec 31, 2011 06:53AM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Dija @Andrea: I remember that scene now. And I was so sad over Ren, and then mad at Calla, that I missed the significance of the fact that Shay (view spoiler) I'm getting even more furious now, even though it's been ages since I've read WB.

Have you read any of the early reviews for Bloodrose, Andrea? They're making me really anxious about this series' ending....


MISS VAIN Dija, I'm very curious to see what YOU think of Bloodrose......


MISS VAIN Nina ♥ wrote: ""An awesome epilogue featuring Calla and Ren as a married couple with a few tiny cubs."

"

I love that visual, and you're right that would be a very cute epilogue.;)


message 27: by Dija (new) - rated it 1 star

Dija I'm very anxious as well. So far, I've hugely avoided all the reviews, but I can't escape the ratings. And from your comment, seems I won't be getting my wish for an epilogue. :(


TheLoupGaroux Someone on twitter ruined the ending for me :( fml. So I know what happens, and while it is one of the scenarios I guessed at it doesn't lessen the fact that I'm super peeved at having this ruined for me. At least I know, now, though. So I'm prepared.


message 29: by Dija (new) - rated it 1 star

Dija Aw, Andrea, that absolutely sucks! I despise spoilers so much, I really don't see the point in reading a book if I already know what's going to happen. :( I'm still hoping I'll end up liking this book, though. :/


Mariya I noticed that on twitter as well. SO unconsiderate. 8(


message 31: by Dija (new) - rated it 1 star

Dija Good thing I don't use twitter then. 8D I keep coming up with the best reasons these days.


MISS VAIN I agree, blasting spoilers for everyone is very inconsiderate. Sorry to hear that.

P.s.Dija, I must not have gotten the notification above for your response, so I ignored you,,,:/


message 33: by Dija (new) - rated it 1 star

Dija Oh, it's completely fine! GR has messed up my notifications more times than I can count as well, so I understand!


MISS VAIN Word!


is mee... kissa hey!!! you're reading this too!!! what chapter are you up to?


message 36: by Dija (new) - rated it 1 star

Dija Just the 4-5th one, I think. How about you?


is mee... kissa chapter 13. what do you think of it?


message 38: by Dija (new) - rated it 1 star

Dija I'm just starting part 2 now. I think it's downright dreadful for the most part. And you?


Aly is so frigging bored Did you give up on it?


message 40: by Dija (new) - rated it 1 star

Dija No, LOL, I finished. XD


Aly is so frigging bored Dija wrote: "No, LOL, I finished. XD"

:D I thought you shredded it to tiny peaces :D SO how many stars? ;;)


message 42: by Dija (new) - rated it 1 star

Dija 2-3, for now.


Aly is so frigging bored Dija wrote: "2-3, for now."

Oooh, it's biiig :D


is mee... kissa Dija wrote: "I'm just starting part 2 now. I think it's downright dreadful for the most part. And you?"
not quite so bad as dreadful, but it is pretty meh-ish.


Aly is so frigging bored Dee I love your review!


message 46: by Dija (last edited Jan 12, 2012 06:06AM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Dija Aww, thank you. <33


Mrs.Vishous-Kattalakis-Belikov :::Para Itch Reviews::: Thats an awesome review!! You just conveyed all my feeings exactly!! Dang Shay!!


Mariya HA! I knew it! Hahaha! I knew she'd rate it like Miss Vain!


message 49: by Dija (last edited Jan 12, 2012 08:39AM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Dija @Mrs. V: Thanks! I'm glad you agree. And yay for more Shay hate, LOL.

@Mariya: I knew you'd be ecstatic, reading me right and all. :P Great job. XD


MISS VAIN I knew you would rate it a1 star read like me!!!!
Loved your review but my favorite quote was at the end, when you told Cremer to have fun in Shayland!!! ROTFL


« previous 1 3 4
back to top