Emma's Reviews > Promise of Blood

Promise of Blood by Brian  McClellan
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
8575414
's review

liked it
bookshelves: fantasy

2.5 stars rounded up to 3 stars because I know this book is better than I think it is! This was my third attempt to read this book and I finally made it through. I don't really know why it didn't gel with me- maybe something in the writing style? I didn't really bond with any of the characters. The magic system itself was quite different but even that didn't really inspire me. Meh.....
54 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Promise of Blood.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

January 9, 2017 – Shelved
January 9, 2017 – Shelved as: fantasy
January 11, 2017 –
9.0%
January 14, 2017 – Shelved as: to-read
January 29, 2017 – Started Reading
January 29, 2017 –
24.0%
January 29, 2017 –
34.0%
January 30, 2017 –
47.0%
January 31, 2017 –
55.0%
February 3, 2017 –
84.0%
February 3, 2017 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-11 of 11 (11 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Elizabeth Fantham I wasn't a huge fan of this either.


Emma Glad it's not just me- many of my fantasy buddy readers really liked it...


message 3: by Nimrod (last edited Feb 03, 2017 12:31PM) (new) - added it

Nimrod Daniel I've read 5 short stories in the Powder Mage world and it was great! McClellan's style seems quite similar to Brandon Sanderson's style.


Seán Just posted my own review that was a bit less generous than yours :p I don't think its McCellan's style that's the issue - I think it's the form. The writing's just not good at times. A lot of people reviewed this favourably which I can get, as the plot seems fun enough. I just couldn't get into the book properly as I was editing it every other page instead of reading and enjoying.


Andy shame I thought you'd cracked it this time as seem to be flying through it, n'ver mind, plenny more books out there to enjoy :)


message 6: by Nimrod (new) - added it

Nimrod Daniel Judging by his 5 short stories that I've read his writing style is really good.


message 7: by Tal (new) - rated it 4 stars

Tal The writing is indeed dull from descriptions.


Andy Yeah I am a huge fan of this book, with the second to follow shortly, comes highly recommended fro me Nimrod.


Orient I plan to read this after I pay some reading debts :) Sorry to hear it didn't hook you up :S


message 10: by Emma (new) - rated it 3 stars

Emma It's not like I'm ever going to run out of other books!


Allison Reading it now, and feeling the same way.


back to top