Yolo Yearwood's Reviews > Steve Jobs

Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5361901
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: favorite-reads, educational, culture, history, memoir, non-fiction, minimalism, science, technology, audiobook

"Oh wow, oh wow, oh wow," those were Steve Jobs' final words. I cried finishing this book. Sure, he was an asshat, he was a dirty hippie not that I have a prob with that, and he wasn't the best father to his admission. But by the end of the book, and the end of his life, Jobs had a chance to turn all of that around. Well, I don't know about the bathing part hehe.
A fantastic book, I really can't get over it. I didn't want to finish it because we all know what would happen in the end. I recommend listening to the audiobook simply because of the scope of the book, it's 600 or 700 pages, and a lot is about the tech world of Apple, a topic that is heavy for someone like me who's not a techie. But that was Jobs' life and it's so interesting to hear about all of the detail that Isaacson pulled together for this book. I cannot even fathom the method Isaacson uses for his research and writing.
Next up: the Benjamin Franklin bio by Isaacson. Already read the Albert Einstein one and it changed my life by getting me interested in reading nonfiction.
flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Steve Jobs.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

June 25, 2015 – Started Reading
January 24, 2016 – Shelved as: to-read (Audiobook Edition)
January 24, 2016 – Shelved (Audiobook Edition)
March 31, 2016 – Started Reading (Audiobook Edition)
March 31, 2016 – Shelved as: audiobook (Audiobook Edition)
March 31, 2016 – Shelved as: biographical (Audiobook Edition)
March 31, 2016 – Shelved as: books-read-2016 (Audiobook Edition)
March 31, 2016 – Shelved as: contemporary (Audiobook Edition)
March 31, 2016 – Shelved as: non-fiction (Audiobook Edition)
March 31, 2016 – Shelved as: memoir (Audiobook Edition)
March 31, 2016 – Shelved as: science (Audiobook Edition)
March 31, 2016 –
5.0% "Super long, so I've been listening to the audiobook while I play iPad games right before bed lol. I thought it would be more boring considering I'm not too techie, but it's pretty personal. Like right now it's delving into Jobs' dietary restrictions and spiritual practices. Interesting look at a massive personality within contemporary culture." (Audiobook Edition)
April 15, 2016 –
55.0% (Audiobook Edition)
May 1, 2016 –
75.0% (Audiobook Edition)
May 6, 2016 –
80.0% "I am determined to finish this one. It's all about the first iPhones now. The reader's voice is just getting old, it has been almost 20 hours of listening to it though lol. The book is super dee duper detailed, and that's interesting. Finding out a lot about Jobs that really explains the myth in greater clarity, which just shows how much the media and culture elevate individuals on their on misinformed realities." (Audiobook Edition)
May 24, 2016 –
95.0% "OK so I'm only 2 hours from the end, finally, and the author's still talking about the way the iPhone functions. Like, in extensive detail. Way too much detail for an autobiography. I'd hoped that this would be about Steve Jobs, not a play by play for Apple products. Two more hours left, though, and I'm ready to end this one." (Audiobook Edition)
July 25, 2016 – Shelved
July 25, 2016 – Shelved as: favorite-reads
July 25, 2016 – Shelved as: educational
July 25, 2016 – Shelved as: culture
July 25, 2016 – Shelved as: history
July 25, 2016 – Shelved as: memoir
July 25, 2016 – Shelved as: non-fiction
July 25, 2016 – Shelved as: minimalism
July 25, 2016 – Shelved as: science
July 25, 2016 – Shelved as: technology
July 25, 2016 – Shelved as: audiobook
July 25, 2016 – Shelved as: award-winning (Audiobook Edition)
July 25, 2016 – Shelved as: culture (Audiobook Edition)
July 25, 2016 – Shelved as: educational (Audiobook Edition)
July 25, 2016 – Shelved as: favorite-reads (Audiobook Edition)
July 25, 2016 – Shelved as: history (Audiobook Edition)
July 25, 2016 – Shelved as: minimalism (Audiobook Edition)
July 25, 2016 – Shelved as: technology (Audiobook Edition)
July 25, 2016 – Finished Reading

No comments have been added yet.