Natalie The Biblioholic's Reviews > By Any Other Name

By Any Other Name by J.M. Darhower
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
39243185
's review

really liked it
bookshelves: dual-pov, mafia, suspense, sexy-times

This story is likened to a Shakespearean tragedy. Romeo and Juliet to be exact. And its title definitely makes the reader want to draw comparisons. However, the tragedy of this story is far greater than what Shakespeare created.

The love that developed between Genna Galante and Matty Barsanti was both sweet and pure. It was also strictly forbidden. Their families were more than feuding. They were at war and were mortal enemies. The hatred festered and was fed from one generation to the next. Genna was taught that the only good Barsanti was a dead one and Matty's lessons weren't any different. But that didn't and couldn't stop them from falling for one another.

"A smile lit up her face, the kind of smile that could replace sunshine without you even noticing a drop in temperature." Dante, regarding Genna

"That's what I want," he said quietly. "What I get for winning."
"What?"
"You."
"You had me," she whispered, cheeks flushing at the reminder.
"I did," he agreed. "But the past isn't what matters. I live in the present, Genna. I live in the now. I had you, yeah, but what I want is to have you."


There was so much bitterness and hate and anger and violence. Genna and Matty wanted no part of it. Unfortunately, the choice wasn't theirs to make and it seemed that everyone got caught up in the war. The death count rises and Matty just wants to escape it all, with Genna. But their families have other plans.

I'm excited to read book 2. I need more of these characters and I need to know what really happened to Dante. The epilogue was excellent but I'm wondering how long the stalemate will last.

XO
35 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read By Any Other Name.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

Started Reading
September 6, 2016 – Shelved
September 6, 2016 – Shelved as: dual-pov
September 6, 2016 – Shelved as: mafia
September 6, 2016 – Shelved as: suspense
September 6, 2016 – Finished Reading
September 7, 2016 – Shelved as: sexy-times

Comments Showing 1-26 of 26 (26 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Natalie The Biblioholic Nancy wrote: "Terrific review, lovely!"

Thanks Nancy!! xoxo


Eve Recinella (Between The Bookends) Fab review Natalie! :D


Natalie The Biblioholic Eve wrote: "Fab review Natalie! :D"

Thanks love xoxo


Megan✦❋Steamy Reads Blog❋✦ Awesome review, Natalie :) xx


✦❋Arianna✦❋ Great review, hon! xx


Natalie The Biblioholic Megan wrote: "Awesome review, Natalie :) xx"

Thank you Megan xx


Natalie The Biblioholic Arianna wrote: "Great review, hon! xx"

Thanks sweetie xoxo


Jenny••Steamy Reads Blog•• Wonderful review, luv!! xx


Natalie The Biblioholic Jenny wrote: "Wonderful review, luv!! xx"

Thanks hun xoxo


message 10: by Maria✦❋Steamy Reads Blog❋✦ (last edited Sep 07, 2016 08:26AM) (new)

Maria✦❋Steamy Reads Blog❋✦ This one's not for me. :o Love the review though, Natalie :)


Natalie The Biblioholic ✤Maria✤ wrote: "This one's not for me. :o Love the review though, Natalie :)"

Thanks Maria! xx


~IreneOust~ Great review, Natalie! I really enjoyed this one. JM Darhower tells such FAB mafia tales ... have you read her Sempre series?? I love how she casually dropped a few names from it in this book.


Natalie The Biblioholic ~IreneOust~ wrote: "Great review, Natalie! I really enjoyed this one. JM Darhower tells such FAB mafia tales ... have you read her Sempre series?? I love how she casually dropped a few names from it in this book."

Thanks Irene! I actually haven't but I will. Is that series where Corrado comes from?


~IreneOust~ YES!!!!!!


Natalie The Biblioholic ~IreneOust~ wrote: "YES!!!!!!"

Lol ok I'm on it. Thanks!!


~IreneOust~ Make sure to read all three books, not just MADE (which is Corrado's book). As far as I am concerned, that's her masterpiece series. And I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. xo


Natalie The Biblioholic ~IreneOust~ wrote: "Make sure to read all three books, not just MADE (which is Corrado's book). As far as I am concerned, that's her masterpiece series. And I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. xo"

Quick question: do I read books 1 and 2 first and then the novellas? I didn't find anything with a reading order :(


message 18: by ~IreneOust~ (last edited Sep 07, 2016 11:17AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

~IreneOust~ Yes: Sempre, Sempre Forever and then Made.


Natalie The Biblioholic ~IreneOust~ wrote: "Yes: Sempre, Sepmre Forever and then Made."

OK, thanks for your help Irene!! xo


~IreneOust~ Sorry, the second one Sempre Redemption not Forever. And I haven't read the novellas so I don't know the order. Just don't read MADE before Sempre books because I think there are spoilers for those in it.


message 21: by Ashleyjo (new)

Ashleyjo Beautifully reviewed, doll:)


Natalie The Biblioholic Ashleyjo wrote: "Beautifully reviewed, doll:)"

Thanks sweetie! xo


♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ Great review, Natalie xxx


Natalie The Biblioholic ♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ wrote: "Great review, Natalie xxx"

Thank you honey xoxo


NiCoLeTa E. Lovely review, Natalie!!!
I liked this book very much also!!! :D xx


Natalie The Biblioholic NiCoLeTa E. wrote: "Lovely review, Natalie!!!
I liked this book very much also!!! :D xx"


Thanks hun!! xoxo


back to top