Loretta's Reviews > Anne of Green Gables

Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
18967405
's review

liked it
bookshelves: children, classic, my-2018-reading-challenge, the-great-american-read

One I really should have read when I was younger. 😕
85 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Anne of Green Gables.
Sign In »

Quotes Loretta Liked

L.M. Montgomery
“People laugh at me because I use big words. But if you have big ideas, you have to use big words to express them, haven't you?”
L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables


Reading Progress

March 9, 2017 – Shelved
March 9, 2017 – Shelved as: to-read
January 28, 2018 – Started Reading
February 6, 2018 – Shelved as: children
February 6, 2018 – Shelved as: classic
February 6, 2018 – Shelved as: my-2018-reading-challenge
February 6, 2018 – Finished Reading
June 13, 2018 – Shelved as: the-great-american-read

Comments Showing 1-16 of 16 (16 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Renee One of my favourites when I was younger, and I still love it.


Loretta Renee wrote: "One of my favourites when I was younger, and I still love it."

Alas! I wish I had read it when I was younger Renee! Maybe it would have resonated more to me now.


message 3: by Diane S ☔ (new)

Diane S ☔ I have never read this either, do you are not alone, Loretta.


Loretta Diane S ☔ wrote: "I have never read this either, do you are not alone, Loretta."

Good to know Diane! 🤗


Filipa I really think this is a book for all ages. you just need creativity and an open mind. but I guess
not everyone has that☹️


Loretta Filipa wrote: "I really think this is a book for all ages. you just need creativity and an open mind. but I guess
not everyone has that☹️"


Why thank you Filipa! I didn't realize that I needed creativity and an open mind to enjoy a children's book! 🙄


Kimberly I loved this book as a child. I reread it last year, and though I still really liked it, it just wasn’t quite the same for me. It was still good but I didn’t get quite the case of the warm fuzzies that I did when I was younger.


message 8: by [deleted user] (new)

When I read Anne of Green Gables the first time, I remember not enjoying it. I found the writing to be very dry, and that disappointed me. However, in my early teens, I really started loving this book. I feel like with this book, it is either you like it or you don't like it very much.


message 9: by Mary (new)

Mary I agree with you Loretta. i had much trouble reading her novels. i found them too childish for me and thus dismissed them


Loretta Mary wrote: "I agree with you Loretta. i had much trouble reading her novels. i found them too childish for me and thus dismissed them"

Maybe had we read them when we were younger Mary, right? 🤗


message 11: by Mary (new)

Mary Loretta you are right. maybe when i was in my mid teens to late i would have enjoyed this book series. Montgomery writes a bit too childish for me.

You are the first review which has concurred with my opinion.


Loretta Mary wrote: "Loretta you are right. maybe when i was in my mid teens to late i would have enjoyed this book series. Montgomery writes a bit too childish for me.

You are the first review which has concurred wi..."


Thank you Mary! 😊


message 13: by Sara (new) - rated it 4 stars

Sara Yes, Anne has magic when you are of a certain age. I re-read it a few years back and, while I still enjoyed it, it was nothing like the experience I had of it when I was young.


Loretta Sara wrote: "Yes, Anne has magic when you are of a certain age. I re-read it a few years back and, while I still enjoyed it, it was nothing like the experience I had of it when I was young."

Strange how that happens, right Sara?


Sasha Yes.


message 16: by Ann (new) - rated it 5 stars

Ann every young girl and adult female should read it at least once. I would also recommend having someone read to you now


back to top