Maggie Anton's Reviews > The New Joys of Yiddish: Completely Updated

The New Joys of Yiddish by Leo Rosten
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
1280353
's review

really liked it
bookshelves: funny, humor, jewish, judaism

I never read the original cover to cover, just looked up words I was interested in. I'm glad I took the time to read all of this version. I both enjoyed and learned from this book. While I am familiar with most of the words here, many I needed reminding of their meaning again. I definitely like this new version better than the 1968 original. I hadn't realized how sexist [perhaps even misogynist] the old one was, but thankfully the editor calls out Rosten on this, as well as Rosten's tendency to criticize Reform Judaism. Things have certainly changed in 50 years.
5 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The New Joys of Yiddish.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

August 17, 2016 – Shelved
August 17, 2016 – Shelved as: to-read
September 6, 2016 – Started Reading
September 6, 2016 – Shelved as: funny
September 6, 2016 – Shelved as: humor
September 6, 2016 – Shelved as: jewish
September 6, 2016 – Shelved as: judaism
September 9, 2016 –
page 45
9.07% "I'm up to "bupkes" and enjoying the New version as much, or more, than the original."
September 27, 2016 –
page 72
14.52% "Up to the "C's" and so far I like new version better than the 1968 original."
October 5, 2016 –
page 129
26.01% "Now up to the G's, I just learned that "glitch" is a Yiddish word for a risky or shady enterprise. But that is according to the original 1968 edition. Today, as pointed out a footnote in this revised edition, we know "glitch" as describing an inadvertent computer error."
October 21, 2016 –
page 160
32.26% "Into the K's and still enjoying this book. Considering how busy I've been with the holidays, a book that can be read as few or many pages as I have time for is a blessing."
October 27, 2016 –
page 212
42.74% "Up to the letter M; I can't believe I'm reading every page and not just skimming for the words I know."
November 29, 2016 –
page 243
48.99% "For some strange reason, Rosten gives us almost eight pages on "meshiach" [Yiddish for messiah] by detailing 1800 years of various failed Jewish messiahs. Oddly, he does not mention Jesus."
December 12, 2016 –
page 301
60.69% "I'm up to the "R's" and still both enjoying and learning. I am familiar with most of the words here, but many I needed reminding of their meaning again."
January 9, 2017 –
page 326
65.73% "No surprise that there are lots of Yiddish words that start with "sh""
January 18, 2017 –
page 356
71.77% "Definitely lots of Yiddish words that start with "sh" since I'm only up to "shmuck" - which between the definition and examples, takes up almost 2 full pages."
May 16, 2017 –
page 380
76.61% "I'm up to the T chapter, so I'm in the home stretch. I never read the original cover to cover, just looked up words I was interested in. I'm glad I'm taking the time to read all of this version."
December 7, 2017 – Finished Reading

No comments have been added yet.