Hannah Greendale's Reviews > The Two Towers

The Two Towers by J.R.R. Tolkien
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
43377498
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: fantasy, classic-literature, action-adventure, tolkien
Read 2 times. Last read January 30, 2018 to March 1, 2018.

Click here to watch a video review of this book on my channel, From Beginning to Bookend.

172 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Two Towers.
Sign In »

Quotes Hannah Liked

J.R.R. Tolkien
“Of course, it is likely enough, my friends," he said slowly, "likely enough that we are going to our dooms: the last march of the Ents. But if we stayed at home and did nothing, doom would find us anyway, sooner or later.”
J.R.R. Tolkien, The Two Towers


Reading Progress

November 19, 2016 – Started Reading
November 19, 2016 – Shelved
November 21, 2016 – Finished Reading
November 24, 2016 – Shelved as: fantasy
November 24, 2016 – Shelved as: classic-literature
January 30, 2018 – Started Reading
January 30, 2018 – Shelved as: action-adventure
January 30, 2018 –
page 603
100% ""Of course, it is likely enough, my friends," he said slowly, "likely enough that we are going to our doom: the last march of the Ents. But if we stayed at home and did nothing, doom would find us anyway, sooner or later. That thought has long been growing in our hearts; and that is why we are marching now.""
January 30, 2018 –
page 103
24.94% ""Of course, it is likely enough, my friends," he said slowly, "likely enough that we are going to our doom: the last march of the Ents. But if we stayed at home and did nothing, doom would find us anyway, sooner or later. That thought has long been growing in our hearts; and that is why we are marching now.""
January 31, 2018 –
page 139
33.66% "At last! One of my most beloved characters graces us with her presence: Very fair was her face, and her long hair was like a river of gold. Slender and tall she was in her white robe girt with silver; but strong she seemed and stern as steel, a daughter of kings."
February 26, 2018 –
page 386
93.46% "The gasping pools were choked with ash and crawling muds, sickly white and grey, as if the mountains had vomited the filth of their entrails upon the lands about. High mounds of crushed and powdered rock, great cones of earth fire-blasted and poison-stained, stood like an obscene graveyard in endless rows, slowly revealed in the reluctant light."
February 26, 2018 –
page 266
64.41% "The gasping pools were choked with ash and crawling muds, sickly white and grey, as if the mountains had vomited the filth of their entrails upon the lands about. High mounds of crushed and powdered rock, great cones of earth fire-blasted and poison-stained, stood like an obscene graveyard in endless rows, slowly revealed in the reluctant light."
February 28, 2018 –
page 365
88.38% "Wide flats lay on either bank, shadowy meads filled with pale flowers. Luminous these were too, beautiful and yet horrible of shape, like the demented forms in an uneasy dream; and they gave forth a faint sickening charnel-smell; an odour of rottenness filled the air."
March 1, 2018 – Finished Reading
March 29, 2019 – Shelved as: tolkien

Comments Showing 1-13 of 13 (13 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Poonam (new)

Poonam I have been planning to start on this series. Is the book 1 slow?


Hannah Greendale Book one is very slow, but it's worth reading just to get to the second book.


message 3: by Jim (new)

Jim Sibigtroth It is actually best to read The Hobbit before starting the 3-book Lord of the Rings series. Years ago I meant to get the first LOTR book but the bookstore was out of book #1 so I decided to get The Hobbit instead and was very glad I did.


message 4: by Hannah (last edited Nov 26, 2016 08:53PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Hannah Greendale @Jim: I agree, not just because The Hobbit is a great read, but because it sets the stage for the first LOTR book. Having that foundation might make up for some of the slow parts in book one.


message 5: by Aaron (new)

Aaron Are you on The Return of the King yet?


Hannah Greendale @Aaron: I read it last year. :) The Two Towers is definitely my favorite of the trilogy.


message 7: by Aaron (new)

Aaron Yeah it's good, that's the movie I liked most too. I loved playing Isengard in The Battle for Middle Earth (sorry, gamer talking out loud)


Hannah Greendale @Aaron: There's never a need to apologize for gamer talk where I'm concerned. :)


Hannah Greendale @Ana: Agreed. Tolkien's creativity, the scope of his work, and his contribution to fantasy literature is unparalleled.


message 10: by Aaron (new)

Aaron Brotherly love!


Hannah Greendale @Aaron: I like it so much more if it's romantic love. :D


message 12: by Aaron (new)

Aaron "I like it so much more if it's romantic love. :D"

Hey each to his or her own! I just find it funny that non-Catholics have a tendency to look at their relationship in that light. Which is fine, but it shows you how even secular society has hang ups over outward expressions of love.


message 13: by Ganadeep (new)

Ganadeep  గణదీప్ For the second, I thought how come you havent read this till now and then I saw Read 2 times :) Tolkien is a fantasy legend.


back to top