Laura's Reviews > Palace of Desire

Palace of Desire by Naguib Mahfouz
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
900147
's review

it was ok
bookshelves: egypt, hf-egypt, nobel-prize, read-2011, 3ms, family-saga

This is the second book of the Cairo Trilogy.

The story now is at 1920s continuing the family saga of Al-Sayyid Ahmad and his two sons, Yasin and Kamal.

However as a reader, I couldn't get the point of the narrative of this book which reading become boring in some way. By the end of the book, the question remains unanswered: so what Mahfouz?

Lets see what happens in the final book of this trilogy.
4 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Palace of Desire.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

June 5, 2011 – Shelved
June 7, 2011 – Shelved as: egypt
June 7, 2011 – Shelved as: hf-egypt
November 15, 2011 – Started Reading
November 15, 2011 – Shelved as: nobel-prize
November 15, 2011 –
page 168
38.89%
November 16, 2011 –
page 300
69.44%
November 17, 2011 – Shelved as: read-2011
November 17, 2011 – Finished Reading
March 7, 2012 – Shelved as: 3ms
November 9, 2012 – Shelved as: family-saga

Comments Showing 1-8 of 8 (8 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Bettie Seeing you review I've put this off for a while. Thanks for the honesty. Could be that this is the weak link, happens a lot in trilogies doesn't it, the middle book is just a bridge.


Laura Bettie wrote: "Seeing you review I've put this off for a while. Thanks for the honesty. Could be that this is the weak link, happens a lot in trilogies doesn't it, the middle book is just a bridge."

You may be right, perhaps the third book is better....


Laura thanks Nenia


Laura thanks Begüm


Sumaya Abo ElHamd God.. I am glad someone finally said that I found the book really boring but being a fan of mahfouz's work myself I couldn't bring myself to admit it. nicely put


Laura Sumaya wrote: "God.. I am glad someone finally said that I found the book really boring but being a fan of mahfouz's work myself I couldn't bring myself to admit it. nicely put "

An honest review, that's our job here.

:O)


Laura Thanks Wanda


Laura thanks الشناوي محمد


back to top