K.'s Reviews > Little Women

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5663034
Look, I'm going to be brutally honest here: I read this when I was about 10 and I quite enjoyed it. But reading it at the age of 33? OH MY GOD, THIS WAS THE MOST SACCHARINE SWEET, INTOLERABLE TWADDLE I'VE EVER HAD THE MISFORTUNE OF READING.

All four of the girls are so ridiculously perfect that even when they make the tiny little mistakes that are painted as monumental fuck ups in the book, they're instantly fixed with a sweet smile or a sermon from their mother about women needing to control their anger, or remembering how NICE it is to be poor.

As the girls get older, they become slightly less insufferable but I gave zero fucks about any of their romantic relationships and I just wanted (view spoiler).

So. This is really a one star book that gets an extra star because Jo was actually a half way decent character most of the time and up until a certain point in the story, I had a very nice asexual Jo March headcanon going on.
48 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Little Women.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

October 18, 2016 – Started Reading
October 18, 2016 – Shelved
October 18, 2016 –
page 23
4.56% "They're all so good and pure and perfect, I honestly don't know if I can take 480 more pages of this..."
October 19, 2016 –
page 34
6.75%
October 20, 2016 –
page 46
9.13%
October 21, 2016 –
page 58
11.51%
October 22, 2016 –
page 72
14.29%
October 23, 2016 –
page 83
16.47%
October 24, 2016 –
page 99
19.64% "Eating entire spoonfuls of sugar would be less sickly sweet than this. Oof."
October 25, 2016 –
page 119
23.61% "I honestly don't know if I can stand reading this insipid book much longer."
October 26, 2016 –
page 138
27.38%
October 27, 2016 –
page 157
31.15%
October 28, 2016 –
page 175
34.72%
October 29, 2016 –
page 191
37.9%
October 30, 2016 –
page 206
40.87%
October 31, 2016 –
page 225
44.64% "Uuuuugh. Will the insipidness never end?"
November 1, 2016 –
page 248
49.21%
November 2, 2016 –
page 255
50.6%
November 3, 2016 –
page 265
52.58%
November 4, 2016 –
page 287
56.94%
November 5, 2016 –
page 311
61.71%
November 6, 2016 –
page 321
63.69%
November 7, 2016 –
page 333
66.07% "I'm so booooooored..."
November 8, 2016 –
page 345
68.45%
November 9, 2016 –
page 360
71.43%
November 10, 2016 –
page 371
73.61%
November 11, 2016 –
page 388
76.98%
November 12, 2016 –
page 400
79.37%
November 13, 2016 –
page 414
82.14%
November 14, 2016 –
page 432
85.71% "Ugh. I AM SO CLOSE TO THE INSIPID TWADDLE BEING OVER."
November 15, 2016 –
page 456
90.48%
November 16, 2016 – Shelved as: 2016
November 16, 2016 – Shelved as: audience-children
November 16, 2016 – Shelved as: childhood-revisited
November 16, 2016 – Shelved as: classics
November 16, 2016 – Shelved as: classics-club
November 16, 2016 – Shelved as: library
November 16, 2016 – Shelved as: own-it-hard-copy
November 16, 2016 – Shelved as: setting-usa
November 16, 2016 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-7 of 7 (7 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Pamela (new)

Pamela D


April (Aprilius Maximus) Can't wait to hear your thoughts on this!


message 3: by K. (new) - rated it 2 stars

K. @April - at this point my thoughts are mostly "WHY DO PEOPLE LIKE THIS?????"


message 4: by Brujaxa (new)

Brujaxa This review make my day hahahaha


message 5: by R (new) - rated it 1 star

R K YES My thoughts exactly!


Gina Denny Goodreads is telling me that I rated it 3 stars, probably when I joined and probably out of "meh I can't remember it for good or for bad, so it couldn't have been either."


Rita Leite These are exactly my thoughts put into words


back to top