Diane S ☔'s Reviews > The Last Neanderthal

The Last Neanderthal by Claire  Cameron
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4159922
's review

liked it

France, a female archeologist finds the bones of two people, the bones displayed as if they are looking at each other at the time of their deaths. A very important discovery as it turns out because one of the skeletons is a female Neanderthal and the other a male homo sapiens.

This is a cleverly constructed book, as we go back to the time of the Neanderthal and our author reimagines a time when they were living. She uses a family, a mother, a girl, a boy and another boy, and a young boy that they have sort of adopted that is quite different from them. They call him Runt. Their daily lives, constant quest for food, the danger from predators, each members role in the family, though eventually this will be the girls story as circumstances dictate that it is her we will follow. This story alternates with the modern day as Rosamunde, our archeologist struggles to get financing for her dig, an unexpected pregnancy and trying to maintain control of the dig and her personal life. Both paths of these women will have commonalities and differences but the struggle for women will intersect across time.

Changing views of our perception of the intelligence of the Neanderthal made this book believable. Genetics has proven that many descendants of these early people are still alive today, it is in their DNA. Although little is known about their lives, which the author acknowledges in her afterward, leaving her free to use her imagination. I enjoyed this look into some unknown history, and freely admit that the historical storyline was the more fascinating one. Well written, well imagined, a different type of read.

ARC from Netgalley.
Publishes April 25th from Little Brown.
77 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Last Neanderthal.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

March 28, 2017 – Started Reading
March 28, 2017 – Shelved
March 28, 2017 – Shelved as: to-read
March 28, 2017 –
page 25
8.68%
March 30, 2017 –
page 50
17.36%
March 30, 2017 –
page 50
17.36%
March 31, 2017 –
page 90
31.25%
April 2, 2017 –
page 125
43.4%
April 2, 2017 –
page 160
55.56%
April 5, 2017 –
page 220
76.39%
April 6, 2017 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-10 of 10 (10 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Werner (new)

Werner Diane, good review! If you liked this book, you might also like the series opener for Jean Auel's Earth's Children series, The Clan of the Cave Bear.

Diane wrote: "Genetics has proven that many ancestors of these early people are still alive today, it is in their DNA." I'm guessing that this was a typo, and you meant that many of their descendants are still alive?


Diane S ☔ Thanks Werner, fixed it and will look for the book you mentioned.


message 3: by Werner (new)

Werner No problem, Diane! If you read the Auel book sometime, I hope you like it.


Mary Beth *Traveling Sister* Great review Diane!


Sonja Arlow I eyed this book on Netgalley but never got approval. Definitely adding this. Clan of the Cave Bear was a great read but I would hesitate to recommend book 2 of that series. It became a bit too much like 'caveman porn' BUT book 1 is definitely worth the read


message 6: by Diane S ☔ (last edited Apr 09, 2017 03:38AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Diane S ☔ Thanks, Mary and thanks for the reading advice, Sonja. Will definitely try book one.


message 7: by Werner (new)

Werner Sonja wrote: "I would hesitate to recommend book 2 of that series. It became a bit too much like 'caveman porn' BUT book 1 is definitely worth the read.*"

Unlike the first book, the second one has a large amount of explicit sex, which cost it a star from me. But I wouldn't go so far as to call it porn. My review (https://www.goodreads.com/review/show... ) addresses that aspect, for whatever it's worth, and also links to my review of the first book, if anyone's interested.


message 8: by Esil (last edited Apr 09, 2017 07:16AM) (new)

Esil Nice review, Diane. Although it's definitely not my kind of book. I don't even like historical fiction set in the Middle Ages :)


message 9: by Jen (new)

Jen Nice one, Diane. Given your 3 stars I think I'll pass


message 10: by Deanna (new)

Deanna Nice review!!


back to top