Reynita Maharani ★ The Night Reader ★'s Reviews > Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
43850323
** spoiler alert ** Edit : Rounded it up into 5 stars!

REVIEW TO COME TOMORROW!

4,8 Stars

'Dumbledore says people find it far easier to forgive others for being wrong than being right,' said Hermione. 'I heard him telling your mum, Ron.'

I'm really enjoying this series so far but this series gets darker and darker. the first three of this series were so funny and cute even though there were sad scenes on them and the fourth, fifth and sixth books contained so much pain and I even shed more tears for these book than I did for the the first three. I have lost a favorite character that always made me laugh and smile. this character is Sirus Black. I even still can't get over his death. but let's admit it that maybe there's a death of character that we will never get over.

*takes deep breath* okay let's talk about this book

・。・゜★・。・。☆・゜・。・゜。・。・゜★・。・。☆・。・゜★・。・。

PHLEGM

I have never liked Fleur Delacour very much since I first saw her on the book four and then I saw her again on the book four as Bill's girlfriend or Fiancee and I also laughed when Ginny called Fleur Phlegm. I also still don't how Bill fell in love with her but yeah, she is pretty but I thought Bill deserved someone better than her. I like Bill so much. he is so cool with his red long hair. maybe I didn't like Phlegm because I was jealous hahahaha okay it is not maybe, I was jealous. but look at this scene :

''E is always so thoughtful,' purred Fleur adoringly, stroking Bill's nose. Ginny mimed vomiting into her cereal behind Fleur. Harry choked over his cornflakes and Ron thumped him on the back.

ugh ... how could I like her if she acted like that?!?

description

that was really annoying and Ginny also found it disgusting. Hermione and Ginny didn't even like her. but she changed my mind on the the end of this book because when Bill was attacked by ... that werewolf guy who bit Remus when he was a kid. Bill is no longer as handsome as he used to be but Fleur still loves him. she doesn't care about how he looks and I even thought she would leave him after he was attacked but she didn't and that time I changed my mind about her. She is the right girl for Bill, even though I am a little bit jealous hahaha xD

Ron and Hermione

I ship these two so much and I really really like Ron. Ron and Hermione are always funny. they always bicker about something and I think the first time Ron fell in love with Hermione was on the book four because he was so angry when he knew Hermione went to the Yule Ball with Viktor Krum and in this book Ron hurt me so much. He thought that Hermione kissed Krum and he was so angry and jealous because of this and he kissed Lavender in the common room that was full of people and it also broke Hermione's heart.

Harry looked into the corner she was indicating. There, in full view of the whole room, stood Ron wrapped so closely around Lavender Brown it was hard to tell whose hands were whose.

I remember very clearly that I cried so much till my eyes were red and puffy and that time I kept saying that I hated him and I didn't care about him but saying that seemed useless because I kept crying and crying. That time I wanted to hurt Ron's heart too, I wanted him to feel the exact pain Hermione felt when she saw him kissing Lavender.

description

'Er - my - nee,' croaked Ron unexpectedly from between them.

but all my anger was gone when he was poisoned and he said that while he was asleep. I think he was trying to say Hermione, so that meant he dreamt about her and I forgave him that exact time and he also didn't really like Lavender anymore since then. he even pretended to be asleep when Lavender came to visit him in the hospital wing. so that meant he didn't like her anymore and I don't think he actually liked Lavender before he was poisoned. I think he just kissed Lavender because he wanted to make Hermione jealous and feel hurt, which he successfully did.

Harry And Ginny

have you ever thought why Ginny had relationship with quite many guys? wait ... not many guys because she just dated two boys, Dean and Michael. But she always got a boyfriend as soon as she split up with her ex and my thoughs about this is probably right because Ginny said this to Harry on the end of the book

'I never really gave up on you,' she said. 'Not really. I always hoped ... Hermione told me to get on with life, maybe go out with some other people, relax a bit around you, because I never used to be able to talk if you were in the room, remember? And she thought you might take a bit more notice if I was a bit more - myself.'

I think Ginny always dated a guy as soon as she split up with her ex because she always tried to forget Harry, so maybe if she had a boyfriend, she wouldn't love Harry anymore. But according to what she said she never really gave up on Harry so that means she has always loved him.
I was a bit sad when Harry said they can't be together again because Harry was afraid if something would happen to Ginny if they kept seeing each other. he was afraid if Voldemort used Ginny to get him. but I didn't angry with him because this just proved how much Harry loves Ginny and I am sure they will be together again. I hope so ...

Dumbledore's death

I admit that Dumbledore is not one of my top favorite characters in this series but I always found him funny and a bit weird, in a good way, of course. But his death left me in shock because he was actually pleading to Snape but Snape killed him with The Avada Kedavra curse and I thought Snape was on the good side. What will happen now after Dumbledore died?! He is the only one Voldemort is afraid of.
I have this feeling that I'll to lose my favorite characters again ...

thank you so much for reading and liking my review. hope you all have a great weekend, guys!
description
131 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince.
Sign In »

Quotes Reynita Liked

J.K. Rowling
“Dumbledore says people find it far easier to forgive others for being wrong than being right.”
J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince


Reading Progress

October 23, 2016 – Shelved
October 27, 2016 – Started Reading
October 29, 2016 –
page 163
30.07% "'Hang on,' said a voice close by Harry's left ear and he caught a sudden waft of flowery smell he had picked up in Slughorn's dungeon. He looked round and saw that Ginny had joined them.\n\nI KNOW WHAT THIS MEANS! IT MEANS HARRY STARTS LIKING GINNY! HINNY FOREVER!! ❤️❤️"
November 7, 2016 –
page 444
81.92% "* SPOILER* \n\nYAY!! FINALLY!! HARRY KISSED GINNY! I AM SO PROUD OF YOU, HARRY! HINNY FOREVER ❤️❤️"
November 12, 2016 – Shelved as: 2016-reads
November 12, 2016 – Shelved as: amazing-books
November 12, 2016 – Shelved as: best-friends-to-lovers
November 12, 2016 – Shelved as: breath-in-breath-out
November 12, 2016 – Shelved as: broke-my-heart-in-half
November 12, 2016 – Shelved as: i-love-the-cover
November 12, 2016 – Shelved as: fantasy-books
November 12, 2016 – Shelved as: heroines-i-can-relate-to
November 12, 2016 – Shelved as: i-want-to-live-in-this-world
November 12, 2016 – Shelved as: original-and-fresh-story
November 12, 2016 – Shelved as: so-funny-lol
November 12, 2016 – Shelved as: middle-grade
November 12, 2016 – Shelved as: i-cried-over-you
November 14, 2016 – Finished Reading
January 14, 2017 – Shelved as: my-book-bestfriends
January 14, 2017 – Shelved as: live-up-my-expectation
September 14, 2017 – Shelved as: stole-my-heart
September 14, 2017 – Shelved as: warm-my-heart
September 14, 2017 – Shelved as: all-time-favorite-books

Comments Showing 1-22 of 22 (22 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Reynita Maharani ★ The Night Reader ★ @ Maddie
Thank you, Maddie! ❤️


Daily Daydreamer Happy Reading!!!!........ but be prepared!


Reynita Maharani ★ The Night Reader ★ @ Daily
Thank you! Yup, I'm gonna prepare myself to face a lot of pain in this book. I already shed tears while reading the 5th book. Maybe I'll shed so much more tears in this book. T^T


Reynita Maharani ★ The Night Reader ★ Thank you, Maddie!! Hope you also have happy day, Maddie! ❤️❤️


Kirti I remember giving Order of the Phoenix to my friend - she cried the whole day when Sirius Black died. My mom spoiled Dumbledore's death for me and my sister, unfortunately. But, what I liked about this book is that JKR actually managed to put in a lot of information even with the fluffy parts. Great review by the way - wait till the final book hits you! ;)


P This book is sad !


Reynita Maharani ★ The Night Reader ★ @ Kirti
I totally understand why your friend cried a whole day when Sirius died because he was one of my top favorite characters and it always breaks my heart whenever I think how many characters will I lose on the last book ;_;
Thank you very much!!


Reynita Maharani ★ The Night Reader ★ @ P
Very very sad. Especially the scene where Dumbledore died T^T


message 9: by Zain (new) - added it

Zain Otoom I watched the movies first, and when Dumbledore died I was shocked! Like, no he's one of characters that the author can't kill! I was in denial until the very end to the movie ;-;


Reynita Maharani ★ The Night Reader ★ @ Zain
Yeah me too! I still couldn't believe it till the last page of this book. I mean, what will happen now?!? He is the only one Voldemort is afraid of! I have this weird feeling that I will lose so many favorite characters in this book T^T
I need to be strong...


message 11: by Zero (new)

Zero Well,
I think Dumbledore death made the book more twisted
Rowling don't write books people can predict
No one saw that tragedy coming
and to me, that's part of the things that makes a good writer

Don't write a book your readers can predict
Keep them in suspense
Make them say "What!!!"

:)


message 12: by Zain (new) - added it

Zain Otoom Yeah we know that that's an important factor. But for all four books/movies it was all rainbows and sunshine and then boom! Dumbledore dies! It was a huge shock T_T


Reynita Maharani ★ The Night Reader ★ @ Peter
Yeah I totally agree with you, Peter but sometimes I just can't accept the death of my favorite character ;_;


Reynita Maharani ★ The Night Reader ★ @ Zain
Totally agree with you, Zain! But in my opinion the first three of the books were all sunshine and cute and funny but the remaining books were darker and now I'm currently reading the last book and it was only the first chapter but my heart already pounded so hard.


message 15: by Zain (new) - added it

Zain Otoom Oh! I have only read the first book! So I wouldn't know about the fourth, the movie wasn't that dark until Voldemort came along. My friend just recently finished Goblet of Fire, she said it's nothing like the movie. Especially that "said calmly" part XD
The last two movies were bittersweet, I hope the books are the same!
Hope you enjoy!! :D


Reynita Maharani ★ The Night Reader ★ I actually have watched the movies before reading the books but I watched them when I was like 12 years old so I don't really remember about HP. But me and my friends discussed HP few days ago and I realized that the movies are quite different from the books.


✨    jamieson   ✨ I actually love Fleur so much. I was a bit whatever about her when she was introduced but her role in book 6 and ESPECIALLY book 7... I just love her alot.
Love this review! It's so interesting reading the perspectives on people reading Harry Potter for the first time!!


Reynita Maharani ★ The Night Reader ★ @ Jamieson
Actually, I don't hate her anymore but I don't like her very much too. She is just okay. But maybe my mind will be changed after I finish reading the 7th book. Who knows? :D
Thank you very much, Jamieson!! ^^


Reynita Maharani ★ The Night Reader ★ @ Maddie
Thanks a lot, Maddie!! Hope you also have an amazing Saturday. ❤️❤️


mrbooks I loved your review of this book. I also am a Harry Potter fan and have read all the books at least 7 times. This is one of the hardest books to read but also one of the best. Do you remember what Fleur said to Mrs. Wesley when bill was in the hospital ward. "What do you mean he was going to be married, do you think he won't love me because he is injured, I am beautiful enough for both of us." Not quite a literal quote but close enough. Ron and Hermione, Ron was jumped on by lavender but didn't refuse the kiss but I think he regretted it later on. Part of it was to show Ginny that he was desirable, because she laughed in his face about not snogging anyone. But you were right he was feeling jealous about Victor and wanted to rub Hermione face in it a bit and make her jealous. Harry and Ginny, From the end of book 2 I could see they would end up together, it was just a matter of time. I was jealous of Harry as I always liked Ginny. I am a man who loves redheads, women that is LOL. Dumbledore he is as enigmatic as ever in this book only telling Harry and everyone else only what they needed to know. But his death was a shock. You have an excellent grasp of this book and look forward to reading more of your reviews.

I don't as a rule do reviews, there is a reason. I find it hard to not put a spoiler or two in my reviews and don't want to spoil the book for those that might read the review.


Reynita Maharani ★ The Night Reader ★ @ Mrbooks
I don't know whether I'm a Harry Potter fan or not. I haven't reread this series but I got into several fights with my friends because they mocked Harry Potter without even reading the series. I really hate it when my friends mock or judge Harry Potter when they even haven't read the series.
Yes, I do remember what Fleur said to Mrs. Weasley and I used to hate her but after Fleur said that, I thought she must loved Bill. So she changed my mind and I don't hate her anymore and Ron was really hurt my heart when he kissed Lavender, but it doesn't matter anymore. Hermione and Ron are married at the end. To be honest, Dumbledore was the least of my favorite character in this series but I cried when he died because that death was too shocking. I didn't expect it would come that sooner and thankfully, I didn't remember much about HP when I read it for the first time because years ago when I was a kid, I watched the movies and thank you so much for your compliment about my review. I really appreciate it :)


Fidel Jezrel Gido I dont like Ron in this book because he used Lavender to make Hermoine jealous. Love should not be played like this. I felt pitty for Lavender who is so inloved with Ron. And the Ron just dumped her. No! It cant be. Thats too harsh. The pain the Lavender has been experiencing cannot be paid with monetary value. This the most horrible thing happened on this book.


back to top