Baba 's Reviews > Liberating Lacey

Liberating Lacey by Anne Calhoun
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4669232
ETA October 20, 2015: I still love this book but I downgraded it to 4 stars because I gave 5 stars to The Muse which is by far the better book.

5 stars.*****Fourth re-read June 2013. Review edited June 24, 2013

Photobucket

She watched unguarded emotion wash across his face as he sank into her. Wonder. Pleasure. Need. Anticipation. Love. Under it all, infusing every look, every action, every touch. Love.


Photobucket

YOWZA! Anne Calhoun rocks! When I was reading Liberating Lacey for the very first time, I remember that I was SO hooked after two or three Kindle pages. In the meantime, my love for this story hasn't changed. Not at all. I love Hunter to pieces, and I must say that I love Lacey too. She is a wonderful heroine.

Newly divorced and class act Lacey Meyers is looking for someone to take home. She had chosen Buff for her first outing to a nightclub because it was the "Best Place to Meet Someone New". She desperately needed to meet someone new and different. Boy, did she meet someone different.

To her surprise, he leaned toward her. "Like what you see?" he asked.
Oh, yeah, Babe in the woods and swimming with sharks was facing a gorgeous hot hunk with green eyes. And he was young. Younger by eight years, as a matter of fact.

It was simple to engage in conversation.

(…)"Someone who can show me what I've been missing for the last decade. I'm recently divorced and spent my marriage having sex in the missionary position once a week. I want to broaden my horizons."
He pulled back and looked at her, his green eyes slumberous. "What do you have against the missionary position? It's one of my favorites."
She frowned, refusing to get distracted by one of his favorites. "Oh? Why is that?"
It was his turn to lean in. Each warm breath riffled the hair at her temple and tantalizing heat radiated from his body. "Because there's nothing like the feel of a woman's body under mine, all tight and hot and wet as she slowly comes apart."
In fifteen years of marriage, not once had she ever "slowly come apart" under her husband.


Well, Lacey, welcome to Hookup Alley!

From the get-go it's not only about meaningless sex. Sure, they're drawn to each other because they have great chemistry and fabulous sex. But as the story unfolds, their feelings are growing into something more meaningful and intimate. After their sinfully hot erotic encounters, Lacey could wash away the sweat, the slickness between her thighs, the smell of sex. The physical pleasure would fade, however, she couldn't deny the increasing space Hunter occupied in her mind.

I loved Lacey. Capable. Strong. A class act. It's nice to see a heroine who is the opposite of bitchy. Lacey is quite flawless and for a filthy rich lady she was so "normal" and simple. Even though Lacey is eight years older, the humor and intelligence in her face captivated Hunter. She is very attractive, incredibly kind-hearted, generous and open-minded. On top of that, the mind-shattering sex is helping them to get along just fine.

Well, Hunter…super hottie Hunter who radiates presence from head to toes. Strong. Sexy. Self-confident. Protective. Unpretentious. He is pretty good at talking dirty--nothing OTT, though. Hunter believes that he doesn't belong there and he has to deal with trust issues. Classy Lacey seems to be quite out of his league. Was he ever wrong though.

 photo tumblr_lx9kjilA3F1r94sbdo1_500_zps7003bc99.gif

 photo tumblr_mbnuj99bRi1rrl2a0o1_500_zpsba8158a6.gif

Liberating Lacey is by far not a BDSM book (except of one very hot scene that included Hunter's handcuffs there are no toys at all, no spanking at all, not even anal sex). But. Hunter's presence is domineering in a very subtle way. He is leading Lacey. Also, Hunter is an excellent listener, and it's helping him to fulfill Lacey's fantasies. As a matter of fact, they are sharing their most eagerly anticipated fantasies. Loved Hunter's low, commanding voice. Overall, this subtle Dom/sub play works perfectly between these two.

He couldn't give her much she didn't have, but he could give her this, the space to explore how it felt to turn control over to someone else.

 photo tumblr_lynna4jL2s1qj73e2o1_500_zpsccf1f17d.gif

Hunter said some wonderful things and I adored the nickname beautiful.

"I like how you blush, beautiful."

The look in his eyes was sheer heat and promise. "I'll sacrifice a little skin to watch you come under me, beautiful."


Hunter had a nice conversation with his dad and he said something thoughtful to Hunter:

"She's older than me," he said as his dad dipped the last of his fries in ketchup.
His dad's eyebrows, the tips white with drywall dust, went up. "I figured as much. That's a problem?"
He shrugged. "She's thirty-six." The eight-year span wouldn't be shrinking.
"Last time I checked, women didn't come with expiration dates."


I loved the interaction between these two:

"What makes you think withholding sex wouldn't work on me?"
She shrugged, the blood heated by his stroking thumbs inching through her veins with each pulse of her heart. "You just don't seem like you'd take no for an answer."
His eyes widened ever so slightly. "Hey. No means no. Period. Being manipulated that way pisses me off, but I wouldn't--"
She cut him off. "Of course! That's not what I meant. I meant you're very, very persuasive and I doubt I'd resist for long if you set your mind to convincing me."
"Say no sometime. Let me persuade you."


Ultimately, the hookup led to something special, to love.

 photo tumblr_mn5vesy1Z31srvxgbo1_500_zps5323b277.gif

As the pounding in her ears receded she heard once again the patter of rain on the windows, the wind in the wet leaves. She added another moment to her list of unforgettable memories, the moment she realized she loved Hunter.

God, she was beautiful. He loved her. And he was fucked.


Lacey discovered so many firsts with Hunter, and I loved that she embraced her newfound sexuality. Here are my favorite scenes:

- Show me yours and I show you mine *playful, fun and sexy*
- Rain scene *beautiful and intense*
- Bathroom scene *fans self*
- Cuff me, Officer! *hot damn!!*

Highly recommended if you're looking for a sinfully hot read with a certain substance. This read is proof that an author can write an erotic book with style and class. There is absolutely no need for hard-core-porn-slutty sex and speech. Happy reading!

"The best things are never easy, Hunter."


 photo tumblr_mecfocqHfw1qkfnmbo1_500_zps6897fc6c.gif

"I'm not perfect for you, but you slept with me."
"I didn't want perfect. I wanted you. I want you. We're not a pair of well-matched horses, but we're real."
Fingers still gripping the granite counter, she looked up into his eyes as he towered over her.
"The heart wants what it wants. Mine wants you."
96 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Liberating Lacey.
Sign In »

Quotes Baba Liked

Anne Calhoun
“Last time I checked, women didn’t come with expiration dates.”
Anne Calhoun, Liberating Lacey

Anne Calhoun
“Because there’s nothing like the feel of a woman's body under mine, all tight and hot and wet as she slowly comes apart.”
Anne Calhoun, Liberating Lacey


Reading Progress

Started Reading
June 1, 2011 – Finished Reading
June 13, 2011 – Shelved
June 22, 2011 – Shelved as: erotica-or-erotic-romance
August 4, 2011 – Shelved as: anne-calhoun
November 18, 2011 – Shelved as: older-heroine-younger-hero
November 18, 2011 – Shelved as: best-sex-scenes
August 29, 2012 – Shelved as: books-kelly-and-baba-liked-or-loved
August 29, 2012 – Shelved as: spellbound
August 29, 2012 – Shelved as: bliss
June 21, 2013 –
0.0% " photo tumblr_miwduba9ZC1qgl5swo1_500_zps093acbd4.gif\n I'm in the mood for Hunter and Lacey. Doing another re-read. It will be fun and...hot!"
June 22, 2013 –
47.0% "And now this moment, in the dark interior of Hunter's car, strips of white light and the green dashboard lights bringing his angular cheekbones and full lips into relief. A certainty, sure but not entirely welcome, stole through her soul. She was falling for this honorable man who protected her image at the expense of his own. Falling, and falling hard, despite all common sense and advice to the contrary. <3 <3 <3"
June 23, 2013 –
100.0% " photo tumblr_m6ktnt2b2y1qaozevo1_500_zps84303bf4.gif\n God, she was beautiful. He loved her. And he was fucked. Yeah, I love that book! <3 <3 <3"
July 18, 2014 – Shelved as: dirty-talker
November 28, 2015 – Shelved as: memorable-favorite-heroes

Comments Showing 1-50 of 96 (96 new)


Baba  I'm rereading this book right now and there's only one comment to add here: SOOOO GOOD!!!!


Baba  UniquelyMoi *~*Dhestiny*~* wrote: "Great review!!!!"

Thanks, Dhes! You just have to love such an author. LOL


Karla Some books just never get old...they just get hotter!!


Baba  Karla wrote: "Some books just never get old...they just get hotter!!"

Oh, that's it, Karla! I couldn't agree more! LOL YUMMMMM!! ^__^


Michele ~ la Smoocherina My favorite book ever! I love the women don't come with expiration dates line, as well. I thought the D/s was so subtle, I missed it on the first go round. I've read this book so many times. I love it! It's the book I'm always trying to get everyone to read! Lol


Baba  EricJacobLover aka-Michele-Read Our Lips Book Blog wrote: "My favorite book ever! I love the women don't come with expiration dates line, as well. I thought the D/s was so subtle, I missed it on the first go round. I've read this book so many times. I ..."

LOL I love it how excited you are, Michele! And yes, I can read it over and over again, too! It just gets better! I can't wait to read her new stories. Darn, waiting is really hard! :))


Suzie Quint Nothing convinces me like fun snippets. This goes on my wishlist.


message 9: by Michele ~ la Smoocherina (last edited Mar 04, 2012 01:45PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Michele ~ la Smoocherina If her new books are full-lengths, I'm going to be over the moon!

PS-Great review
,


Baba  Suzie wrote: "Nothing convinces me like fun snippets. This goes on my wishlist."

That's a good call, Suzie! Enjoy!!!


Baba  EricJacobLover aka-Michele-Read Our Lips Book Blog wrote: "If her new books are full-lengths, I'm going to be over the moon!

PS-Great review
,"


Thanks, Michele! And yes, we'll be both over the moon!!


KindleRomance Reviews Great review! I loved this book:-)


Baba  Kris (KindleRomance) wrote: "Great review! I loved this book:-)"

Thanks, Kris! I can't get enough of Anne! LOL


JoJo - JJJ (Jo Anna) Janesko Awesome review. I guess it must be so good if you have read it three times. I will definitely move it up on my list.


Baba  JoJo - JJJ (Jo Anna) wrote: "Awesome review. I guess it must be so good if you have read it three times. I will definitely move it up on my list."

Thanks, Jo! I hope you'll be enjoying it too! :))


JoJo - JJJ (Jo Anna) Janesko I am finally reading it!!!!!


Baba  JoJo - JJJ (Jo Anna) wrote: "I am finally reading it!!!!!"

LOL I'm pleased to read it, Jo! I really hope it'll work for you. Keep me posted, please. :)


JoJo - JJJ (Jo Anna) Janesko I am about half way through. It is a really good story. Hunter is yummy.


Baba  JoJo - JJJ (Jo Anna) wrote: "I am about half way through. It is a really good story. Hunter is yummy."

I just saw your rating, Jo. I'm happy you liked it!


JoJo - JJJ (Jo Anna) Janesko Thanks lady I am as well. The story felt very real and the romance wasn't rushed. I liked it. Thought it was well done.


KindleRomance Reviews Great review! I said I was going to read it again, and you just reminded me why!


Suzie Quint I'd forgotten why this book was in my TBR pile, but now I remember and it's just shifted to the top. Thanks for the reminder.


Baba  @Kris & Suzie
Oooops, another notification that didn't the way to my inbox. I'm sorry I didn't reply earlier. Thanks for your comments!


Anne OK Fantastic and convincing review, Baba! I've had this on the radar but it just got moved up to "buy now - read now status!"


Crista Wow Baba! You need to know that your review of this book singlehandedly convinced me to read this book and now I credit you with ending the horrid book slump that I've been in! This book is freaking AMAZING! I will finish tonight and post a review tomorrow. Have I told you lately how thankful I am that we are friends:)


Michele ~ la Smoocherina Crista wrote: "Wow Baba! You need to know that your review of this book singlehandedly convinced me to read this book and now I credit you with ending the horrid book slump that I've been in! This book is freakin..."

Yay! Now you know why we all adore it. So glad you loved it!


Baba  AnneOK wrote: "Fantastic and convincing review, Baba! I've had this on the radar but it just got moved up to "buy now - read now status!""

Thanks, Anne! I just hope you're going to love it too. *fingers crossed and all*


Baba  Crista wrote: "Wow Baba! You need to know that your review of this book singlehandedly convinced me to read this book and now I credit you with ending the horrid book slump that I've been in! This book is freakin..."

YAY!!! I saw your rating! I am so glad you enjoyed it so much! I'll be on the lookout for your review.

Have I told you lately how thankful I am that we are friends:)
Thanks! I value our friendship. :-)


message 29: by Dd (new) - added it

Dd Wonderful review Baba!!:))


message 30: by Debra (new) - added it

Debra Wonderful review, Baba!! Will have to read this one very soon! :)


message 31: by Lisa (new)

Lisa Wow... Great review. I think I may just have to download this book right now and jump in!


Baba  Dd wrote: "Wonderful review Baba!!:))"

Thanks, D! Hope you'll enjoy it when you'll get to it eventually. :)


Baba  Soraya wrote: "I suddenly see this book everywhere...I am missing out on some serious hotness here ;-(! Need to read this asap LOL! Love your review!"

Thank you, Soraya! Let me tell you something really important...you are missing out on some serious HOTNESS. YUM!


Baba  Debra wrote: "Wonderful review, Baba!! Will have to read this one very soon! :)"

Thanks, Debra! Enjoy the ride (pun intended)!


Jamie This book was extreamly HOT and really good story to go with it..


Baba  Lisa wrote: "Wow... Great review. I think I may just have to download this book right now and jump in!"

Thanks, Lisa! Yep, I'd say give it a go and then...hmmm...maybe you'll need a cold shower. Enjoy! :DDD


Michele ~ la Smoocherina Bk70lvr wrote: "Say no sometime. Let me persuade you... SWOON!!"

Oh yeah! The bathroom in the restaurant! The Dominance and submission in this book is beautifully subtle.


Baba  Jamie wrote: "This book was extreamly HOT and really good story to go with it.."

Yep, so true, Jamie!


Baba  Bk70lvr wrote: "Say no sometime. Let me persuade you... SWOON!!"

Sublime. :DDD


Jamie AWESOME review Baba!!!!


Baba  Jamie wrote: "AWESOME review Baba!!!!"

Thanks, Jamie! :)


message 42: by Kristen (new) - added it

Kristen Huh. I guess you read this novella before we became friends. I've made no comments or even "liked" your review. I think I joined GR in May or June 2011, so I guess that makes sense. Lol.


Baba  Kristen wrote: "Huh. I guess you read this novella before we became friends. I've made no comments or even "liked" your review. I think I joined GR in May or June 2011, so I guess that makes sense. Lol."

Lol No worries, Kristen. BTW, this is not a novella. :)


message 44: by Pam (new) - rated it 5 stars

Pam All this talk about Liberating Lacey makes me want to re-read it all over again! Great review Baba!


Baba  Pam wrote: "All this talk about Liberating Lacey makes me want to re-read it all over again! Great review Baba!"

Lol Thanks, Pam! Darn, I want to read it again and again! :D


message 46: by Kristie (new) - added it

Kristie Amazon keeps suggesting this book to me and I've kept ignoring it. That will show me! Sounds like I'll need to read it soon. Great review Baba.


message 47: by Jenny (new) - added it

Jenny Levine Great review, Baba! Now, I'm dying to read this one! :)


message 48: by • Lisa • (new)

• Lisa • great review, might give it a whirl :-)


message 49: by Paula (new)

Paula I really want to read this one. Great review Baba!


Baba  Kristie wrote: "Amazon keeps suggesting this book to me and I've kept ignoring it. That will show me! Sounds like I'll need to read it soon. Great review Baba."

Thanks, Kristie. Yes, read it coz it's a hot and great book! Enjoy!


« previous 1
back to top