Lisa's Reviews > Pretty Face

Pretty Face by Lucy  Parker
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
6646452
Reread: Aug 2017

I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH OK

Twitter reading thread: HERE.

Reread: March 2017

I keep rereading my faves because my slump has been so horrible I can't take up new books at all. Anyway, WHERE IS MY LUC SAVAGE-

(also when is Lucy gonna release a new book I need more)

First read: January 2017

4.5 STARS

This review can also be found on Romances Ever After.

I thought I loved Act Like It, but then I read Pretty Face.

I procrastinated writing this review because I simply didn't know how to coherently express my feelings about this book. I still don't know how, though, but I'm going to try anyway.

So I've mentioned this before and I'm saying it again: it isn't too early to declare this book as one of the best romance I've read this year, and it's definitely a 2017 favourite of mine. I've been consistently rereading it ever since I first finished the ARC, and I couldn't stop thinking about it.

What did it for me is the characters. Lucy Parker writes amazing characters, spectacular banter, and intense chemistry. I found myself instantly charmed by Lily Lamprey, a 26 year old TV actress who dreams of making it big on the stage. I admire her attitude and her strong determination to prove herself to the world that no, she does not need to rely on her looks or so-called sexual talents to succeed. I feel so bad for her portrayal in the media; the tabloids made her out as a bit of a bimbo who sleeps with casting directors for roles, and it's just heartbreaking to see how she has to grow a thick skin to protect herself. Luc Savage is a 40 year old grouchy theatre director who captures my heart almost immediately too despite being a bit of a judgmental jerk with a sharp tongue. What can I say--I have a soft spot for grumpy men.

[See: Richard Troy, Laura Florand's Mattheiu Rosier]

Luc and Lily is so adorable together. Did I mention that this book has not one, not two, but three of my favourite tropes: the age gap, the forbidden romance, the hate to love? Talk about catnip! To quote myself again (LOL), I love how their relationship developed from mutual dislike to eh, I guess you're ok? to admiration to oh my god, what is this feeling in my chest?. I love how Luc easily admitted that he was wrong to judge Lily at the beginning of the book, and apologized for being wrong. I love how protective he was about Lily, and I'm a big fan of heroes who are totally smitten with their heroines and act like little boys with big crushes around them. I also died every time Luc and Lily made eye contact with, argued with, flirted with, and touched each other--I basically experienced multiple deaths in one reading. No big deal at all, nope.

Also worth mentioning that Richard and Lainie also made a cameo in this one. I missed them so much I immediately reread Act Like It after I finished Pretty Face. Best moment: the scene when Richard genuinely grinned for the first time and explained why he called Lainie Tigger. Honorary shoutout to Lily's dad Jack Lamprey and Luc's parents Celie and Cam Savage for being awesome. What I'd give for a prequel bonus scene or novella about those three...hint, Lucy, hint.

One of my favourite quotes:

Savages play by the rules; Lampreys get things done.


In a nutshell, Lucy Parker has outdone herself with this one. I can't wait for her next book (I hope it'll be soon!). In the meantime, let me just reread this one for the umpteenth time and cry because I'm going to die alone unloved...

E-ARC is received thanks to the publisher via Netgalley.
Quote is taken from uncorrected proof.
13 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Pretty Face.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

August 4, 2016 – Shelved
August 4, 2016 – Shelved as: in-my-wishlist
January 10, 2017 – Shelved as: 2017-read
January 10, 2017 – Shelved as: ch-age-gap
January 10, 2017 – Shelved as: ch-fav-heroines
January 10, 2017 – Shelved as: ch-fav-heroes
January 10, 2017 – Shelved as: ch-great
January 10, 2017 – Shelved as: em-aww-sweet
January 10, 2017 – Shelved as: gr-romance-contemporary
January 10, 2017 – Shelved as: other-cover-porn
January 10, 2017 – Shelved as: rating-4-point-5
January 10, 2017 – Shelved as: type-my-faves
January 10, 2017 – Shelved as: type-galleys
February 19, 2017 – Shelved as: other-cute-ships
February 19, 2017 – Shelved as: theme-family
February 19, 2017 – Shelved as: trope-hate-to-love
August 13, 2017 – Started Reading
August 13, 2017 – Finished Reading
August 20, 2017 – Shelved as: ch-older-hero
August 20, 2017 – Shelved as: trope-may-december
September 29, 2017 – Shelved as: trope-workplace-romance

Comments Showing 1-3 of 3 (3 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

♥Rachel♥ I can't wait to read this!


Lisa It's so good, Rachel! I'm excited for you <3


Marie such a good review!!!!!


back to top