Petrik's Reviews > The Way of Kings

The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
59458347
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: favorites, owned-physical-books, masterpieces
Recommended for: epic/high fantasy fans
Read 2 times. Last read November 11, 2017 to November 16, 2017.

Buddy reading this epic book with these lighteyes:
Brightness Celeste
Brightness Aria

Incredible, impressive or fantastic, all these words are an understatement to the quality this book holds. The Way of Kings is the beginning of a masterpiece series in epic fantasy. It is now my life goal and a new addition to my bucket list to obtain and read the entire series of The Stormlight Archive, which will probably take at least another 20 years from now to complete.

Before you started reading this book, let me do you a favor. Go outside your home, look at the sky, the stars, clouds, the moon or if you’re brave enough, the sun. Done? Good, raise your expectation of this series that high. My expectation for this book was probably higher than that and it still managed to blow me away. I’m pretty sure the title The Way of Kings is a hidden message by Sanderson for his reader, telling us that this is his first step in his way of becoming one of the kings in the genre.

Obviously, I can’t tell you anything about the story but I’ll tell you this, The Way of Kings is the beginning of tales that will remain inside your mind palace. It’s a heavily character driven book filled with tales of life & death, love & hate, bravery & cowardice, hope & despair, trust & betrayal, faith & atheism. Basically, all elements required for a great story are here, told from multiple POV.



Even though there’s multiple marvelous POV to be found here, each book in the series will focus more specifically on one main character's past; in The Way of Kings, we get to see Kaladin's.



We get to see all his thoughts, life from the past to present, feelings and motivation behind his actions from this book. I’m not saying this lightly but Kaladin has become one of the most well-written characters out of all books I’ve ever read, and definitely one of my favorite of all time out of all medium. Trust me, I’ve seen plenty of fantastic fictional characters throughout my whole life. 22 years of gaming, hundreds of manga read, hundreds of anime watched and Kaladin Stormblessed is definitely one of the best out there.

The Way of Kings can be considered a book porn for a lover of world building. Sanderson proved himself once again to be the master of creating worlds out of words.The world, Roshar, are written with intricate description of every single thing in the world; ranging from weather, creatures, history, mythology, magic system, races, culture and even the fucking grass; making this world truly believable. Combined with brilliant, simple and fluid writings plus several detailed maps and beautiful illustrations, the images formed in your head while reading every scene will be so vivid as if you’re really there in Roshar, joining on the adventure with each character.

The real actions only happened around three times in the book: prologue, somewhere in the middle and the climax. However, while in total there’s only a total of around 150 pages of actions, the impact of the 60 pages climax sequence of this book was very rewarding. Intense battle sequences, gigantic swords, magic armors & wonderful magic system revival occurred in the climax. It was deeply satisfying as everything in the book built up towards that moment. I’ll admit, I legit almost cried during this section, even though it was predictable, it was done exceptionally.

Some may find this book to be really intimidating to start because of the size it has. However, I find that the only con I have for this book is that it’s not long enough. 1004 pages long, filled with 380k words (bigger than the Hunger Games trilogy combined) and by the end of the book, I found that it’s still wasn't enough for me.

I’m closing this review with the ancient oath:

“Life before death, strength before weakness, journey before destination.”


I hope my review can do justice to the quality this book holds. It’s really a blessing to have lived and read this book, to have the strength to read and to join in this epic journey of a lifetime together with every reader of the series. If you’re really a fan of the epic fantasy genre, you really can’t go wrong with starting this series. This is the beginning of epic fantasy at its best. Sanderson has created an epic world and journey for us to dive into and all we have to do to experience it is really simple, read the book and let this story lives inside you.

“A story doesn't live until it is imagined in someone's mind.” –Hoid


You can order the book from: Book Depository (Free shipping)

You can find this and the rest of my reviews at Novel Notions
438 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Way of Kings.
Sign In »

Quotes Petrik Liked

Brandon Sanderson
“And so, does the destination matter? Or is it the path we take? I declare that no accomplishment has substance nearly as great as the road used to achieve it. We are not creatures of destinations. It is the journey that shapes us. Our callused feet, our backs strong from carrying the weight of our travels, our eyes open with the fresh delight of experiences lived.”
Brandon Sanderson, The Way of Kings

Brandon Sanderson
“Life before Death.
Strength before Weakness.
Journey before Destination.”
Brandon Sanderson, The Way of Kings

Brandon Sanderson
“We follow the codes not because they bring gain, but because we loathe the people we would otherwise become.”
Brandon Sanderson, The Way of Kings

Brandon Sanderson
“The purpose of a storyteller is not to tell you how to think, but to give you questions to think upon.”
Brandon Sanderson, The Way of Kings

Brandon Sanderson
“In the end, all men die. How you lived will be far more important to the Almighty than what you accomplished.”
Brandon Sanderson, The Way of Kings

Brandon Sanderson
“Sometimes the prize is not worth the costs. The means by which we achieve victory are as important as the victory itself.”
Brandon Sanderson, The Way of Kings

Brandon Sanderson
“To lack feeling is to be dead, but to act on every feeling is to be a child.”
Brandon Sanderson, The Way of Kings

Brandon Sanderson
“Expectations were like fine pottery. The harder you held them, the more likely they were to crack.”
Brandon Sanderson, The Way of Kings

Brandon Sanderson
“This world, it is a tempest sometimes. But remember, the sun always rises again.”
Brandon Sanderson, The Way of Kings

Brandon Sanderson
“Ah, the outdoors,' Shallan said. 'I visited that mythical place once.”
Brandon Sanderson, The Way of Kings

Brandon Sanderson
“Somebody has to start. Somebody has to step forward and do what is right, because it is right.”
Brandon Sanderson, The Way of Kings

Brandon Sanderson
“Strength does not make one capable of rule; it makes one capable of service.”
Brandon Sanderson, The Way of Kings


Reading Progress

September 8, 2016 – Shelved
December 4, 2016 – Started Reading
December 4, 2016 –
page 0
0.0% "As promised, I'm going to end my read for 2016 with a bang. I will start reading the highest priority book on my TBR list with:\nQueen Celeste\nLovely Aria\n\nThanks Em\nfor pointing my dumb mistake status update :p"
December 5, 2016 –
page 275
27.31% "This book is so fantastic that it made me forgot to have dinner"
December 7, 2016 –
page 601
59.68% "I'm reading this like I'm obsessed. Trying to make my read last longer but I can't stop. All I do everyday is wake up, go to work, read, sleep."
December 10, 2016 – Finished Reading
November 11, 2017 – Started Reading
November 13, 2017 –
page 524
52.04% "Halfway through my first ever reread. Quite fun getting all the hints that I didn't know before."
November 16, 2017 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-50 of 96 (96 new)


Frankie Lovely Im reading this too! Enjoy :)


 ZeN The beauty is that once your done with this part of the obsession.. You will still have 1000+ pages in a sequel that is in my opinion even better.


Sandra Yes sir! You are indeed crazy. I can't believe it's only been a few days and you're almost done. How is that possible!


 ZeN Because in Sanderson we trust..


Sandra Yeah. He is amazing. I wish I can read it as fast though.


 ZeN Yeah me too lol


Kainat 《HUFFLEPUFF & PROUD》 I've seen the physical copy, it's HUGE!!


message 8: by Cagri (new) - added it

Cagri I've just ordered this book online. Can't wait to start :)


Petrik BlueLilyxLilyBlue wrote: "Yes sir! You are indeed crazy. I can't believe it's only been a few days and you're almost done. How is that possible!"

Yeay I'm done Aria! It's only possible because of how great this book is! :)

ZeN-son-son-Vallano wrote: "The beauty is that once your done with this part of the obsession.. You will still have 1000+ pages in a sequel that is in my opinion even better."

Yes Zen! I'm starting Words of Radiance tomorrow now that I finished this book!

Frankie Lovely wrote: "Im reading this too! Enjoy :)"

Thank you Frankie! I really enjoyed it, I hope you too!


Petrik Cagri wrote: "I've just ordered this book online. Can't wait to start :)"

Nice Cagri! I'll be waiting for you to start it! Awesome experience ahead!

Kainat Ijaz wrote: "I've seen the physical copy, it's HUGE!!"

It's HUGE Kainat, especially if you buy the hardcover version. However don't be afraid, you'll probably flew through the book like me! :D


Haïfa This is an epic review for an epic book!! Rest assured Pat that you completely did it justice ! And Kaladin is truly one of the most amazing fictional characters I've yet to meet!


Samir Great review!


A girL has no name This is one Stormlight-infused review, that you've put together, Petrik! :p
The epicness of TWoK pales in comparison to what WoR has in store for you, so you had better be prepared to have your mind blown! o(≧▽≦)o


Petrik Haïfoun wrote: "This is an epic review for an epic book!! Rest assured Pat that you completely did it justice ! And Kaladin is truly one of the most amazing fictional characters I've yet to meet!"

Thank you Haifa!!! that means a lot to me! :)
I agree with you, Kaladin is truly amazing! one of the best fictional characters out there!


Petrik A girl has no name wrote: "This is one Stormlight-infused review, that you've put together, Petrik! :p
The epicness of TWoK pales in comparison to what WoR has in store for you, so you had better be prepared to have your min..."


Thank you Brightness! I really appreciate it! I swear writing the review is more intimidating than reading the book itself. I'm looking forward to be mind blown by WoR! XD

Samir wrote: "Great review!"

Thank you Samir!


 ZeN Congrats on finishing it. Im happy that now you have an opportunity to read my favorite Sanderson novel 'Words of Radiance'. It will absolutely not disappoint. Great Review.


Celeste Fantastic review, love!! You did it justice. I'm still edging close to the halfway mark on this, but I can't wait to finish it so we can discuss it in depth!! I've loved reading this with you, even if I'm a bit slow. Once again, well done!


Petrik ZeN-son-son-Vallano wrote: "Congrats on finishing it. Im happy that now you have an opportunity to read my favorite Sanderson novel 'Words of Radiance'. It will absolutely not disappoint. Great Review."

Thank you Zen, Truthless of Shinovar!! I know it will not disappoint! :)


Petrik Celeste wrote: "Fantastic review, love!! You did it justice. I'm still edging close to the halfway mark on this, but I can't wait to finish it so we can discuss it in depth!! I've loved reading this with you, even..."

Thank you love!! I really enjoyed reading this with you Celeste and I'm always there to discuss the events in the book with you! I really can't wait to hear your thoughts and review on this one love and thank you once again! :')


message 20: by Sharon (new)

Sharon Amazing review, Petrik! This honestly sounds so intense and good. :)


Petrik Sharon wrote: "Amazing review, Petrik! This honestly sounds so intense and good. :)"

Thank you Sharon!! Oh it truly is, I hope one day you'll find the time to read this book. It's truly rewarding :)


message 22: by Melika (new)

Melika Lux My gosh, you finished it already!!! *claps enthusiastically* :D


message 23: by Zain (new) - added it

Zain Otoom Great review Petrik! I can't believe you read this thousand pages hunker in SIX days! Admirable! :D
I really need to get to Mistborn soon >_>


Nafeeza Great review Petrik! That battle was epic. <3 Kal and Syl.


message 25: by Gary (new) - added it

Gary Sundell Zain I am thinking of reading Mistborn early next year.


message 26: by Zain (new) - added it

Zain Otoom Gary Yeah! me too! After school ends for me I plan to start it! :D


message 27: by TS (new) - rated it 5 stars

TS Chan Well done! That was an excellent review.


Petrik Zain wrote: "Great review Petrik! I can't believe you read this thousand pages hunker in SIX days! Admirable! :D
I really need to get to Mistborn soon >_>"


Thank you Zain!! It was so good and you definitely should read Mistborn, one of my favorite of all time! :)

Melika wrote: "My gosh, you finished it already!!! *claps enthusiastically* :D"

Mwahahaha *claps fiercely* :D


Petrik TS wrote: "Well done! That was an excellent review."

Thanks TS! I spent more than an hour writing it! :)

Nafeeza wrote: "Great review Petrik! That battle was epic. <3 Kal and Syl."

Thanks Nafeeza!! I'll be reading Words of Radiance next! I can already imagined the book hangover after reading this series back to back. :')


message 30: by TS (new) - rated it 5 stars

TS Chan Petrik wrote: "TS wrote: "Well done! That was an excellent review."

Thanks TS! I spent more than an hour writing it! :)"


Hahahah that's pretty good I have to say. Better than my more than one year. :P


Mary ~Ravager of Tomes~ Great Review love! I can't wait to read this alskjdfalsjgasdkjfalksdjflksj!!!!


Petrik TS wrote: "Hahahah that's pretty good I have to say. Better than my more than one year. :p"

more than one year? XD well, it's truly understandable though, I had to put gather my thoughts for a while before starting the review.


Petrik Mary ~Ravager of Tomes~ wrote: "Great Review love! I can't wait to read this alskjdfalsjgasdkjfalksdjflksj!!!!"

Thank you love! I love your gibberish excitement, I can't wait for you to start it too! I know you'll love it as much as I do! :)


Layla ✷ Praise the sun ✷ Fantastic review and yes, Kaladin is definitely one of the best written characters out there *Waits for Petrik to start Words of Radiance* *Grabs popcorn*


Petrik Layla ✷ Praise the sun ✷ wrote: "Fantastic review and yes, Kaladin is definitely one of the best written characters out there *Waits for Petrik to start Words of Radiance* *Grabs popcorn*"

Thank you Layla! Kaladin is awesome and I started Words of Radiance already. *save that popcorn for my future review* \[+]/


message 36: by Adina (new) - added it

Adina Such an enthusiastic review. What are you doing to me? We agreed that I should start Sanderson with Mistborn and now I am confused again :))


Christine My sentiments exactly. It truly is an amazing world. BS already set the bar pretty high but his writing has only improved (specifically characterization) over the years imo. I can't think of a fantasy series that tops this one.


Petrik Adina wrote: "Such an enthusiastic review. What are you doing to me? We agreed that I should start Sanderson with Mistborn and now I am confused again :))"

Thank you Adina! I'm so sorry for confusing you but this one is really good! :p I still think you should start Sanderson with Mistborn though, don't be confused! Mistborn is an easier read and the original trilogy is completed already! not to mention it's still one of the best of all time for me. :)


Petrik Christine wrote: "My sentiments exactly. It truly is an amazing world. BS already set the bar pretty high but his writing has only improved (specifically characterization) over the years imo. I can't think of a fant..."

The world is so amazing and filled with details Christine. I agree with you in Sanderson's characterization, he definitely improved his writing skills with each book release! Right now Mistborn is still my favorite of all time but I think that soon will change after I finished Words of Radiance. :D


Petrik kazzexual wrote: "im trying to religiously avoid EXPECTATIONS, yet here you are again patty, making me add this to my ever growing tbr, pls send help
AWESOME REVIEW BTW xx"


Thank you so much Em! if you really love high fantasy you really should increase your expectations for this one. mwahahaha I'm not even sorry I increased your TBR :p

Finish Mistborn trilogy first before starting this though, I'm still waiting for your review on the sequels Em! ;)


Cillian Awesome art, and great review, Petrik!


☽Luna☾ Fantastic review patty !!! Well done :D


☽Luna☾ Kaladin <333333


message 44: by Petrik (last edited Dec 11, 2016 06:52PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Petrik Ten wrote: "Awesome art, and great review, Petrik!"

Thank you Ten! There's so many art it's hard to chose but i decided to choose the most non-spoilery one. :)


Petrik ☽Luna☾ wrote: "Fantastic review patty !!! Well done :D"

Thank you Sarah!!! Kaladin! <3


Cillian Petrik wrote: "Ten wrote: "Awesome art, and great review, Petrik!"

Thank you Ten! There's so many art it's hard to chose but i decided to choose the non-spoilery one. :)"


And for that I'm thankful.


Petrik Ten wrote: "Petrik wrote: "Ten wrote: "Awesome art, and great review, Petrik!"

Thank you Ten! There's so many art it's hard to chose but i decided to choose the non-spoilery one. :)"

And for that I'm thankful."


You're welcome Ten. Don't worry, all my reviews are spoiler-free. You can rest assured you won't be spoiled from it. I can't wait to see your review on this one! :)


message 48: by Cillian (last edited Dec 11, 2016 07:30PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Cillian It will probably be an incoherent string of babbles, Petrik. I mean, how do anyone review this?

I appreciate the lack of spoilers. I don't have many reviews, but I always make sure to encase in spoiler tags anything that's not part of the summary. Even the tiniest details. The idea of ruining someone's reading experience fills me with horror.
:<


Petrik Ten wrote: "It will probably be an incoherent string of babbles, Petrik. I mean, how do anyone review this?

I appreciate the lack of spoilers. I don't have many reviews, but I always make sure to encase in sp..."


I admit this book is really hard to review Ten and I know WoR will be the same case or even worse! I'll still be waiting for your incoherent string of babbles though! XD

I agree with you completely on spoilers! it's really horrible ruining someone's experience or be ruined by it! I've had it happen to me a few times before. :(


☽Luna☾ I'm so proud of this review u produced !!! I couldn't write a review for this book haha


« previous 1
back to top