Charlotte May's Reviews > The Diary of a Young Girl

The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
14002983
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: classics, ya, war, biography-memoir, non-fiction

There really isn’t anything I can add that many other reviews haven’t already done. It’s a five star read because it is important, because it is real and because the holocaust is something we should never forget.
195 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Diary of a Young Girl.
Sign In »

Quotes Charlotte Liked

Anne Frank
“It's really a wonder that I haven't dropped all my ideals, because they seem so absurd and impossible to carry out. Yet I keep them, because in spite of everything, I still believe that people are really good at heart.”
Anne Frank, The Diary of a Young Girl


Reading Progress

Started Reading
May 1, 2010 – Finished Reading
December 15, 2016 – Shelved
December 20, 2016 – Shelved as: classics
April 24, 2017 – Shelved as: ya
September 8, 2017 – Shelved as: war
December 19, 2017 – Shelved as: biography-memoir
December 19, 2017 – Shelved as: non-fiction

Comments Showing 1-16 of 16 (16 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by C. (new)

C. I have this to read soon. I have seen Anne Frank House on TV and the tree outside. I feel glad these people's story became a loud heroic voice.


Charlotte May C. wrote: "I have this to read soon. I have seen Anne Frank House on TV and the tree outside. I feel glad these people's story became a loud heroic voice."

Definitely! I've visited her house in Amsterdam as well - certainly eye opening.


message 3: by C. (last edited Dec 20, 2017 07:38AM) (new)

C. Living in Europe, how much less distant for you. I don't know about Holland, for if I can travel, there are far more countries I want to see. But Anne's museum would be my first choice in Holland.


message 4: by Adrian (new)

Adrian I don’t know about visiting Anne Frank’s house, maybe one day, but you’re right about the fact the holocaust should never EVER be forgotten 🇮🇱


Charlotte May Adrian wrote: "I don’t know about visiting Anne Frank’s house, maybe one day, but you’re right about the fact the holocaust should never EVER be forgotten 🇮🇱"

It certainly put everything into perspective


Leila Well said Charlotte! Thank you !


Charlotte May Thank you Leila 😊💖


message 8: by Wen (new) - rated it 5 stars

Wen I can never get over how precocious and observant Anne was. It was so sad that she almost survived!


Tammy Yes, Charlotte! I would suggest The Cut Out Girl if you’d like to know more about the Netherlands during WWII


Charlotte May Wen wrote: "I can never get over how precocious and observant Anne was. It was so sad that she almost survived!"

I know right! Truly awful


Charlotte May Tammy wrote: "Yes, Charlotte! I would suggest The Cut Out Girl if you’d like to know more about the Netherlands during WWII"

Ooh sounds interesting Tammy - I'll keep an eye out for it


Gabrielle Dubois And 5 stars because Anne Frank wondered: "One of the many questions that have often bothered me is why women have been, and still are, thought to be so inferior to men. It's easy to say it's unfair, but that's not enough for me; I'd really like to know the reason for this great injustice!
She would have been such a great leader for women...


Charlotte May Gabrielle wrote: "And 5 stars because Anne Frank wondered: "One of the many questions that have often bothered me is why women have been, and still are, thought to be so inferior to men. It's easy to say it's unfair..."

Absolutely!


Nicola This is such a great book! I’d like to visit her house one day too! Great review Charlotte!


Charlotte May @Nicola: yes her house is incredible to see!


Charlotte May leslie hamod wrote: "Wonderful review Charlotte💙"

Thank you Leslie :)


back to top