Crazytourists_books's Reviews > A History of the World in 100 Objects

A History of the World in 100 Objects by Neil MacGregor
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
63612882
's review

really liked it

Overall it is a really interesting book.
There are lots of items that were created by non Mediterranean civilizations, for which I had very few or no knowledge of and that makes the book particularly interesting.
The only thing that I didn't like, and that's the reason I gave four stars instead of five, is the writers effort to describe each item with the same number of pages; sometimes reading became quite boring, the information were quite repetitive.
Having said that it is an easy read book, which one can read in parallel with something else, and it really adds to the way we see the history of mankind.
flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read A History of the World in 100 Objects.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

January 8, 2017 – Started Reading
January 8, 2017 – Shelved
January 8, 2017 – Shelved as: to-read
January 8, 2017 –
1.0%
January 11, 2017 –
2.0%
January 12, 2017 –
4.0%
January 15, 2017 –
4.0% "So far it is really interesting. \nWhat I found amazing is that the creation of a handaxe stimulates the same areas in the human brain as speech. Thus, scientists figured out approximately when man started to speak"
January 15, 2017 –
7.0%
January 18, 2017 –
12.0%
January 18, 2017 –
12.0%
January 18, 2017 –
12.0%
January 20, 2017 –
16.0%
January 21, 2017 –
22.0%
January 23, 2017 –
27.0%
January 28, 2017 –
31.0%
February 5, 2017 –
36.0%
February 12, 2017 –
45.0%
February 15, 2017 –
50.0%
February 16, 2017 –
53.0% "Reading this book, I just realised, just how violent were the native American civilizations. Too much blood, too much ceremonial killing... I don't think there is an equivalent in Europe or Asia; maybe the Romans?"
February 17, 2017 –
56.0%
February 19, 2017 –
61.0%
February 26, 2017 –
66.0%
February 27, 2017 –
68.0% "From a chapter about Hinduism: "...God may perhaps best be conceived not as a single isolated spirit but as a joyous loving couple, and that physical love is not evidence of fallen humanity but an essential part of the divine.""
March 3, 2017 –
72.0%
March 17, 2017 –
80.0%
March 27, 2017 –
93.0%
April 1, 2017 – Finished Reading

No comments have been added yet.