Lisa Kay's Reviews > Rainshadow Road

Rainshadow Road by Lisa Kleypas
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
2459470
Edited March 4, 2012 to include my review of the audiobook, narrated by Tanya Eby. See below the ❀✿❀✿❀✿❀✿❀✿❀✿. I also wanted to add our RLfoCI “buddy read” tee-shirt montage worn by Sam and Lucy, The Scream, and a picture of the Afterglow Mausoleum (all below).

Friday Harbor, Washington
Lime Kiln Lighthouse
(Credit: Laura Boulton)
    Ferry leaving Friday Harbor
descriptiondescription
  vineyard in area	Orca’s blow-front of lighthouse
descriptiondescription

More wonderful pictures @ FACEBOOK: Friday Harbor

★★★★★ I have a friend who received an ARE of the amazing Ms. Kleypas’ second in the Friday Harbor series, and was kind enough to lend it to me. I loved it! Gobbled it down in hours, to the detriment of my sleep. It has some sad parts, though. Ms. Kleypas can make you feel her protagonists’ ache of love – whether it is the beginning, the end, or the disillusionment in between.

Ms. Kleypas is branching into “magical realism” – and I love it. It doesn't overwhelm the book, but makes a few appearances at critical times. And it all takes place in the lovely, enchanting setting of Friday Harbor, Washington. Can't wait for the next in the series!

❀✿❀✿❀✿❀✿❀✿❀✿❀✿❀✿❀✿❀✿❀✿❀✿❀✿❀✿❀✿❀✿

Update March 4, 2012 on audiobook.

I recently did a “buddy read” of this book; as it was my second “reading” of it, I decided to listen to the audiobook, and I’m glad I did. It is well narrated by Tanya Eby (though she does **gasp** lisp the author’s name!). Still, I thought she elevated Lucy, the heroine, from what Megan, in her insightful review, wonderfully described it as having a “palpable sorrow, and quiet dignity.” In the audio, Ms. Eby made Lucy sound lighter and brighter, especially in the second half of the book, than I felt about her my first read-through.


Edvard Munch’s “The Scream” - (view spoiler)

description




TEE-SHIRT MONTAGE

Chapter 7

Lucy: (view spoiler)

Chapter 12

Sam: (view spoiler)

Chapter 14

Sam: (view spoiler)

Lucy: (view spoiler)




Afterglow Mausoleum, Friday Harbor
[image error]


Christmas Eve at Friday Harbor (Friday Harbor, #1) by Lisa Kleypas Rainshadow Road (Friday Harbor, #2) by Lisa Kleypas Dream Lake (Friday Harbor, #3) by Lisa Kleypas Crystal Cove (Friday Harbor, #4) by Lisa Kleypas
62 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Rainshadow Road.
Sign In »

Quotes Lisa Kay Liked

Lisa Kleypas
“Kiss me,” she said urgently.

Sam’s eyes flickered with mild surprise. “Right now?”

“Yes.”

“What kind of kiss?”

“What do you mean, what kind of kiss? Just a regular kiss.”

“A friendly kiss, or a romantic kiss? Are we supposed to be going out together, or—“

“Oh, for heaven’s sake,” she exclaimed, and pulled his head down to hers.”
Lisa Kleypas, Rainshadow Road


Reading Progress

05/08/2016 marked as: read

Comments (showing 1-38 of 38) (38 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Lady Jayne *~*The Beach Bandida*~* (last edited Jan 27, 2012 05:11PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

 Lady Jayne *~*The Beach Bandida*~* I'm so jealous!!! Lucky you! Love the pictures and review, Lisa Kay, and happy to see you loved this! I love magical realism and you know how much I LOVE Lisa Kleypas' work - I can't wait!!! *bounces*


Vicki Oh I can't wait to read this one, love the review, Lisa Kay! :)


♡Karlyn P♡ If I didn't like you Lisa I'd have to hate you out of pure JEALOUSY!!!! (Great review, btw)

[image error]


KatLynne Ditto what KarLyn said!...Lisa Kay I loved these pics! I want to live there:-)


Lisa Kay It was really wonderful, everyone! I didn't know how Kleypas was going to handle the sister issue, but it worked. I was more worried about that than the “magical realism”.

I understand your jealousy, ladies, as I was jealous myself when others got the book and I didn't. I really do want to re-read it, like right now! I think I'll get more out of it the second time, because I read it too, too fast.


message 6: by ♡Karlyn P♡ (last edited Jan 27, 2012 08:53PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

♡Karlyn P♡ Lucky you. I read a lot, look forward to many, but i only count down the days to a few. This is one of thosebooks where i am counting the days! I didnt realise she was adding in some mystic elements until i read her interview at SBTB. it will make me nervous, but not enough to skip it. Kleypas is a must read author for me. I look forward to chatting about it soon.


Lisa Kay Yeah, KarLynP, I don't have many books on my "counting-the-days" bookshelf; however, this was one! Love Kleypas!


Sha Mslvoe ♥♥♥ wow!!! beautiful! Great review Lisa!


Lisa Kay Thanks, Nisha!


message 10: by Jill (new) - rated it 4 stars

Jill Wonderful review Lisa Kay. LOVE the pics. Didn't quite love this one as much as you though.


Lisa Kay I'm reading it again right now for a "buddy read" and I must say, I'm liking it even better the second time around.


message 12: by Jill (new) - rated it 4 stars

Jill Hmmm, so a 6-star read this time around?? lol!
But surely FH can't be compared to the Travis Series??


Lisa Kay Yes, a 6★ read, Jill! No, but then I haven't read it as many times as I have the Travises. ☺ Ms. Kleypas is definitely trying something new here. She is getting into a new genre and I think a fair number of her fans won’t like it.


message 14: by Jill (last edited Feb 28, 2012 05:26PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Jill Lisa Kay wrote: "Yes, a 6★ read, Jill! No, but then I haven't read it as many times as I have the Travises. ☺ Ms. Kleypas is definitely trying something new here. She is getting into a new genre and I think a f..."

Any idea (since you *are* one of Lisa's divas) why this new type of writing??
Afterall, it's not like she needed to try and do something different.
And this series is way less on the heat factor as well.
Any ideas on that??


Ally72 Lovely review, Lisa Kay! I will read anything she writes and I can't wait to start this book!


message 16: by Lisa Kay (last edited Feb 29, 2012 01:01AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Lisa Kay Jill, I don’t know, but I plan on watching her live video chat* to find out more. Personally, I think she is just growing as a writer, stretching her wings, so to speak. She has come a long way over the decades. It has been neat to see her develop into the blockbuster she is.

*“Live Lisa Kleypas Video Chat” on March 6, 2012 11:00AM - sorry, don't know if that is PST or what. To see Patrick's invite, click here & RSVP to get a reminder.


Lisa Kay Thanks, Ally! I'm the same way; I'll read anything she writes. ☺


message 18: by Jill (new) - rated it 4 stars

Jill Lisa Kay wrote: "Jill, I don’t know, but I plan on watching her live video chat* to find out more. Personally, I think she is just growing as a writer, stretching her wings, so to speak. She has come a long way o..."

Lisa Kay, I agree she certainly has grown as a writer. Have you ever read her early couple of books? You'd never credit she'd turn into the writer she is today.

Love to hear if you find out anything about her writing. That would be great.


message 19: by Lisa Kay (last edited Mar 04, 2012 07:15AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Lisa Kay Hey, all! I listened to the audiobook and updated my review after a "buddy read". You've got to look at the tee-shirt montage, but only if you've read the book! ☺


message 20: by Jill (last edited Mar 04, 2012 10:24AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Jill Fantastic T-shirt images Lisa Kay!


Lisa Kay Thanks, Jill! ☺


Autumn  awesome review and pictures,Lisa!! ;) xxx


♡Karlyn P♡ Thanks for adding the bit about audio! I listen to books a lot, and you are so right that a good reader can enhance the story and characters. I read this one, but might get the audio one day soon for a re-read.


Lisa Kay Autumn wrote: "awesome review and pictures,Lisa!! ;) xxx"

Thanks, Autumn! Hey, I found a gif for you! (view spoiler)


Lisa Kay You're welcome, KarLynP! I was glad I splurged and got it. I know I'll listen to it more than once.


Regina GORGEOUS pictures.


Lisa Kay Thanks, Regina!


Carol *Young at Heart Oldie* Loved your review, Lisa Kaye! I started reading RR yesterday and had to stay up last night until I'd finished it! Loved the book, 'magical realism' and all! Love your T- shirt pictures!


Autumn  Lisa Kay wrote: "Autumn wrote: "awesome review and pictures,Lisa!! ;) xxx"

Thanks, Autumn! Hey, I found a gif for you! [spoilers removed]"


awwww!!!!!! You are simply the greatest!!!! :) xoxoxoxo


Lisa Kay Thanks, Carol. So glad you enjoyed this book. ☺


Lisa Kay You're pretty neat yourself, Autumn! Wink Pictures, Images and Photos


message 32: by Dawn (new) - rated it 4 stars

Dawn Oh these pictures are fantastic!


Sashana I am able to appreciate the pictures so much more now that I have read the book. Good job, LK!


Lisa Kay Thanks, Dandy & Sashana!!


Blacky *Romance Addict* Lovely review Lisa Kay :)


Lisa Kay Thanks, Blacky!


message 37: by M.K. (new)

M.K. Thanks, Lisa Kay for the review. I've only read her historicals. Would you say this series edges more into that nebulous land of women's fiction (plus magic realism)?


Lisa Kay Thanks, Moira. Yes, definitely.


back to top