Warda's Reviews > Illuminae

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
30036082
's review

liked it

Mind boggled.
1: due to confusion.
2: it was damn good!

This’ll take a while for me to process. For now what I can say though as much as I loved the format, it made a little difficult for me to completely connect with it. It would through me off at times as there wasn’t your typically well-known flow and I had to try and grasp the story each time. And quite often.
It was quite technical. I mean, I loved it since everything was so fascinating, but some things I just couldn’t grasp.

The best part was definitely the characters. Kady, Aidan and Ezra were awesome and so easy to love!
Plus I loved the sarcasm that was infused into the story.

I’m really intrigued to see how this story will develop.



——————————————

Pre-reading thoughts.
I’m hella late to the party, but I’m expecting greatness.
And greatness had better be what I get.
303 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Illuminae.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

July 9, 2016 – Shelved
July 9, 2016 – Shelved as: to-read
June 24, 2018 – Started Reading
June 24, 2018 –
page 39
6.48% "Guys... Ezra is bae. BAE!!!

*screams into the void*"
June 27, 2018 –
page 232
38.54% "FFS WHY IS EZRA SO DAMN ADORABLE?!"
June 30, 2018 –
page 308
51.16% "AIDAN is so coooool!"
June 30, 2018 –
page 310
51.5% "AIDAN:

“Please cease attempts to override my security protocols, Byron. For want of a better descriptor, it tickles.”

I think I just fell in love with him. 🙃"
June 30, 2018 –
page 422
70.1% "Fuxkyoufuckyoufyxkyou no he ain’t! Shurrup Aidan!
This is not happening!!!!!"
July 1, 2018 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-24 of 24 (24 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Dania Greatness will definitely be what you get!!! The events of the books are eerily relevant to our current political climate


Warda Dania wrote: "Greatness will definitely be what you get!!! The events of the books are eerily relevant to our current political climate"

Aaaah I can’t wait to see how everything unfolds. 😁


Marhaba Gul Greatness after greatness after greatness! Its a promise.


Warda Marhaba wrote: "Greatness after greatness after greatness! Its a promise."

Yessss!! I’m excited! 😍😍


Camila Oh, you will NOT be let down!!


message 6: by Warda (last edited Jun 28, 2018 02:59AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Warda Camila wrote: "Oh, you will NOT be let down!!"

😁😁😁 trusting you and everyone else on this.


enqi ☁️✨ [joon's] omg i need to read this soon too!


Warda enqi ✨🍒 wrote: "omg i need to read this soon too!"

It’s living up to the hype to so far for me. 😁


Ardhya Wow we’re both gave same ratings ahahah, can’t wait to read your thoughts


message 10: by Warda (last edited Jun 30, 2018 01:38PM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Warda Ardhya wrote: "Wow we’re both gave same ratings ahahah, can’t wait to read your thoughts"

😆 what did you think of the book? So much fun to read! 😍


Ashlee » Library In The Country If the format throws you off a bit, but you want to continue the series, give the audiobook + book a try. They are FANTASTIC that way.


Warda Ashlee wrote: "If the format throws you off a bit, but you want to continue the series, give the audiobook + book a try. They are FANTASTIC that way."

Thanks so much for the suggestion! I think I’ll try it that way. 😃


preoccupiedbybooks I read the paperbacks, but have seen a lot of people say exactly what Ashlee said! The audiobooks are meant to be really good 👍


Warda preoccupiedbybooks wrote: "I read the paperbacks, but have seen a lot of people say exactly what Ashlee said! The audiobooks are meant to be really good 👍"

I listened to a sample of it and I purchased it straight away haha really hope it delivers the story better. 🤞🏾 What did you think of the series?


preoccupiedbybooks I loved all three books! Oh good, hope you enjoy them :)


Warda preoccupiedbybooks wrote: "I loved all three books! Oh good, hope you enjoy them :)"

That’s awesome! I really hope I do, thank you.


paigeee [ a bookish brat ] I felt the same way when I read this!


Warda paigeee [a bookish brat] wrote: "I felt the same way when I read this!"

😊 have you read the other books?


message 19: by Soula (new)

Soula My dad is actually trying to listen to this book and he had me get the physical book So he could follow along and see the diagrams and pictures.


Warda Soula wrote: "My dad is actually trying to listen to this book and he had me get the physical book So he could follow along and see the diagrams and pictures."

That’s a great way to read! So cool that your dad is reading Illuminae. 😄


message 21: by Soula (new)

Soula @Warda yeah, English isn't my father's first language, so since the book isn't traditional in writing style, I think he found it a bit confusing and disconnected. I'm proud of him for sticking through it and trying to find a better way to understand and enjoy the book.


Warda Soula wrote: "@Warda yeah, English isn't my father's first language, so since the book isn't traditional in writing style, I think he found it a bit confusing and disconnected. I'm proud of him for sticking thro..."

That's so awesome! I hope he enjoys it! :D


message 23: by Soula (new)

Soula Thank you Warda!


Roselyn Mags I agree with you completely!!


back to top