Jan-Maat's Reviews > The Dark Is Rising Sequence

The Dark Is Rising Sequence by Susan Cooper
Rate this book
Clear rating

's review

bookshelves: 20th-century, british-isles, childrens-ya, fantasy, novel

A dstinctive feature of this series of five children's books is that there are two distinctive groups of view point characters. A "normal" family group of three siblings who are the lead characters in Under Sea and over Stone and in Greenwich, while a boy with magical powers is the lead in the remaining three novels The Dark is Rising, The Grey King and The Silver on the Tree.

Although Susan Cooper has been resident for some years now in the USA all five books are firmly rooted in Britain of the late 1960s and early 70s developing a strong sense of landscape - that of Cornwall in Under Sea and Over stone and Greenwitch, the Thames valley between Christmas and New Year in The Dark is rising, or Wales in The Grey King and The Silver on the Tree.

Increasingly the childrens' plunge into magic and mystery angles into Arthurian legend. Recommended for youngsters, it is the kind of series that can grow with the reader as the books become more complex, and have more magical, fantastical and mythological elements as they progress.
18 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Dark Is Rising Sequence.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

Finished Reading
June 20, 2011 – Shelved

No comments have been added yet.