Lauren's Reviews > Lola and the Boy Next Door

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4615008
's review
May 24, 2011

it was amazing
bookshelves: i-own, cover-love, 2011, fiction
Recommended for: Fans of Sarah Dessen and YA contemporary fiction.
Read from October 29 to 31, 2011 — I own a copy

Check out my book blog for more reviews!

The story follows Lola Nolan, a girl who lives in San Francisco with her parents. She is mostly into designing clothes, not particularly the things that are in fashion though—more the extraordinary, interesting ‘costumes’. She was a very unique, fascinating character and I love how she dresses the way she likes to dress, no matter what most people say about her. (She was insecure sometimes, though.)

Lola has a gorgeous rocker boyfriend named Max, a loyal best friend named Lindsey, and two gay dads named Nathan and Andy, and her life is just going great. Until she finds out that the family who used to live next door to her—the Bells—are moving back in. That is kind of where the story takes off.

Stephanie Perkins, thank you for creating characters, like St. Clair and Cricket, that I want to marry. I will now be forever alone though, because no one can live up to the wonderful fictional characters my favourite authors write about. I read a lot of YA books that had characters that didn’t really appeal to me as much as Stephanie Perkins’ characters do.

And for the people who have read Anna and the French Kiss, a nice surprise: Anna and Etienne are in this book, too. And not just to say hello and then disappear for the rest of the novel, they were actual side characters, and that made me so happy. This book is equally as amazing as Anna and the French Kiss, and I can’t wait for Isla and the Happily Ever After.

Oh, also: NAKED TIGER WOMAN. That is all.

Blog post: http://laurenreadsya.tumblr.com/post/...
4 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Lola and the Boy Next Door.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

10/29/2011 page 15
4.0%
10/31/2011 page 255
75.0% "WOOHOO! GO LOLA!"
05/06/2016 marked as: read
show 2 hidden updates…

No comments have been added yet.