SueBee★bring me an alpha!★'s Reviews > Move the Stars

Move the Stars by Jessica Hawkins
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
15735368






⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2! Move the Stars, book 3 of 3. Manning & Lake’s bittersweet, enchanting, forbidden & against-all-odds love saga!

“I wanted those words she’d swallowed and saved, as much as I wanted to be the only man to ever get them.”

Books in series should be read in order:
Book 1: Something in the Way
Book 2: Somebody Else’s Sky
Book 3: Move the Stars
Book 4: Lake + Manning


In book 1-2 innocent high-school student Lake Kaplan fell in love with the much older construction worker, Manning Sutter. The story followed them, through ups and downs, as Lake grew older while they both hid their feelings, fought their attraction and denied their love.

Move the Stars, book 3 picks up some time after book 2’s devastating ending. It’s a breath-taking journey through Manning and Lake’s life, covering over a decade of their against-all-love. From setbacks to triumphs in, at times, parallel universes, their love seems an inextinguishable flame caught in web of poor timing.



Nine words to describe Manning Sutter: Noble, conflicted, reflective, loyal, self-doubting, charming, insensitive, self-sacrificing and self-centered.



Nine words to describe Lake Kaplan: Reflective, sweet, smart, meek, determined, naïve, insightful, patience and loyal.

Move the Stars, told from dual POVs, is nothing short of an all-consuming, forbidden and impossible love story, with emphasis on angst. A nail-biting and emotional journey that tore my heart-out, shattered it into pieces and sort of put it back together again before ending rather abruptly. I’d welcome an epilogue taking us further into the future and settling a last few scores.

Effortless story-telling! Riveting plot! Heart-wrenching angst! An unforgettable love!

***
Hero: ★★★★
Heroine: ★★★★★
Plot: ★★★★★
Storytelling: ★★★★★
Sexual tension: ★★★★★
Sex scenes: ★★★★★
Story ending: ★★★
******************************************
OVERALL RATING: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2
Angst: | HIGH FOCUS |
Darkness: | MEDIUM FOCUS |
Humor: | LOW FOCUS |
Kink: | LOW FOCUS |
Romance: | HIGH FOCUS |
Sex frequency: | LOW FOCUS |
Suspense: | MEDIUM FOCUS |



ARC provided to me by author Jessica Hawkins in exchange for an honest review.
211 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Move the Stars.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

March 10, 2017 – Shelved
March 10, 2017 – Shelved as: to-read
May 21, 2017 – Shelved as: series-g-contemporaries
May 21, 2017 – Shelved as: kindle
May 21, 2017 – Shelved as: g-contemporaries
October 17, 2017 – Shelved as: arc
October 18, 2017 – Started Reading
October 18, 2017 –
0.0% "Diving in! If you are familiar this an angst-filled epic & forbidden love!
"
October 18, 2017 –
25.0% "And so the angst continues. [le pines after Manning!]
"
October 18, 2017 –
40.0% "Have a box of tissue hand….
"
October 19, 2017 –
80.0% "For those of you about to read. This is what I feel like! Enjoy!
"
October 19, 2017 –
100.0% "I am all out of tissue!
"
October 19, 2017 – Shelved as: series-cr-complete-sets
October 19, 2017 – Shelved as: read-contemporaries
October 19, 2017 – Shelved as: student
October 19, 2017 – Shelved as: triangle
October 19, 2017 – Shelved as: reviews-written-all
October 19, 2017 – Shelved as: review-quick
October 19, 2017 – Shelved as: heroines-fave
October 19, 2017 – Shelved as: heroes-troubled-tortured
October 19, 2017 – Shelved as: forbidden-scandalous-inappropriate
October 19, 2017 – Shelved as: epic
October 19, 2017 – Shelved as: favorites
October 19, 2017 – Finished Reading
October 20, 2017 – Shelved as: 4-and-half-stars
October 20, 2017 – Shelved as: 4-stars-rounded-up

Comments Showing 1-50 of 87 (87 new)


message 1: by Mari (new) - added it

Mari Martinez-arzate Can't wait


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Mari wrote: "Can't wait"

Thanks Mari. October cannot get here fast enough =DD


Shall Ryra It's my brother's birthday on 23 October and never in my whole f*cling life I've waited for anyone's birthday with such eagerness. It's killing me already.


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Shall wrote: "It's my brother's birthday on 23 October and never in my whole f*cling life I've waited for anyone's birthday with such eagerness. It's killing me already."

Thank you Shall! = DD I hear you I am so anxious for this. Enjoy! xoxo


message 5: by Prole (new) - added it

Prole I can't wait for it, but i'm really worry.. i mean, i think Lake will go to NY and that something really tragic will happen!! Because the book is set in 1995, and we all know what happened on the 11 Semptember 2001 >.<


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Prole wrote: "I can't wait for it, but i'm really worry.. i mean, i think Lake will go to NY and that something really tragic will happen!! Because the book is set in 1995, and we all know what happened on the 1..."

Thanks Prole. Oh lordie not sure my heart can survive a long separation............................. = I


Carla Bulian Can't wait this book!!!! :O


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Olive wrote: "Looking forward to this!"

I am too. Happy reading Olive!~ Thanks! = Dx


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Kayla wrote: "SO AM I!!!!!"

Happy reading Kayla. Hang in there! = ))


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Carlabulian wrote: "Can't wait this book!!!! :O"

I hear ya! Happy reading Carlabulian!~ xoxo


message 11: by April (new)

April GAHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Cansu Wait! I can't remember when 09.11.01 was mentioned in the series :/


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ April wrote: "GAHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

I hear ya! I am so nervous April. LOL! xoox


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Cansu wrote: "Wait! I can't remember when 09.11.01 was mentioned in the series :/"

Book 1-2 takes place before 9-11.......................


Cansu Yes I know that but I thought there was a chapter who took place on 2001 and I forget it after reading the comment of Prole. I definetely have a bad memory ahah


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Cansu wrote: "Yes I know that but I thought there was a chapter who took place on 2001 and I forget it after reading the comment of Prole. I definetely have a bad memory ahah"

Yikes Cansu, I am afraid my memory is fuzzy too. I mean the series is going to end in present day so naturally at some point ti will be 2001..... Enjoy! = DD


message 17: by Wendy (new) - added it

Wendy Enjoy !! ;) xoxo


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Wendy wrote: "Enjoy !! ;) xoxo"

Thank you Wendy! xoox


message 19: by April (new)

April I'm shaking with you, but for different reasons (gots the flu :(


message 20: by SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ (last edited Oct 18, 2017 12:20PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ April wrote: "I'm shaking with you, but for different reasons (gots the flu :("

Oh no April. So sorry! Feel better. The best medicine is curling up with a hot hero story and relaxing! xoox


message 21: by R. (new)

R. Kitt Happy reading, Sue! xo


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ R. wrote: "Happy reading, Sue! xo"

Many thanks R! xoox


Renee ❤️My heroes are ordinary So, SO jealous. Sue! This is my most anxiously awaited book of the year! Enjoy!


message 24: by SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ (last edited Oct 18, 2017 07:27PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Renee wrote: "So, SO jealous. Sue! This is my most anxiously awaited book of the year! Enjoy!"

I know Renee! Thanks so much! Enjoy! xoxo


-S♡ Starting Something In The Way tomorrow! So excited. Happy reading, Sue! xoox


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ -S♡ wrote: "Starting Something In The Way tomorrow! So excited. Happy reading, Sue! xoox"

Thank you daaahling! OMG! You are in for a treat. Enjoy! Have a box of tissue nearby, LOL! xoox


Jemima jamir aka Sentranced Jem wasn't it amazing?! I loved the series!!!!


Heather OMG! THIS is the only book I'm dying to get a hold of! I'm super jealous.


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Jemima wrote: "wasn't it amazing?! I loved the series!!!!"

Thanks Jemima! It brought out the feels. [le sob!] ; )x


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Heather wrote: "OMG! THIS is the only book I'm dying to get a hold of! I'm super jealous."

I hear you Heather. Such an anticipated book 3. Stockup on tissue dear! xoox


Megan✦❋Steamy Reads Blog❋✦ I can't wait to read the conclusion to this awesome series and I can't wait to read your review, Sue dear :) xx


Serena Can't wait for your review Sue!


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Megan✦❋Steamy Reads Blog❋✦ wrote: "I can't wait to read the conclusion to this awesome series and I can't wait to read your review, Sue dear :) xx"

Thanks Megan. I so hope yo will love! = ) xx


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Serena wrote: "Can't wait for your review Sue!"

Thank you Serena dear! xoxo


Serena Fantastic review Sue! Love the graphics. Stunning as always! xo


message 36: by Tina (new)

Tina H Fab review, Sue!


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Serena wrote: "Fantastic review Sue! Love the graphics. Stunning as always! xo"

I appreciate it! Thanks so much Serena dear! xoxo


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Tina wrote: "Fab review, Sue!"

Many thanks Tina dear! xoxo


~Anna's ƦªϻƁℓℹռg$~ Awesome review, Sue dear! xo


Holly *Confessions of a Lit Chick* I need this right now! Her cliff hangers are cruel. Just three. More. Days


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ ◆ Anna's ƦªϻƁℓℹռg$ ◆ wrote: "Awesome review, Sue dear! xo"

Thank you so much Anna dear! xoox


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Holly wrote: "I need this right now! Her cliff hangers are cruel. Just three. More. Days"

Hehe, I hear you Holly! Hang in there and stock up on tissue. Happy reading! xoxx


message 43: by Jessica (new) - added it

Jessica Why did you say "sort of" put your heart back together?! You're making me nervous 😩


-S♡ Beyond excited to start this trilogy! As always, amazing review Sue!


Jenny••Steamy Reads Blog•• Looking forward to this series!! Fab review, Sue dear❤️


message 46: by Choko (new)

Choko Wow! High praise:) Love it, my friend:)


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Jessica wrote: "Why did you say "sort of" put your heart back together?! You're making me nervous 😩"

Oh no Jessica. Well if you enjoyed book 1-2 and and maybe thought book 3 would be like the home stretch.... you might want to stock up on tissue.... this book is - for me - probably the most emotional... Enjoy!


message 48: by Wendy (new) - added it

Wendy Great review Sue ;) xoxo


message 49: by Aisling Zena (new)

Aisling Zena Amazing review Sue! :) xxx


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ -S♡ wrote: "Beyond excited to start this trilogy! As always, amazing review Sue!"

Thank you so much S! I so hope you will love! xoox


« previous 1
back to top