Carla's Reviews > Looking for Alaska

Looking for Alaska by John Green
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
422137
's review
Apr 02, 2008

it was amazing
bookshelves: readin2008, booksiown, alabamaties, readin2009, thecomfortbooks, readin2010, readin2017
Recommended to Carla by: Elisa Munoz, Jim Naftel
Recommended for: everyone (except maybe my mom)
Read 6 times. Last read August 4, 2017 to August 5, 2017.

The only reason I didn’t cry—both in laughter and in sorrow—was because I finished the book in a food court. And I'm in a fairly happy-go-lucky state of mind these days. Were I anything less, I think I would be shattered on the floor (in the best possible way).

I was skeptical when friends claimed Alaska was even better than Abundance. But friends were right. I wish my five star rating had the power to express just how much I loved this book.

--Read again April 17, 2008... yes, two weeks later.

--And I'm reading it again in July. I just gave a copy to my friend Murray for her birthday, and finally bought my own copy. That's cause for a reread, right? Completed July 19, 2008

--And again, Aug. 26, 2009

--Yet again, Aug. 29, 2010
20 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Looking for Alaska.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

Finished Reading
Finished Reading
Finished Reading
Finished Reading
April 2, 2008 – Shelved
April 2, 2008 – Shelved as: readin2008
August 18, 2008 – Shelved as: booksiown
August 26, 2009 –
page 256
100%
August 26, 2009 – Shelved as: alabamaties
August 26, 2009 – Shelved as: readin2009
Started Reading
August 29, 2010 – Shelved as: thecomfortbooks
August 29, 2010 – Shelved as: readin2010
August 29, 2010 – Finished Reading
August 4, 2017 – Started Reading
August 4, 2017 –
page 66
29.86%
August 4, 2017 –
page 165
74.66%
August 5, 2017 – Shelved as: readin2017
August 5, 2017 – Finished Reading

Comments (showing 1-4 of 4) (4 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Michael I cried so hard when I read this! I think I have completely gotten rid of my bodily fluids after reading this. The ink is smudged on some pages due to my tears. But in my opinion, the more a book makes you cry, the better it is.


Anne sorry you were in public. I needed those tears.


Sarah "I wish my five star rating had the power to express just how much I loved this book." Oh god, I know exactly what you mean.


the sound of Autumn I almost cried while reading it in the library at my school. But I wasn't crying for what you would consider the right reasons though- which actually reminds me of a quote from the book, "It always shocked me when I realized that I wasn’t the only person in the world who thought and felt such strange and awful things."


back to top