Steven Godin's Reviews > Death of a Salesman

Death of a Salesman by Arthur  Miller
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
26706841
's review

it was ok
bookshelves: america, plays-theatre

The action below takes place in the GR cafeteria.....


GR: Do you mind, is this seat taken?
STEVEN: No, please do!
GR: How are you today?
STEVEN: Fine
GR: Could you spare a few moments?
STEVEN: Sure
GR: So, what did you think of Death of a Salesman?
STEVEN: Great!, the venue may have been small, but that just made the whole experience more intimate. I parked myself in a seat somewhere near the back and in the middle, so had a good panoramic view of the stage, the performances from all the cast were good, with Willy Loman and wife Linda being the memorable ones. The play itself, with themes of anxiety and insecurity mainly takes place in the Lomans house and yard, with capitalism and one mans struggle with work dominating the story, it could be viewed as a social criticism, a tragedy, or simply just a psychological study of disintegration, cleverly though, Miller never takes sides with anyone, leaving the viewer to reach their own conclusions regarding the actions that take place. Written in 1949 (and somehow winner of the Pulitzer) it ties in strongly with miller's own family, and their problems during the great depression.
It held my attention throughout, and received a deserved round of applause at the end. I then went for a few cocktails, all in all, a good night.
GR: Er...I was actually referring to the written play, the book?
STEVEN: Oh that, sorry. Well once you have seen the play with your own eyes, reading it was never going to be the same, by act two I was starting to get fidgety, that's not a good sign. 2.5/5
GR: Thank you for your time
STEVEN: No problem
GR: ...Oh!, just one more thing
STEVEN: Yes
GR: Could you see yourself reading any more plays?
STEVEN: Miller, probably not. Any other playwrights, probably yes.
GR: Again, thank you
STEVEN: Any time, goodbye.
90 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Death of a Salesman.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

March 20, 2017 – Started Reading
March 20, 2017 – Shelved
March 20, 2017 – Shelved as: america
March 21, 2017 –
page 50
44.64%
March 22, 2017 –
page 80
71.43%
March 23, 2017 – Finished Reading
November 28, 2017 – Shelved as: plays-theatre

Comments Showing 1-17 of 17 (17 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by John (new)

John Eastman hahaha you are the best reviewer on goodreads, seriously!


Steven Godin Johnny wrote: "hahaha you are the best reviewer on goodreads, seriously!"

I am seriously not, but thanks anyhow. Good way to add a new friend though!


message 3: by Jean-Marc (new)

Jean-Marc Bonet Boisterously funny Steven!


message 4: by John (new)

John Eastman Steven wrote: "Johnny wrote: "hahaha you are the best reviewer on goodreads, seriously!"

I am seriously not, but thanks anyhow. Good way to add a new friend though!"


Well you have to admit that they are really entertaining. ;)


message 5: by Elham (new)

Elham Interesting review, Steven!


message 6: by Fionnuala (new)

Fionnuala Excuse me, is that seat taken? No? Great - because I just wanted to say I overheard your chat there with the review guy. He was pushing you a bit though, wasn't he? And I'm absolutely with you - plays work a million times better on the stage whether you're talking Shakespeare or avant garde. Here's to you catching more live performances.


Steven Godin Fionnuala wrote: "Excuse me, is that seat taken? No? Great - because I just wanted to say I overheard your chat there with the review guy. He was pushing you a bit though, wasn't he? And I'm absolutely with you - pl..."

Yes, you are so right, how could reading a play be better than seeing one on stage.

Very pleased with the GR cafeteria, had a lovely cappuccino and a Mozzarella&tomato ciabatta.


Jonfaith Damn, didn't realize the cafeteria was cash only. I really needed a drink at intermission.


Steven Godin Jonfaith wrote: "Damn, didn't realize the cafeteria was cash only. I really needed a drink at intermission."

Ha!, next time I will meet you in the bar, heard they do a great tequila zombie!, also they now have leather sofas and a decent jukebox.


message 10: by Sylvia (new)

Sylvia Your mad!


Steven Godin Silvia wrote: "Your mad!"

You're Welcome.


message 12: by Sash (new)

Sash Chiesa Amazing review, Steven!


Steven Godin Thanks Sash, sometimes my sense of humour goes into overdrive!


message 14: by Matthias (last edited Mar 23, 2017 03:31PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Matthias Why didn't you offer GR a cup of coffee and talk a bit more? They seemed nice enough. That "goodbye" was cold man! Especially after such a sweet review.


message 15: by Glenn (new)

Glenn Russell Ah, the GR cafeteria. Fantastic, Steven!


Steven Godin Matthias wrote: "Why didn't you offer GR a cup of coffee and talk a bit more? They seemed nice enough. That "goodbye" was cold man! Especially after such a sweet review."

Yes I should have done really, but I was hoping GR would offer me!


Steven Godin Glenn wrote: "Ah, the GR cafeteria. Fantastic, Steven!"

Much appreciated Glenn!


back to top