Judy D Collins's Reviews > One Less Problem Without You

One Less Problem Without You by Beth Harbison
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
11063006
A special thank you to St. Martin's Press and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Beth Harbison returns following If I Could Turn Back Time (2015) with ONE LESS PROBLEM WITHOUT YOU — three women whose lives are at a crossroads, connected by one man, an evil monster.

A contemporary domestic suspense with a little grit, danger, some magic, courage, new friendships, and some special cosmos! Hat’s off to St. Martin’s Press and Harbison for another chic and stunning cover! -the best.

Three women who would rather "be lonely alone, than lonely in love."

Diana Tiesman is married to Leif, a man with two personalities. He is abusive, handsome, young, rich, charming, selfish, sadistic and unfaithful to his wife. A wife who knows she is in an unhealthy relationship, and cannot seem to break free of this man. Addiction.

For seven years she has tried to the perfect wife. From sex, home, cooking, however, he is unfaithful and now she finds herself sneaking in the bathroom to check his phone and the sluts he is texting. He was like a bad addiction. She needed an elixir. The perfect nightcap. She has no money to leave and thinks of Prinny. She has nowhere to go. Her parents were gone and she was estranged from her sister

What about killing her husband? (Sleeping With the Enemy). Being with him was killing her. She would rather die than go through this anymore. She had two options.

She turns to her sister-in-law, Prinny. Ending up a Cosmos, a cute shop in Washington, DC that sells crystals, potions, candles and lots of hope. Also some special teas, herbs, and extra special yummy cocktails.

The owner Prinny— is in love with her married lawyer, Alex and wants to forget him. She had to settle for her time with him being business related. She needed financial independence. She is also the step-sister of wicked older step-brother, Leif. She knows all too well her brother’s abusive behavior.

Leif was powerful. He was doing everything he could to sabotage her inheritance, and her life. This is why she opened Cosmos. She needed to have a legitimate business, expenses, a storefront so her Leif couldn’t accuse her of being incompetent.

Chelsea works part-time at Cosmos, with a desire to be an actress. However, she wonders if her dreams will ever be a reality as far as her career or love. Even though she could read cards and she could definitely read people. She was no psychic, but she was extremely good at reading voices, gestures, and choices.

“When one’s love life is unsatisfying, some acquires things to make up for it. Sometimes the things are lovers, sometimes the things are children, but most of the time things are things.”

Alternating from past (7-25 yrs, ago) to the present we hear about Lief Tiesman (with Diane and with Pinny). With a plan of revenge, some spicy sweet kava, wine, potent herbs, cocktails, magic, a booming new business, girl power, and three determined quirky women you will root for.

A perfect beach read, Beth combines her wit and a little grit and mystery crossing over to the dark side (hope to see more of this). Harbison would be a great domestic suspense, chick-grip-noir writer), which is so popular today. For fans of Paul Treick Deboard, Susan Crawford, and Paula Daly.

Gals, you will love the Cosmo chic cover, three gals whose lives connect, a bad guy, and "Diana’s Drinks" with 30-yummy cocktail recipes included at the end of the book. Need I say more?

JDCMustReadBooks
2 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read One Less Problem Without You.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

July 22, 2016 – Started Reading
July 22, 2016 – Shelved
July 22, 2016 – Shelved as: 2016-releases
July 22, 2016 – Shelved as: beth-harbison
July 22, 2016 – Shelved as: netgalley-arc
July 23, 2016 –
page 100
29.76%
July 23, 2016 – Shelved as: books-read-in-2016
July 23, 2016 – Shelved as: chick-lit
July 23, 2016 – Shelved as: chick-noir
July 23, 2016 – Shelved as: womens-fiction
July 23, 2016 – Shelved as: contemporary-fiction
July 26, 2016 – Shelved as: domestic-abuse
July 26, 2016 – Shelved as: domestic-suspense
July 26, 2016 – Finished Reading

No comments have been added yet.