Zero vi Britannia's Reviews > Clockwork Angel

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
M 50x66
's review
Aug 06, 2011

really liked it
bookshelves: more-maturity-please, to-read
Read from October 07 to November 04, 2011 — I own a copy , read count: 2

Having read both The Mortal Instruments and Clockwork Angel, all I have to say is this book is an almost perfect copy of City of Bones. Tessa is obviously Clary (and I hated her in TMI), Jem is a combination of Alec and Simon, and Will is pretty much Jace. That being said, I actually like this better than TMI. This time around none of the characters seem useless the way Clary did (dear God, I hate Clary) so that was a plus. However, I did have a major problem with Will. To me characters like Will (and Jace) are the most annoying type of character around: The Angsty-Guy-With-A-Tragic-Past-Who-Has-A-Deeper-Side-To-Him type of character. In almost every YA book I've read, the heroine of the story always falls in love with this character and CA is no exception. My problem with these characters is that writers seem to think that this is the only way to write a male character who has a tragic past. He has to be overly snarky, treat the heroine like crap, and try to push her away so she won't fall in love with him. After a while it gets annoying. Where are the guys like Yuki Sohma? He's unfailingly nice and polite because of and in spite of his tragic past.
Another problem I have with CA is the ending. When we get to the end, Will visits Magnus and asks for his help for something. The book ends with Magnus saying "...tell me what the problem is." The End. I hate books that end like that, with an obvious sequel hook.
Despite these problems, I actually enjoyed Clockwork Angel. Over all I give Clockwork Angel a B.
8 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Clockwork Angel.
Sign In »

Quotes Zero vi Britannia Liked

Cassandra Clare
“Are you implying that shreds of my reputation remain intact?" Will demanded with mock horror. "Clearly I have been doing something wrong. Or not something wrong, as the case may be."

He banged on the side of the carriage. "Thomas! We must away at once to the nearest brothel. I seek scandal and low companionship.”
Cassandra Clare, Clockwork Angel


Reading Progress

10/07/2011 page 0
0.0% "That's right. Another Clare book. Although this time, I actually enjoyed it the second time. I love Jem!"
10/02/2013 marked as: currently-reading
10/02/2013 page 0
0.0% "I'm in a Victorian mood right now. So while I have my other Victorian books on hold at the library, I'm stuck with this." 2 comments
10/07/2013 page 1
0.0% "...like a doused match.
And so it starts."
10/07/2013 page 2
0.0% "Will like Limohouse...gambling hells, opium dens, and brothels.
Given what we know about Will, this makes little sense."
10/07/2013 page 5
1.0% ""Ourobos," siad Jem.

Kimi no te de kirisaite Tooi hi no kioku wo
Kanashimi no iki no ne wo tometekure yo
Saa Ai ni kogareta mune wo tsuranuke
Yeah, that song is stuck in my head and now it's in yours...unless you don't know what song it is."
10/07/2013 page 8
1.0% "Did sixteen-year-old Victorian era girls normally make trans-Atlantic trips alone?" 2 comments
10/09/2013 page 8
1.0% "...like a cistern...like a frog..."
10/09/2013 page 9
1.0% "Shouldn't Tessa have a chaperone or a guard with her?"
10/09/2013 page 10
2.0% "Mrs. Black and Mrs. Dark? They sound like morally upstanding members of the community."
10/09/2013 page 15
3.0% "Mirror looking sscene? Check."
10/09/2013 page 16
3.0% "Plain Jane (Eyre) heroine with attractive older sibling? Check."
10/09/2013 page 18
3.0% "...like a swamp..." 3 comments
10/09/2013 page 19
3.0% "...like the banks of the Hudson on a hot day..."
10/09/2013 page 21
4.0% "...bitter as vinegar...
which is sour."
10/09/2013 page 23
4.0% "...shattered like glass..."
10/09/2013 page 24
5.0% "...like a cast-off skin..."
10/09/2013 page 29
6.0% "...like a blow..."
10/09/2013 page 34
7.0% "...like a train...like a sailor..."
10/09/2013 page 36
7.0% "He had the most beautiful face she had ever seen, thought our heroine of the strage young man who busted through her door after she just managed to untie herself from her bed where she was put after running away from having to marry a guy she's never met."
10/09/2013 page 36
7.0% "...eyes like blue glass...
What's up with her and glass?"
10/09/2013 page 36
7.0% "Even the curve of his neck was perfect.
Priorities."
10/09/2013 page 39
8.0% "...like cracking glass..."
10/09/2013 page 40
8.0% "Will: "The handsome fellow who's trying to rescue you from a hideous fate is never wrong." Good point."
10/16/2013 page 43
8.0% "This place is a slaughterhouse...
which was mentioned after we got descriptions of floors and walls."
10/16/2013 page 45
9.0% "Tessa: I won't let you give me to the Magister! I'd rather die!
Remember that brother you said you were doing this all for?"
10/16/2013 page 45
9.0% "Past similes:
...like limelight...like tiny fireworks..."
10/16/2013 page 46
9.0% "Mrs. Dark: [Shadowhunters] care no more about [mundanes] than we do.
Once again, the villain of the story says what we've all been thinking."
10/16/2013 page 48
10.0% "...strong as iron..."
10/16/2013 page 49
10.0% "...like a marble...like coal...like a tick...like a blazing torch...like black torches...
One page people. One page."
10/16/2013 page 49
10.0% "...like a marble...like coal...like a tick...like a blazing torch...like black torches...
One page people. One page."
10/16/2013 page 54
11.0% "[Charlotte] wasn't exactly pretty.
Because that's what's important, folks. Amirite?"
10/16/2013 page 57
11.0% "...like a key..."
10/16/2013 page 59
12.0% ""Demons are evil creatures. They travel great distances to come to this world and feed upon it. They would ravage it into ashes and destroy it's inhabitants..." said the Victorian-era woman living at the height of the British Empire. Was that harsh?"
10/16/2013 page 60
12.0% "Charlotte: A Downworlder is a being-a person-who is part supernatural in origin.
This is good characterization from Clare."
10/16/2013 page 61
12.0% "[Sophie] ought to have been pretty...but a thick silvery-ridged scar slashed from the left corner of her mouth to her temple, pulling her face sideways and distorting her features into a twisted mask....
Our heroine ladies and gents. It's not good enough that Sophie has a scar. It has to turn her face into a twisted mask." 1 comment
10/21/2013 page 61
12.0% "[Tessa] hated having to be grateful."
10/21/2013 page 62
12.0% "Charlotte: I know you are strong Miss Grey...
Another character telling the MC they're strong? Check."
10/21/2013 page 62
12.0% "Tessa: I did it for my brother. They would have murdered him.
*flashback*
"Do it! Whip me bloody! I'd rather die!"
Such sisterly concern."
10/28/2013 page 63
13.0% "Tessa: I don't want your charity.
Charity-When a group of people rescues you from a hideous fate and offers to let you stay at their place under their protection instead of putting you out on the street in an unfamiliar country while people are trying to hunt you down."
10/28/2013 page 63
13.0% "Law, Shadowhunter, Downworlder, Change, Sensor, Dumpster? What's with all the capitals?"
10/28/2013 page 65
13.0% "Sohie calls Jess ungrateful for not wearing a dress that Charlotte gave her. What's missing is whether or not Jessamine even asked for the dress. According to Clare, girls should just accept whatever someone gives them. 'Cause she's a feminist and don't you forget it."
10/30/2013 page 69
14.0% "Character so into their work that they ignore that they're on fire? Check."
10/30/2013 page 74
15.0% "...like a worm."
10/30/2013 page 82
17.0% "Tessa's alone with a boy! Scandal!"
10/30/2013 page 84
17.0% "Weapon's Room scene. Just like City of Bones."
10/30/2013 page 86
17.0% "Library scene. Just like City of Bones."
10/30/2013 page 90
18.0% "Pulvis et Umbra summus...
Random Latin."
10/30/2013 page 99
20.0% "...like a cat's..."
10/30/2013 page 101
21.0% "Tessa's alone with a boy in his room and they're both in their nightclothes! Scandal!
No seriously. This is the Victorian era. You weren't even allowed to be alone with your opposite sex cousin without a chaperone in this era. Why is this not a bigger deal to Tessa or Jem?"
04/23/2014 marked as: to-read
show 1 hidden update…

Comments (showing 1-4)




dateUp arrow    newest »

Bookworm I really liked this review. I definitely agree with you on Will. Characters like that get really annoying after a while, which is why I prefer Jem for her. I want to ask something though: In what way is Jem like Alec?


Zero vi Britannia Bookworm wrote: "I really liked this review. I definitely agree with you on Will. Characters like that get really annoying after a while, which is why I prefer Jem for her. I want to ask something though: In what w..."

It's more Will and Jem are like brothers the way Jace and Alec are. And Jem and Alec are the voice of reason to their friends.


message 2: by John (new)

John Egbert To me characters like Will (and Jace) are the most annoying type of character around: The Angsty-Guy-With-A-Tragic-Past-Who-Has-A-Deeper-Side-To-Him type of character.

Fellow Jace hater! And Clary hater! :D

...I know this review wasn't about TMI, but I'm just glad someone thinks Clary is as useless and annoying as I do.


Zero vi Britannia Mello wrote: "To me characters like Will (and Jace) are the most annoying type of character around: The Angsty-Guy-With-A-Tragic-Past-Who-Has-A-Deeper-Side-To-Him type of character.

Fellow Jace hater! And Clar..."


Then you should like my upcoming review of City of Fallen Angels. Although I might have to reread it since it's been so long since I've read it. (I really don't want to reread it)


back to top