Jane's Reviews > White Witch, Black Curse

White Witch, Black Curse by Kim Harrison
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5549631
's review
Jun 02, 2011

really liked it
bookshelves: urban-fantasy, gargoyles, pixies, vampires, weres, demons, read-in-2011

flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read White Witch, Black Curse.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

June 2, 2011 – Shelved
August 21, 2011 – Started Reading
August 21, 2011 – Shelved as: gargoyles
August 21, 2011 – Shelved as: urban-fantasy
August 21, 2011 – Shelved as: pixies
August 21, 2011 – Shelved as: weres
August 21, 2011 – Shelved as: vampires
August 21, 2011 – Shelved as: demons
August 23, 2011 –
page 89
16.12%
August 24, 2011 –
page 118
21.38%
August 28, 2011 –
page 311
56.34%
August 29, 2011 –
page 405
73.37%
August 30, 2011 –
page 461
83.51%
September 1, 2011 –
page 512
92.75%
September 1, 2011 – Finished Reading
November 29, 2011 – Shelved as: read-in-2011

Comments (showing 1-1 of 1) (1 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Jane Yatta! I feel one of those is in order as I've finished the 7th book in Kim Harrison's Hollows series and the last one that I actually have to read. I'm aware that there are a couple more which I might seek out when the backlog of reading is over.

I've had a bit of a love hate relationship with Rachel she's been stupid and she's been whiney but on the whole since the fourth book, she improved. The seventh was almost a backward step, but it was great to see Rachel accept her nature in this one.

I've got a couple of gripes with this book, I kind of liked Marshal, I do have a weakness for white knights and he was sweet but I felt that he was dealt with in a clumsy way. I also feel that the introduction of Pierce as a concept was odd, he felt like an add on designed to be pure Rachel catnip but that is just a minor gripe. Robbie turning up too was an annoyance.

I'm glad that this book dealt with closure for both Ivy and Rachel over Kisten, I don't ship them but I feel that they both should get on with it because they are clearly linked and would all be groovy.

They aren't a bad series of books, the world they inhabit is a great idea and I enjoy that side very much I'm just less sure about the characters some of the time. Edden acted a bit OOC in this one in my opinion.

Overall enjoyed muchly.


back to top