Swankivy's Reviews > Girl Goddess #9: Nine Stories

Girl Goddess #9 by Francesca Lia Block
Rate this book
Clear rating

's review
Jun 13, 2007

really liked it
bookshelves: favoritebooks

Girl Goddess #9 is a collection of short stories by Ms. Block. All of them are about girls who are very special in some way. "Tweetie Sweet Pea" is a story about a young baby and her life with her sister, Peachy Pie. "Blue" is about La, and her imaginary (or is she?) friend Blue, and her mother's role in her life of feeling unpopular. "Dragons in Manhattan" is about Tuck Budd and her confusion over who her dad is in her parents' relationship, since they both appear to be female. "Girl Goddess #9" is about lady ivory and alabaster duchess, two girls who write about their idolization of a rock star in their zine. "Rave" is actually written in the voice of a guy, about a girl named Raven, and how they are both "freaks." "The Canyon" is about Désirée and escaping reality and death. "Pixie and Pony" is about best friend girls and girl relationships. "Winnie and Cubby" is about Winnie and Cubby, and their relationship and strange conversations. And "Orpheus" is about a girl's relationship with a photographer while reminiscing about a dead friend named Jacaranda. All of the stories are easy to read and let you get lost in their liquid language. You'll be glad you read it if you do.

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Girl Goddess #9.
Sign In »

No comments have been added yet.