Kynthos-the-Archer (Kyn)'s Reviews > Branded

Branded by P.L. Nunn
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
9739117
's review
Oct 16, 2016

liked it
bookshelves: graphic-novel_comics, dominance-submission, erotica, physical-torture, animal-role-playing, humans-as-pets-or-livestock, bondage_use-of-restrains, dubcon_noncon, dark-fics-or-story, dmc, gay_mm, sadism-masochism, anal-sex, kakimai, not-for-faint-heart, pony-play, b-_-d, dont-quite-like-it, in-library, pleasure-slaves_sexual-slave-pet, abuse, alpha-dominant-male, ass-play, breathplay, brutes-and-twinks, caged_coffin_boxed-up, captive-captivity-confinement, collaring_on-leash, corporal-punishments_whip-flog-cane, cover-love, dehumanization_objectification, depraved, disturbing, dungeon, emotional-distress, fingering, gangbang_gang-rape, genitalia-torture, hate-crime, humiliation-or-degradation, injury_bodily-harm, interracial, male-protag, manhandling_physical-domineering, maledom, morbidity_cringe-athon, oral-sex, orgy_sex-party, pet-like-character, piercings, prisoner, profound-physical-size-difference, public-sex, rape, rape-with-inanimate-object, reluctant-forced, restricted-freedom, resentful-indignant-irate, rough-sex, sense-of-hopelessness-despair, serialization, series_in-progress, sex-toys, sexual-torture, shibari-japanese-rope-bondage, slave-pet-market, slave-sub-pet-training, sounding_stuffing_fisting, traumatic-traumatized, twink_small-size-character, tyrant-dominant-male, unwilling-slave-pet-sub-partner, violence, virgin-bottom, virgins, weak-defenseless-protagonist, young-man_youth
Recommended for: Uhmm.. this is absolutely NOT FOR THE FAINT-HEARTED


Holly shit! This is super fucked up. I didn't like it once he was taken by that crazy Judge. Also didn't like what happened at that depraved fair. O﹏o

I guess Book 2 is way too dark and insane for me. I only enjoyed the part where the poor guy is still a ponyboy and being trained hard by his rough handlers.

After finishing the book, I wish for him a fast death. The poor thing. How could anyone survive that kind of insanity? I am fully disturbed by that last scene.


But I can't blame anyone as I have been well warned. The author did state in full caps on the blurb that this book is HARDCORE NON-CON AND TORTURE-PORN. If you think Neko has it bad. Think again.

Now I am pretty torn on whether I should get Book 3 when it's available for sale. But I can't exactly say no since I am dying to know if there's any hope for the young man at the end. Actually I had thought that Book 2 is the finale since it was started so on the blurb of Book 1. Seems like this isn't the case at all. I do hope Book 3 would wrap everything up. I need a good closure for that tortured soul.


Yes, I am very smitten by this book cover. (˘‿˘ʃƪ)


BOOK DETAILS:
Title: Branded 2 (Branded #2)
Author: P.L. Nunn
Publication Date: Unknown
Publisher: Self-Pub
Type: Short Graphic Novel (31 pages - Color and Black and White)
Genre: Gay Graphic Novel Erotica, Hardcore Ponyplay
Tags/Keywords: (view spoiler)

Description:
The second book of the Branded series.

Things get darker for our unfortunate young cowhand, when he is taken to the yearly gathering, where he discovers he is not the only drifter to be taken and turned into a plaything for the men of this strange western community. As if that were bad enough, the Judge, the leader of this sadistic little cult, has decided to claim him.

HARD CORE NON-CON AND TORTURE-PORN.

This is not a book for the faint of heart, so be warned.


WHERE TO PURCHASE:
★|| PL Nunn's Bishonen Works ||★



* Reviewed on October 17th, 2016

*:--☆--:*:--☆:*:--☆--:*:--☆--:*:--☆--:*:--☆:*


Previous comment:
(view spoiler)
15 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Branded.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

October 16, 2016 – Shelved
October 16, 2016 – Shelved as: graphic-novel_comics
October 16, 2016 – Shelved as: dominance-submission
October 16, 2016 – Shelved as: erotica
October 16, 2016 – Shelved as: physical-torture
October 16, 2016 – Shelved as: animal-role-playing
October 16, 2016 – Shelved as: humans-as-pets-or-livestock
October 16, 2016 – Shelved as: bondage_use-of-restrains
October 16, 2016 – Shelved as: dubcon_noncon
October 16, 2016 – Shelved as: dark-fics-or-story
October 16, 2016 – Shelved as: dmc
October 16, 2016 – Shelved as: gay_mm
October 16, 2016 – Shelved as: sadism-masochism
October 16, 2016 – Shelved as: anal-sex
October 16, 2016 – Shelved as: kakimai
October 16, 2016 – Shelved as: not-for-faint-heart
October 16, 2016 – Shelved as: pony-play
October 17, 2016 – Started Reading
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: b-_-d
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: dont-quite-like-it
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: in-library
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: pleasure-slaves_sexual-slave-pet
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: abuse
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: alpha-dominant-male
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: ass-play
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: breathplay
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: brutes-and-twinks
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: caged_coffin_boxed-up
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: captive-captivity-confinement
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: collaring_on-leash
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: corporal-punishments_whip-flog-cane
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: cover-love
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: dehumanization_objectification
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: depraved
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: disturbing
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: dungeon
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: emotional-distress
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: fingering
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: gangbang_gang-rape
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: genitalia-torture
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: hate-crime
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: humiliation-or-degradation
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: injury_bodily-harm
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: interracial
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: male-protag
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: manhandling_physical-domineering
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: maledom
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: morbidity_cringe-athon
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: oral-sex
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: orgy_sex-party
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: pet-like-character
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: piercings
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: prisoner
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: profound-physical-size-difference
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: public-sex
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: rape
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: rape-with-inanimate-object
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: reluctant-forced
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: restricted-freedom
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: resentful-indignant-irate
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: rough-sex
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: sense-of-hopelessness-despair
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: serialization
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: series_in-progress
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: sex-toys
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: sexual-torture
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: shibari-japanese-rope-bondage
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: slave-pet-market
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: slave-sub-pet-training
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: sounding_stuffing_fisting
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: traumatic-traumatized
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: twink_small-size-character
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: tyrant-dominant-male
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: unwilling-slave-pet-sub-partner
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: violence
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: virgin-bottom
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: virgins
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: weak-defenseless-protagonist
October 17, 2016 – Shelved as: young-man_youth
October 17, 2016 – Finished Reading

Comments (showing 1-42 of 42) (42 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

M'rella It's OOUUUTTTT!!!! THanks! :D


Kynthos-the-Archer (Kyn) And I got my hands on it. Going to read it today. I am so excited. Hehehe


M'rella I read it!!! IT's sooooo good! I got Warren #6 and #7, too =9`

However, I rushed with my rating, there is a bit in the very end that grossed me out :/ Strangely enough, I am not too sensitive where it comes to manimal sex anymore O.o

Have fun! :D


Kynthos-the-Archer (Kyn) Gosh! you're a fast one. Glad you loved it. I am pretty sure I would too.

So envious that you got Warren #6 & 7 too. I nearly purchased some of it but had cold feet because it's too expensive for me right now. My currency is damn weak against USD now. You know I had to pay RM43 for Branded 2? *pain*

Actually manimal is really not my cup of tea but the noncon pony play is just too delicious. ლ(´ڡ`ლ)


message 5: by Elena (new)

Elena Kyn, you're scaring me! :( I thought Neko WAS hardcore. Would I even like Branded 1 and especially 2? I haven't bought them yet cuz for me too they're very expensive... :(


message 6: by Kynthos-the-Archer (Kyn) (last edited Oct 17, 2016 07:11AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Kynthos-the-Archer (Kyn) Elena wrote: "Kyn, you're scaring me! :( I thought Neko WAS hardcore. Would I even like Branded 1 and especially 2? I haven't bought them yet cuz for me too they're very expensive... :("

But the first part of this book is yummy. I just can't stomach the rest of it. I hate scat and not quite okay with manimal. Although the manimal here was minimal and I am feeling quite okay.

Book One is a treasure to me. I love it and would love it more if the manimal scene could be edited out. Book Two left me pretty disturbed.

P/S: I have yet to finish Neko. Will need to get back to it one fine day.


M'rella Manimal in book 2 takes just a couple of pages and is not even explicit, so it's cool. Anything more (like Neko) weirds me out. Knotting is not my thing either, but I can live with it.

The scat and the pigs disturbed me to no end, tho. Hate scat play too.

So, apart from the pig pages it was pretty awesome.


message 8: by Elena (new)

Elena There was quite a bit of manimal in Neko. I got through it but I can't say it didn't freak me out at the beginning. While I was re-reading I just left those bits out. If Branded is similar in content, I think I'll be able to trudge through it somehow... Right?


M'rella there is a sex scene with a horse in Branded 1.
in comparison, sex with a dog in Branded 2 is almost nothing.

But, comparing further with Neko, Branded 1 & 2 are actually pretty mild.


message 10: by Chelsea (new)

Chelsea Woah, too dark and intense for you? Never thought I'd see the day ;-)


Kynthos-the-Archer (Kyn) It's the scat thing that got under my skin. *cringes*
The manimal here can be ignored.

Book 2 feels borderline snuff material. *more cringing*

I don't think Neko has any shit eating literally. Now I feel like vomitting :&

All this discussion made me want to pick up Neko again. I got curioused. I had skimmed read Neko long time ago so can't recall everything about it.


M'rella To tell you the truth, I DNF-ed Neko just after the hunter showed up. The ending was rather obvious :/


Kynthos-the-Archer (Kyn) Mrella,

I couldn't forgot that tortured vacant look in that poor man's eyes in that last scene. Haunted by it. Very disturbing.

I might be highly kinky but I am quite a chicken at times.


message 14: by Kynthos-the-Archer (Kyn) (last edited Oct 17, 2016 09:15PM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Kynthos-the-Archer (Kyn) Elena wrote: "There was quite a bit of manimal in Neko. I got through it but I can't say it didn't freak me out at the beginning. While I was re-reading I just left those bits out. If Branded is similar in conte..."

You'll love Branded 1 if you could overlook that manimal part but not sure about book 2 for you.


message 15: by M'rella (last edited Oct 17, 2016 09:18PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

M'rella @Kynthos

What happened at the fair is pretty typical for PLNunn. I've seen nooses, torture porn and snuff in her earlier works, especially fanfics and doujinshi. Scat, tho? First time I see it.


message 16: by Chelsea (new)

Chelsea Ew scat :-/


message 17: by M'rella (last edited Oct 17, 2016 09:32PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

M'rella You know what made me upset about the ending?
Up to the very end the story was pretty realistic. Sure I wouldn't wish that treatment on anyone who's not willing, but at no point could you say it's a fantasy or an AU or ...whatevers. A bad dream maybe, but that was it.
The ending ruined that illusion. It doesn't even fit the book, imho. It yes, it's totally ewwww!

Still, I am going to pretend I didn't see it and leave my 5 star rating.


message 18: by Elena (new)

Elena I think I'd manage some manimal again. Scat, though? Not so sure about that... :(


Kynthos-the-Archer (Kyn) M'rella wrote: "To tell you the truth, I DNF-ed Neko just after the hunter showed up. The ending was rather obvious :/"

I really do need to get back to reading Neko again. No more skimming this round. Hehe


message 20: by Kynthos-the-Archer (Kyn) (last edited Oct 18, 2016 04:48AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Kynthos-the-Archer (Kyn) M'rella wrote: "@Kynthos

What happened at the fair is pretty typical for PLNunn. I've seen nooses, torture porn and snuff in her earlier works, especially fanfics and doujinshi. Scat, tho? First time I see it."


That's very true. Even Bloodraven has bit of snuff material in it. Like what happened to Yhalen when he was tied to a post outside the ogres tent with blood thirsty birds taking bits and pieces of him. The ogres tried to kill him. And that rape in the forest by the ogres. Yhalen died and lived over and over again.

So far I haven't read any of PL Nunn's doujinshi or fanfictions. Didn't realise it was just as hardcore.


message 21: by Chelsea (new)

Chelsea Argh those birds were nasty!


Kynthos-the-Archer (Kyn) M'rella wrote: "You know what made me upset about the ending?
Up to the very end the story was pretty realistic. Sure I wouldn't wish that treatment on anyone who's not willing, but at no point could you say it's..."


Feels the same here but maybe because it's 'visual' the shock grew several folds than when it is just written words. His dead eyes kept haunting me till now.

It would have been a 4 stars for me if not for that last scene and that shit-eating (view spoiler). *face palm*


Kynthos-the-Archer (Kyn) Chelsea wrote: "Ew scat :-/"

You cannot unseen what you have seen :&


Kynthos-the-Archer (Kyn) Elena wrote: "I think I'd manage some manimal again. Scat, though? Not so sure about that... :("

Then book 1 is safe for you. If you are going for Book 2 then you need to overlook that last part and try not to look at those vacant eyes.


message 25: by Elena (new)

Elena Ok, I'll try that. The truth is I have Bloodraven stacked on my computer for soooo long and I haven't read it yet. Maybe I should read it first and only then save some money to buy both parts of Branded? ;)


Kynthos-the-Archer (Kyn) Chelsea wrote: "Argh those birds were nasty!"

It's like being eaten alive.


Kynthos-the-Archer (Kyn) Elena wrote: "Ok, I'll try that. The truth is I have Bloodraven stacked on my computer for soooo long and I haven't read it yet. Maybe I should read it first and only then save some money to buy both parts of Br..."

I have the tendency to hog and let my books collect dust. So very guilty of that. But that's because I read according to my mood. Never really affected by hype or fad or on what's new and what's hot or popular.

Bloodraven is a MUST read. And perhaps you should also try Neko? Before reading Branded?


message 28: by Elena (new)

Elena But I already read Neko, long time ago!! That's why I said I can manage manimal if it's only bits and pieces... ;)


Kynthos-the-Archer (Kyn) Elena wrote: "But I already read Neko, long time ago!! That's why I said I can manage manimal if it's only bits and pieces... ;)"

Then you should do fine especially with Branded 1. I love the forced ponyplay to max!


M'rella Pony play was great, pony sex ... not so much, but at least it's on the "realistic" list; it was fashionable in Ancient Egypt to have sex with donkeys as far as I remember from my history lessons (yes, we had the coolest teacher! lol)

Bloodraven is very long and I had it in pdf and those are my excuses not reading it for years. But then I got a random 90% off at Kobo and was able to grab it in epub. Plus, it was a buddy read, which helped.

I have some of the douji's if you're interested. Some are more mellow than others and some I had to ...not copy and paste because I knew I would not be reading them again.


Marte - Thunderella Yeah... I don't think this is for me after seeing the (you) running away gif. LOL
Great convo in the comments, though! I like a book that initiate discussion. :)


M'rella well, some things are just wrong. even for the dark side.




Kynthos-the-Archer (Kyn) M'rella wrote: "Pony play was great, pony sex ... not so much, but at least it's on the "realistic" list; it was fashionable in Ancient Egypt to have sex with donkeys as far as I remember from my history lessons (..."

What? They really have sex with donkeys and it's an okay thing? Wow. That's an eye opener. Yup, you have a very cool teacher. :D

Bloodraven is a very engrossing read to me. The length didn't matter if I am engrossed with it. It would be an absolute pain if a book did not grab my attention enough and on top of it it is too lengthy.

I would die for those Bloodraven douji's. You are talking about Bloodraven right?


Kynthos-the-Archer (Kyn) Marte wrote: "Yeah... I don't think this is for me after seeing the (you) running away gif. LOL
Great convo in the comments, though! I like a book that initiate discussion. :)"


Lol. Well I got a good shock from that last horrifying scene. That gif is my reaction to that scene in particular. Not the entire book.

It's makes reading more fun if we get to exchange our thoughts about it. Likes or dislikes as well.


Kynthos-the-Archer (Kyn) M'rella wrote: "well, some things are just wrong. even for the dark side.

"


Omg! Lmao. That's a good one!


message 36: by M'rella (last edited Oct 19, 2016 10:57AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

M'rella Bloodraven was fine once I started reading. It's when you first pick a book and it's 1000+ pages on your tablet, you realize it's a very scary sight. No amount of birds and guts can compare to that first *gasp*

Ancient Egypt, yes, if I recall correctly :D They asked that teacher to leave eventually, she was putting all kinds of ideas in our heads. We were in the middle of learning about some ancient revolt when she made it very visual for us: "imagine all the poor, deprived people entering palaces and discovering luxury and comforts and money... and the power that comes with it. imagine a few decades passing. what changed?" And of course, the answer was - nothing, except for different faces, different bodies occupying same old spots, with their paws in the same old money, make doubly sure no poor would be able to take it from them. Parallels like frigging crazy! THAT was in Russia, 1970-ies. Yep, she was VERY cool that way.


Kynthos-the-Archer (Kyn) Totally understand that 1000+ pages initial shock. Lol.

I like that your history teacher is unconventional. Makes up for the dull subject. I don't that subject because where I am, they only focus on local histories. Boring as hell!


message 38: by Loederkoningin (new)

Loederkoningin Omg omg, this thread?!...I will just stick to rereading Bloodraven forevermore. :p


M'rella C'mon, Loe!! We have cookies! :D




Kynthos-the-Archer (Kyn)

I am going neutral over this. Haha


message 41: by Elena (new)

Elena Kynthos-the-Archer (Kyn) wrote: "

I am going neutral over this. Haha"


Kyn, have you seen that part 3 is already released??!! ;)


Kynthos-the-Archer (Kyn) Elena wrote: "Kynthos-the-Archer (Kyn) wrote: "

I am going neutral over this. Haha"

Kyn, have you seen that part 3 is already released??!! ;)"


Yeah, just got to know after I received your PM message just now. I am now adding it on GR for you gals.

I am scared but I had to know what follows after that horrendous event that poor man went through in Book 2. I am a freaking MOTH! Dang it!


back to top