Candace's Reviews > Preppy: The Life & Death of Samuel Clearwater, Part Three

Preppy by T.M. Frazier
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
16384209
As much as I have enjoyed the 'King' series, I have mixed feelings about this book. Preppy is a favorite character of mine, but I was left feeling somewhat underwhelmed with this final book in his story. At the same time, I was glad that everything was tied up and that the series drew to a close. I think it was time. It is kind of bittersweet for me.

Like earlier books in the series, Preppy, Bear and King team up to take on those that would do them harm. This time around, Dre is a target. Picking up right where the last book left off, Dre is in a dire situation and has to fight for her life. That isn't the last time that they'll find themselves in a life or death struggle though.

Despite the action and danger that fills the pages, I was left feeling somewhat bored. Maybe I've just grown tired of the constant danger and implausibility of this series, but I just wasn't surprised or even anxious while reading this one. It felt kind of flat for me.

That being said, it was nice to see these characters all "grown up" and settled down. Each of them managed to find their happy place, going on to have children and live out their HEAs. These rough and tumble, drug-dealing guys have become the picture of domestic bliss. It is kind of sweet, in a bizarre way.

Overall, I thought that this ended up being a pretty good book. It didn't hold my attention like the earlier books in the series, but I was also glad to see everything wind down and come to a close. It was a great ride while it lasted, but it was time.

Check out more of my reviews at www.bookaddicthaven.com
161 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Preppy.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

February 9, 2017 – Shelved
February 9, 2017 – Shelved as: to-read
July 5, 2017 – Started Reading
July 5, 2017 – Shelved as: kindle-unlimited
July 23, 2017 – Shelved as: dangerous-hero-themed-books-read
July 23, 2017 – Shelved as: dark-themes
July 23, 2017 – Shelved as: kidnapped
July 23, 2017 – Shelved as: organized-crime
July 23, 2017 – Shelved as: pregnant-heroines
July 23, 2017 – Shelved as: shocking-twists
July 23, 2017 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-26 of 26 (26 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Selene ENJOY, Candace!!!! 💙


Candace Thanks, Selene! :) xoxo


KAT ♕ Kitty Kats Crazy About Books ♕ Hope your next read is better xxx


message 4: by Rebekah Smith (new)

Rebekah Smith That book is not for me cause I am Christian and a other thing what would Jesus say to you about that book and really you should go to church once and to see if you see it or not love ya.


Eve Recinella (Between The Bookends) Rebekah Smith wrote: "That book is not for me cause I am Christian and a other thing what would Jesus say to you about that book and really you should go to church once and to see if you see it or not love ya."

What?! *lol* I think jesus would totally dig Preppy!


Maria Yup. I agree. I never realized it was one or the other. Jesus never struck me as narrow minded. Preppy either. Fancy that. They have more than just rising from the dead in common. ;)


Eve Recinella (Between The Bookends) "They have more than just rising from the dead in common. ;)"

LMAO....I literally just spit coffee all over my computer screen!


message 8: by Candace (last edited Jul 25, 2017 06:03AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Candace Rebekah Smith wrote: "That book is not for me cause I am Christian and a other thing what would Jesus say to you about that book and really you should go to church once and to see if you see it or not love ya."

Good for you, Rebekah. I'm glad that you find comfort in your religious views. However, I fail to understand why you think that gives you a right to pass judgment on others. Your comment is quite self-righteous and reeks of superiority -- neither of which are aligned with your so-called "Christian" values. If you truly want to increase church attendance, losing this self-important attitude should be your first step. After all, dealing with narrow-minded, judgmental hypocrites is a big turn-off for most people. You might want to spend a little more time studying bible verses that don't feed your superiority complex. I'd start with Romans 2:1, Matthew 7:1, Proverbs 21:2, or Romans 14:13. Have a great day! :)


Candace Eve Recinella (Between The Bookends) wrote: ""They have more than just rising from the dead in common. ;)"

LMAO....I literally just spit coffee all over my computer screen!"


Maria wrote: "Yup. I agree. I never realized it was one or the other. Jesus never struck me as narrow minded. Preppy either. Fancy that. They have more than just rising from the dead in common. ;)"

Eve Recinella (Between The Bookends) wrote: "Rebekah Smith wrote: "That book is not for me cause I am Christian and a other thing what would Jesus say to you about that book and really you should go to church once and to see if you see it or ..."

LOL. Thanks, ladies! You guys are hilarious! I just saw this and was like WTF! I checked out this person's profile and she has rated exactly one book that she gave 1-star. My guess is that she's just a miserable individual. I wonder if she's one of the Internet trolls that I'm always hearing about. Maybe I should be flattered. :) xoxo


Maria Aww, now that's what I like to hear, laughter. Good times ladies and happy reading to you. 📚


Candace Maria wrote: "Aww, now that's what I like to hear, laughter. Good times ladies and happy reading to you. 📚"

Thanks, Maria! Happy reading to you also. :) xoxo


Elise ✘ a.k.a Ryder's Pet ✘ Terrific review, Candace :)


message 13: by Nazanin (new)

Nazanin Terrific review, Candace! :)


Candace Nazanin wrote: "Terrific review, Candace! :)"

Elise ✘ a.k.a Ryder's Pet ✘ wrote: "Terrific review, Candace :)"

Thanks so much, ladies! :) xoxo


message 15: by Choko (new)

Choko Great review, Candace! The guys on the covers of all the books in the series are so gorgeous!!!!


Jenny••Steamy Reads Blog•• Awesome review, Candace!! xx


Candace Choko wrote: "Great review, Candace! The guys on the covers of all the books in the series are so gorgeous!!!!"

Thanks, Choko! They are pretty incredible! ;) xoxo


Candace Jenny wrote: "Awesome review, Candace!! xx"

Thanks, Jenny! :) xoxo


message 19: by Melissa (new)

Melissa Sorry this wasn't a total winner for you. Great review though. 💙


message 20: by Ezinwanyi (new)

Ezinwanyi I just bought this one so that's disappointing


Candace Melissa wrote: "Sorry this wasn't a total winner for you. Great review though. 💙"

Thanks, Melissa! Can't love them all, right. :) xoxo


Candace Ezinwanyi wrote: "I just bought this one so that's disappointing"

It was a disappointment for me, but I was definitely in the minority. You might really enjoy it. I hope it works out better for you, Eziwanyi. :) xoxo


Viollar I felt the same way. Awesome Review as always :-)


Candace Viollar Nasaba wrote: "I felt the same way. Awesome Review as always :-)"

Thanks, Viollar! I'm glad it wasn't just me. :) xoxo


Megan✦❋Steamy Reads Blog❋✦ Great review, Candace :) xx


Candace Megan✦❋Steamy Reads Blog❋✦ wrote: "Great review, Candace :) xx"

Thanks so much, Megan! :) xoxo


back to top