Karla's Reviews > Kissin' Tell

Kissin' Tell by Lorelei James
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
3024056

3 stars! First half…2 lackluster stars, second half…4 okay now we’re getting somewhere stars!

As much as it pains me to say it, this book was…meh! I love the Rough Rider series and Lorelei James’ writing, but the first half of the book was a little silly, repetitious and just so boring that I nearly stopped reading. Lots of sex and lusting, nearly every chapter, but no heart to the story. Somewhere around the middle of the book, when the McKay’s, and I mean all the McKay’s, made their way into the story, that’s when it picked up for me.

Overall it wasn’t a horrible read, maybe it was just my mood and I was so distracted thinking about Chase and his chaps! Hoowee…I’m just sweating thinking about those chaps and my Chase!! I wanted that kind of passion in this read, that kind of chemistry between Georgia and Tell, a story I could sink my teeth into and when it finally turned around, it was nearly too late!
21 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Kissin' Tell.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

July 5, 2011 – Shelved
June 1, 2013 – Started Reading
June 1, 2013 – Finished Reading
June 30, 2013 – Shelved as: bevy-of-scrumptious-brothers
June 30, 2013 – Shelved as: character-we-love-from-the-past
June 30, 2013 – Shelved as: contemporary-romance
June 30, 2013 – Shelved as: cowboys
June 30, 2013 – Shelved as: sea-world-misting-fan-worthy
June 30, 2013 – Shelved as: sensual
June 30, 2013 – Shelved as: sizzling-romance
June 30, 2013 – Shelved as: wonderful-family
June 30, 2013 – Shelved as: yummy-men

Comments Showing 1-27 of 27 (27 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Denise ~The Procrastinating Book Diva~ Honest review Karla :) Not really a cowboy lovin chick but this series has been on my TBR list forever. Still on the fence about giving it a try.


Karla BamaGal wrote: "I felt pretty much the same about this one, except that my big issue was all the revisiting and recapping with almost all the various family members was time consuming and exhausting."

LOL...that was what I enjoyed. I guess I was so bored with Tell and Georgia's story that when then McCay's came around it got interesting! Thanks Bama!


Karla Denise wrote: "Honest review Karla :) Not really a cowboy lovin chick but this series has been on my TBR list forever. Still on the fence about giving it a try."

Thanks Denise. As a whole, it's a great series with the exception of one or two books!


message 4: by Ingie (new)

Ingie Nice review, Karla. Sorry it wasn't as good as you hoped for. :(


KindleRomance Reviews Nice review Karla! You hit it on the head on one of the reasons it didn't work.


Blacky *Romance Addict* Great review and sorry you didn't like it better Karla :)


message 7: by AprilA (new)

AprilA Glad it at least ended better than it started. Never fun for it to go downhill and finish on a bad note!


message 8: by Kristen (new)

Kristen I hate when a book feels like mostly porn. Glad it got better by the end. Thanks for the honest review, Karla. ((Hugs)


Karla Ingela wrote: "Nice review, Karla. Sorry it wasn't as good as you hoped for. :("

Thanks Ingela, you can't win them all!


Karla Kellie wrote: "Nicely said Karla."

Thanks Kellie!


Karla Blacky *Mistress of doom* wrote: "Great review and sorry you didn't like it better Karla :)"

Thanks Blacky, the next two were much better, so it's all good!


Karla AprilA wrote: "Glad it at least ended better than it started. Never fun for it to go downhill and finish on a bad note!"

I agree April! It made up for the beginning.


Karla Kristen wrote: "I hate when a book feels like mostly porn. Glad it got better by the end. Thanks for the honest review, Karla. ((Hugs)"

Thanks sweet girl! Sometimes the sex is just too much, that was the case here.


Karla Vilda wrote: "I'm glad the ending improved at least! Great review, Karla. :)"

Thanks Vilda! Yes it did!


Karla Kris (KindleRomance) wrote: "Nice review Karla! You hit it on the head on one of the reasons it didn't work."

Thanks Kris. This one didn't work for me as well as the other books.


message 16: by Beth (new)

Beth Well Said Karla!


message 17: by Duchess Nicole (new)

Duchess Nicole Nice review, Karla. I gave up on this series after book three, but I know a lot of people love it. Sorry this one didn't thrill you like the rest!


Karla Beth wrote: "Well Said Karla!"

Thanks Beth!


Karla Duchess Nicole wrote: "Nice review, Karla. I gave up on this series after book three, but I know a lot of people love it. Sorry this one didn't thrill you like the rest!"

Thanks Nicole! I loved most of the books, but I know it's not for everyone!


message 20: by Searock (last edited Jul 02, 2013 11:21PM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Searock Great review, Karla :).
I felt a similar disappointment with this one. In fact, I thought the author may have had some "assistance" in writing this... you know the sense that the author's voice, characterization and ideas are missing? That's what I felt reading the first half of Tell's book though it picked up in the second half (and that maybe James was back on board for that part).
Just having that floating through my mind sort of took away from the experience.
Oh well, the series is still worth pursuing :).


Kristin (KC) - Traveling Sister Nice review, Karla! Not a bad run for a series this long--if this is the only one u didn't care for! :) I tried Cowgirl Up and Ride, and couldn't get into it...but I plan to give a different one a try. Thanks for your honesty! :)


Karla Searock wrote: "Great review, Karla :).
I felt a similar disappointment with this one. In fact, I thought the author may have had some "assistance" in writing this... you know the sense that the author's voice, c..."


Thanks Searock. I couldn't agree more! The beginning of the book felt 'disconnected'!


Karla Kris (KC) wrote: "Nice review, Karla! Not a bad run for a series this long--if this is the only one u didn't care for! :) I tried Cowgirl Up and Ride, and couldn't get into it...but I plan to give a different one a ..."

Thanks Kris! I've only has issue with 2 other books, but other than that, it's been an enjoyable series!


Madhellena I totally agree with you, Karla. I am a big fan of the McKay's but Tell's story was disappointing. I actually found the family dramas more interesting than the romance...


Karla Madhellena wrote: "I totally agree with you, Karla. I am a big fan of the McKay's but Tell's story was disappointing. I actually found the family dramas more interesting than the romance..."

Me too!! I did like the next 2 books in the series, and it seemed like the author got back on track!


Madhellena Well, I'm starting the next one right now so we'll see.


Karla Madhellena wrote: "Well, I'm starting the next one right now so we'll see."

Enjoy Madhellena!


back to top