Matthew's Reviews > Everything I Never Told You

Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
16254355
's review

liked it
bookshelves: 2017, audio, library, tear-jerkers, mystery

This is a dark drama. I did not find much hope in the story. Maybe others will disagree, but it is a fairly depressing story.

It was still a good book, even if my mood grew darker as the story went along. I think that the overall story was interesting and the relationships in the story are written well. Also, the development along the way is fascinating even if gloomy.

There is a lot of poorly defined time jumping, but, while that has bothered me in other books, I was okay with it here. Somehow I managed to quickly realign my thought process when I suddenly realized I was elsewhere in the time line.

The time period of this book is the late 1970s. The main reason I am thinking that they did this is that the social opinion at that time on mixed-race marriage and people was not as accepting as it is now. If this had been written in modern day, a lot of the fear and desperation caused by this would not have been there.

I cannot say that I would recommend this book because it is so dark and depressing and I wonder what people might think (i.e. “Why does Matthew think I would like this sad book? What must he think of me!??”). But, if you are interested in stories with serious family drama, this is the book for you.
93 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Everything I Never Told You.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

January 23, 2017 – Shelved
January 23, 2017 – Shelved as: to-read
October 19, 2017 – Started Reading
October 19, 2017 – Shelved as: 2017
October 19, 2017 – Shelved as: audio
October 19, 2017 – Shelved as: library
October 19, 2017 –
22.0% "Grieving and suspicion"
October 20, 2017 –
40.0% "Interrogation"
October 21, 2017 –
81.0% "Learning to drive"
October 23, 2017 – Shelved as: tear-jerkers
October 23, 2017 – Shelved as: mystery
October 23, 2017 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-12 of 12 (12 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Brandice Nice review! I really enjoyed this one although I agree, it was very dark and depressing!


Matthew Brandice wrote: "Nice review! I really enjoyed this one although I agree, it was very dark and depressing!"

Thanks! Yeah . . . I need a feel good story after this one!


Angela M Definitely dark and depressing but I did feel a tough of hope at the end . Nice review.


Susanne Strong Nice review Matthew! While I absolutely loved this one, I get that you and others might have found the heaviness of the book to be overwhelming.


Matthew Angela M wrote: "Definitely dark and depressing but I did feel a tough of hope at the end . Nice review."

Thanks. I was searching for a bit of hope in the end, but I felt like maybe after the book ended it might just be more of the same - kind of interesting to ponder!


Matthew Susanne wrote: "Nice review Matthew! While I absolutely loved this one, I get that you and others might have found the heaviness of the book to be overwhelming."

Thanks - I think it is going to take me awhile to fully process this one!


Angela M Matthew, maybe it was me that was just hoping!


message 8: by Dana (new) - added it

Dana Nice review, Matthew. I haven’t read the yet, it will consider myself warned.


Matthew Angela M wrote: "Matthew, maybe it was me that was just hoping!"

I think it is a good thing you found some! That is not a wrong thing . . . I think I was just in a place with the narrative where it couldn't recover out of the doldrums for me.


message 10: by Matthew (last edited Oct 23, 2017 11:22AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Matthew Dana wrote: "Nice review, Matthew. I haven’t read the yet, it will consider myself warned."

Thank you!


Cheri Wonderful review, Matthew, I could sense how much this affected you!


Matthew Cheri wrote: "Wonderful review, Matthew, I could sense how much this affected you!"

Thank you! Yes, I am sure I will be thinking about this one for a long time to come.


back to top