Elise (TheBookishActress)'s Reviews > They Both Die at the End

They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
52545435
“Maybe it's better to have gotten it right and been happy for one day instead of living a lifetime of wrongs.”

This is a masterpiece of speculative fiction. Speculative fiction, to me, is meant for emotions, and meant for exploration and discovery. This book is a story of a last chance and a last day for two very different people, but it's a story that's best observed personally - this story asks you to reinvent yourself every single day.

The strength of this book is that somehow, everything here feels so natural and personal. The amount of side point of views here is perhaps the best part of this book - it's hard to ignore how personal this story is when you feel as if you could be dropped into the book at any time.
I can't go on being the kid who keeps his head low because all that did was rob and being out there with you- maybe I could have met some of you sooner.

Emotionally, this story is fantastic. The characters are lovely and well-developed. And as an added bonus, the diversity is fantastic - Mateo is Puerto Rican and queer, while Rufus is Cuban-American and bisexual.

Let’s talk characters, because hey, this is a character-driven book primarily.
➽ Mateo Torrez: My nerdy, character-development-full son. Mateo is a homebody and a bit of a nervous wreck trying to have one final day.
➽ Rufus Emeterio: The fact that he put down “Professional Time Waster” as his job in his deathday profile is all you need to know, honestly. In contrast to Mateo, Rufus has accepted his fate. Oh, and he's also hilarious.

What's odd about this is the romance plotline is this book comes sort of out of nowhere, but I loved it anyway? Mateo and Rufus do not have a meet-cute. They do not have sexual tension for the first eight hours before they kiss. And you know what? I think the lack of slow burn is perfect. It works very well as a desperate, last-ditch relationship, between two characters who aren't in love yet. But they could be.

Basically, this book was worth the hype and Adam Silvera can go fuck himself for writing it. This buddyread with my oncoming depression was an absolute success.

Blog | Goodreads | Twitter | Youtube
226 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read They Both Die at the End.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

January 9, 2017 – Shelved
January 9, 2017 – Shelved as: to-read
February 14, 2017 – Shelved as: i-love-these-authors
April 19, 2017 – Shelved as: on-hold-to-finish
May 1, 2017 – Shelved as: to-read
May 8, 2017 – Shelved as: ze-coverporn
June 23, 2017 – Shelved as: on-my-shelf-arcs
October 26, 2017 – Shelved as: on-my-shelf-current
November 15, 2017 – Shelved as: must-reads-2017-asap
December 9, 2017 – Started Reading
December 9, 2017 –
page 10
2.72% "...Rufus only has seventy instagram followers"
December 9, 2017 –
page 30
8.15% "a man I have never met before just tapped me on the shoulder to ask about the title of this book. I am in a coffee shop. what is happening"
December 9, 2017 – Shelved as: books-released-2017
December 9, 2017 – Shelved as: ze-read-in-2017
December 9, 2017 –
page 297
80.71% "im crying and they’re not even dead yet"
December 9, 2017 – Shelved as: genre-contemporary
December 9, 2017 – Shelved as: 5-star
December 9, 2017 – Shelved as: genre-odd-specfic-weirdness
December 9, 2017 – Shelved as: my-author-meetups
December 9, 2017 – Shelved as: ze-faves-of-2017
December 9, 2017 – Shelved as: favorite-friendships
December 9, 2017 – Shelved as: favorite-characters
December 9, 2017 – Shelved as: favorite-relationships
December 9, 2017 – Shelved as: that-mental-illness-rep
December 9, 2017 – Shelved as: this-gave-me-hope-for-humanity
December 9, 2017 – Shelved as: what-kind-of-hype-hype-hype
December 9, 2017 – Shelved as: that-lgbtq-rep-tho
December 9, 2017 – Shelved as: favorite-squads
December 9, 2017 – Shelved as: that-rep-of-characters-of-color
December 9, 2017 – Shelved as: what-is-this-ending
December 9, 2017 – Shelved as: this-shit-made-me-cry
December 9, 2017 – Finished Reading
December 22, 2017 – Shelved as: i-read-arcs
August 5, 2018 – Shelved as: narrative-gay-genre-fiction
August 6, 2018 – Shelved as: narrative-gay-fantasy-content

Comments Showing 1-26 of 26 (26 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Emily Hey we're reading the same book! :D


Elise (TheBookishActress) Emily wrote: "Hey we're reading the same book! :D"

let's cry together


Alexandra ☁ aaand I got rick rolled. Thanks. Appreciate it.


Elise (TheBookishActress) Alexandra ☁ wrote: "aaand I got rick rolled. Thanks. Appreciate it."

i'm so sorry don't block me


Alexandra ☁ of course not, hhh.


message 6: by idiffer (new) - added it

idiffer lol. haven't seen that clip in a while. bonus points for being old school.
was never sure what the joke is, but I sort of like the song.


Elise (TheBookishActress) idiffer wrote: "lol. haven't seen that clip in a while. bonus points for being old school.
was never sure what the joke is, but I sort of like the song."


i just find it funny, honestly


message 8: by Bri (new) - added it

Bri I can't stop laughing


message 9: by Liv (new)

Liv never gonna GIVE U UP


Elise (TheBookishActress) Olivia wrote: "never gonna GIVE U UP"

never gonna LET U DOOOWN


✨    jamieson   ✨ @ NASA EXPLAIN HOW I ALWAYS FALL FOR THE RICK ROLL


Elise (TheBookishActress) I am fucking hilarious


message 13: by emma (new) - rated it 5 stars

emma this book is so fucking incredible I'm so glad you loved it ahhhhhhhh


Elise (TheBookishActress) @emma it was such an ExperienceTM... a god damn book


Sonja ✧ Badass Wanderer ✧ i can't believe you just rick rolled all of us. i feel Betrayed


Sabrina this was my fave adam silvera book it's sooooooooooooooooooooooooooo good


Elise (TheBookishActress) @Sonja 🌝

@Sabrina i think it’s my fav now too More Happy Than Not is second


message 18: by Sana (new) - rated it 4 stars

Sana AHAHAHAHHA WELCOME TO HELL :) :) :)


message 19: by Hayley (new) - added it

Hayley This is my favourite review.


Elise (TheBookishActress) sana wrote: "AHAHAHAHHA WELCOME TO HELL :) :) :)"

i've been here for years binch

Hayley wrote: "This is my favourite review."

thank you this is Validation


message 21: by emma (new) - rated it 5 stars

emma Elise wrote: "@emma it was such an ExperienceTM... a god damn book"

i literally cried about 7 times while reading this on a plane......that was definitely an Experience


Elise (TheBookishActress) Emma wrote: "Elise wrote: "@emma it was such an ExperienceTM... a god damn book"

i literally cried about 7 times while reading this on a plane......that was definitely an Experience"


no kidding. I'm still thinking about how well it was written I keep reading great books this month aaaaaaah


BernLuvsBooks (Mom to 2 Posh Lil Divas) This one has been sitting on my TBR shelf for far too long! I need to get to it soon. Great review Elise - makes me want to jump into it right away. :)


Emily I just bought this today and I want to read it so badly!!


Elise (TheBookishActress) @Bern oh god, yes! it’s so amazing and I hope you start it ASAP.


Elise (TheBookishActress) @Emily I hope you read it soon!! it’s super easy to read quickly 💜


back to top