Melanie's Reviews > Nevernight

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
3030788
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: buddy-reads, fantasy, read-in-2017, new-adult, magic, romance, erotic-scenes, dark, favorites
Recommended to Melanie by: chai ♡

“The last thing you will ever be in this world, girl, is someone’s hero. But you will be a girl heroes fear.”

I feel like this book is extremely polarizing but if you love it, you will love it completely and whole heartedly. If you love it, you won’t be able to put it down. If you love it, you will probably consider it one of the best book you’ll read all year. And I loved it. I loved it so much. Even though, when I look through my friends’ reviews, I feel like I’m in the minority. But for me, Nevernight is worth all of the hype.

I will say that I personally feel like this is an adult fantasy novel, not a YA fantasy novel, despite the characters age. There is sex, a lot of sex, and violence, a whole lot of violence, and gore, don’t forget all of the gore! So please go into this book knowing this, and knowing that this is a very mature book in general.

Also, before I get into my review, I want to address the problematic, hurtful, and harmful representation of the Māori people (the indigenous Polynesian people of New Zealand) that Jay Kristoff was inspired to base the Dweymeri race in this book from. Jay has stated, “the tatts aren’t based off Māori designs” but it still feels a little bad while you’re reading this story, even if the Dweymeri are not direct representatives of the Māori. I just think it’s important to bring this discussion up and I want everyone to know about this controversy surrounding the portrayal of this culture. I, also, do not want anyone to think that I’m making excuses for it, because I am definitely not even though I did love this book. Cultural appropriation and reinforcing stereotypes will never be okay and I truly wish this element was not a part of this book, but it is, and I’m not going to not bring it to your attention whether you believe it is or not.

Nevernight is a story about a sixteen-year-old girl named Mia Corvere, who is on a mission for vengeance and to right the wrong that has been done to her family in the only way she knows how: killing everyone. Mia find her way into the Red Church, who worship the Goddess of murder, where she is training to become one of the deadliest assassins of all time. Also, Mia has an affinity for the shadows, which not only grants her the only companion she has ever known, but also sends her on a quest to discover more about her powers and who she really is.

“The brighter the light, the deeper the shadows”

This story reads like a dark version of Harry Potter, to me. From the boarding school aspect, to the magic, to how they travel through the world, to the professors and their different classes, so much of this book reminds me of the wizarding world.

And even though this is a series, there is no real cliffhanger (even though you will be left wanting more), this is a full standing book that has an amazing story and that you could just read on its own. I’m not sure the last time I read a book in a fantasy series that did that.

This book is so sex positive, and the opening chapter of this book was so beautifully done. It is one of my favorite first chapters of all time, and I think Jay Kristoff is nothing short of a genius to have been able to write a juxtaposition that well. I mean, Jay’s writing is lyrical and beautiful, too, but it’s so damn smart that I can’t help but be in awe of this story he has crafted.

And Mia’s bisexuality is so beautifully on display. Like, all I want in my reading life is girl assassins loving each other and saving the world, and this book doesn’t disappoint, even though the main "love" story is hetero. We need more stories with queer main protagonists that are normalized and just having their adventures and story told without a coming out story or an explanation on why they feel the way they do. Again, Jay Kristoff gets all the kudos and credit.

I always pride myself in being able to see the twists coming, and I was completely blindsided by the end reveal of Nevernight! Also, for those of you who have finished, I will go down with that hate to love ship. I. WILL. GO. DOWN. WITH. THAT. SHIP.

And finally, if you find yourself loving this series and wanting more, I can’t recommend Mark Lawrence’s Red Sister enough! It’s a very reminiscent story, with perhaps more violence, but with definitely less sex, and both star queer assassin nun-like characters who study at a church.

Nevernight was everything that I never knew I wanted, and it is totally just as amazing as some of the most popular and highly acclaimed adult fantasy series out there. This novel meant so very much to me, and I cannot wait to start Godsgrave as soon as humanly possible! Happy reading, everyone!


“The books we love, they love us back. And just as we mark our places in the pages, those pages leave their marks on us. I can see it in you, sure as I see it in me. You’re a daughter of words. A girl with a story to tell.”

Blog | Twitter | Tumblr | Instagram | Youtube | Twitch

Buddy read with Katherine, Jules, & Paloma! ❤
455 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Nevernight.
Sign In »

Quotes Melanie Liked

Jay Kristoff
“The books we love, they love us back. And just as we mark our places in the pages, those pages leave their marks on us. I can see it in you, sure as I see it in me. You're a daughter of the words. A girl with a story to tell.”
Jay Kristoff, Nevernight


Reading Progress

February 4, 2017 – Shelved
February 4, 2017 – Shelved as: to-read
September 27, 2017 – Shelved as: buddy-reads
September 27, 2017 – Shelved as: fantasy
September 27, 2017 – Shelved as: read-in-2017
October 10, 2017 – Started Reading
October 10, 2017 –
page 36
8.39% "I'm in love."
October 21, 2017 – Shelved as: new-adult
October 21, 2017 – Shelved as: magic
October 21, 2017 – Shelved as: romance
October 21, 2017 – Shelved as: erotic-scenes
October 21, 2017 – Shelved as: dark
October 21, 2017 – Finished Reading
October 23, 2017 – Shelved as: favorites

Comments Showing 1-27 of 27 (27 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by chai ♡ (last edited Aug 04, 2017 02:22PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

chai ♡ YES YES YES YES !!!!!!!!!! my heart is so full right now i hope you love it, Mel!!! 💕


Melanie kazzy boy ⚓ wrote: "YES YES YES YES !!!!!!!!!! my heart is so full right now i hope you love it, Mel!!! 💕"

...Now I'm reading things about the main character being bisexual and I think I'm going to owe you my life for making me read this series. 💗xx


chai ♡ THE TIME HAS COME OH MY GOD PLEASE LOVE THIS BOOK AND TEXT ME ALL YOUR EMOTIONS I AM SO HERE FOR THIS SFJDKGJDJG


Melanie kazzy boy ϟ wrote: "THE TIME HAS COME OH MY GOD PLEASE LOVE THIS BOOK AND TEXT ME ALL YOUR EMOTIONS I AM SO HERE FOR THIS SFJDKGJDJG"

💕 We are starting October 10th so get ready for me to be sliding into your DMs every night like:



Melanie Sh3lly ✨ Annihilator of Mangy Felines and Maggoty Malfeasance ✨ wrote: "I hope you enjoy it!!!"

Thank you, Shelly! I have such high hopes! 🍂🎃💛xx


Jessica ❥Chatterbooks Book Blog❥ Happy reading! ❤


Melanie Jessica-❥Chatterbooks Book Blog❥ wrote: "Happy reading! ❤"

Thank you, Jess! I loved this so much! I'm writing up my review NOW! Happy reading, love! 🎃💛🍂xx


Megan I totally wasn't aware of all the controversy around Dweymari/Maori portrayal. So cheers for raising the point. But fantastic review! :)


message 10: by Mimi (new) - added it

Mimi Melanie I found it so helpful that your review pointed out both the issues and joys of this read. I may need to start reading fantasies again!


message 11: by J.A. (new) - added it

J.A. Ironside Great review and best buddy read ever! Thanks again, Melanie :)


Melanie Megan wrote: "I totally wasn't aware of all the controversy around Dweymari/Maori portrayal. So cheers for raising the point. But fantastic review! :)"

Thank you so much, Megan! 💖xx


Melanie Mimi wrote: "Melanie I found it so helpful that your review pointed out both the issues and joys of this read. I may need to start reading fantasies again!"

This comment makes me so happy, Mimi! And yes you do! Since you enjoy romance so much you should totally try The Bird and the Sword (The Bird and the Sword Chronicles #1) by Amy Harmon, because it is the perfect blend of two! Happy reading, sweetheart! 💖xx


Melanie J.A. wrote: "Great review and best buddy read ever! Thanks again, Melanie :)"

Best. Buddy. Read. Ever! Thank YOU again! You are such a great buddy reading, Jules. Seriously. Hopefully Zenith can hold up next month! 💖xx


destiny ♡⚔♡ [howling libraries] Amazing review! I really need to try this one again. I was in just such a big fantasy slump when I tried reading it the first time, but it seemed so promising! I appreciate you pointing out the problems in the book as well as the good parts. <3 I feel like I will be live updating you when I read this one haha!


Melanie destiny wrote: "Amazing review! I really need to try this one again. I was in just such a big fantasy slump when I tried reading it the first time, but it seemed so promising! I appreciate you pointing out the pro..."

Hey, you, I love you so much. Thank you for being such a good friend and just a pure sweetheart in general. Also, I can't wait to see what you think of this one when you finish it (and live update me)... because the ending is SOMETHING ELSE! 💗xx


Tânia Glad you love it too! Gotta say though, I don't think it has that much sex in it, it only has like 3 short scenes.


Melanie Tânia wrote: "Glad you love it too! Gotta say though, I don't think it has that much sex in it, it only has like 3 short scenes."

I think it has a lot of sex in it compared to most fantasy and for sure most fantasy featuring an under age protagonist! And they were.... descriptive, haha! And that opening chapter hopefully lets the reader know what they are getting in to, but I just want to warm a lot of my bookish friends that aren't that big into steamy scenes! Happy reading, Tânia! 💗xx


Emily I just finished this last night and I LOVED it! Your review captures so many of the feelings I had while reading it. And I feel silly for not knowing, but I also am so curious to know, what ship are you referring to? :)


Melanie Emily wrote: "I just finished this last night and I LOVED it! Your review captures so many of the feelings I had while reading it. And I feel silly for not knowing, but I also am so curious to know, what ship ar..."

(view spoiler) 💗xx


message 21: by Rachel (new) - added it

Rachel Excellent review. I'm a bit concerned with the Māori part of this as I am a New Zealander and have great respect for the Māori's.


MangoLoverReads Made me want to check this out! I like a bit of f/f sex with no apologies in my sci-fi and fantasy reads! So many leave it out, not sure why, maybe folks don’t like it when they aren’t trying to read romance...? But I’m looking forward to it.


Melanie Rachel wrote: "Excellent review. I'm a bit concerned with the Māori part of this as I am a New Zealander and have great respect for the Māori's."

Yeah, the entire thing doesn't feel good, I won't lie. But if you read this one, I would love to hear your voice on it. I hope you're having happy reading, Rachel love! 💖xx


Melanie MangoLoverReads wrote: "Made me want to check this out! I like a bit of f/f sex with no apologies in my sci-fi and fantasy reads! So many leave it out, not sure why, maybe folks don’t like it when they aren’t trying to re..."

Jay Kristoff for sure delivers all the sexually explicit f/f sex scenes in books two and three, this I swear. Lmao! Happy reading, love! 💖


The Victorian Sammy Blog Club Melanie,Great review. How you wrote it to catch the reader's attention is difficult. But you managed it. Love it!


Althea | themoonwholistens ☾ great review!! I agree that this book might not be for everyone but if you loved it, you LOVE it :")


message 27: by Rachel (new) - added it

Rachel Melanie wrote: "Rachel wrote: "Excellent review. I'm a bit concerned with the Māori part of this as I am a New Zealander and have great respect for the Māori's."

Yeah, the entire thing doesn't feel good, I won't ..."


Thank you hun. You are always so sweet! 💜


back to top