Emma's Reviews > The Romanovs: 1613-1918

The Romanovs by Simon Sebag Montefiore
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
28602001
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: audible

Review to follow.

But it's basically just going to say it's excellent so if you don't need any more info than that, you're good to go.
61 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Romanovs.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

June 25, 2016 – Shelved
June 25, 2016 – Shelved as: to-read
August 11, 2016 – Started Reading
August 11, 2016 – Shelved as: audible
August 11, 2016 –
25.0% "Honestly, every time punishment is mentioned in this book, I get tense. It's gruesome in the extreme. My particular favourite (!) is impalement through the anus. Each time this is the answer to whatever human has caused a problem, it makes me shudder..."
August 12, 2016 –
40.0% "I'm going to add 'tongues ripped out' to my list of fun Russian punishments. Montefiore writes that one woman had hers ripped out so violently she passed out. My thought was: who the hell doesn't faint when they have that happen? I had my tongue pierced when i was younger and nearly face planted."
August 15, 2016 –
70.0% "Never have I been so pleased that i'm not a member of a specific family. Though my family Christmas day celebrations makes me feel somewhat similar about being part of mine."
September 5, 2016 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-5 of 5 (5 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Carlos I'm glad you liked this book, it was so informative, I had information overload all the time I was reading this .


Emma Carlos wrote: "I'm glad you liked this book, it was so informative, I had information overload all the time I was reading this ."

It's crammed full, isn't it?! I had a bit of an advantage as I studied a lot of Russian history at uni, especially Peter the Great and the revolution. I listened to this but I'm thinking of buying the book aswell, so I can refer to the info a bit more easily.


Carlos Emma wrote: "Carlos wrote: "I'm glad you liked this book, it was so informative, I had information overload all the time I was reading this ."

It's crammed full, isn't it?! I had a bit of an advantage as I stu..."

I love russian History , especially the pre revolution times .And yeah i would buy this book , its so well researched, The foot notes is what killed me tough , (there were so much info in those tiny letters).


message 4: by Emma (last edited Sep 06, 2016 07:33AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Emma Carlos wrote: "Emma wrote: "Carlos wrote: "I'm glad you liked this book, it was so informative, I had information overload all the time I was reading this ."

It's crammed full, isn't it?! I had a bit of an advan..."


Yeah that's the bit that doesn't come over in the audio. Will definitely get the p/b when it comes out! It'd be handy to have a picture of the family tree too-to visualise how it all worked.


Carlos Emma wrote: "Carlos wrote: "Emma wrote: "Carlos wrote: "I'm glad you liked this book, it was so informative, I had information overload all the time I was reading this ."

It's crammed full, isn't it?! I had a ..."

Yeah i would recommend you read Sapiens and SPQR , (but i saw you were reading It already), those were great books too, and also I saw you had read Harry dresden books? I love that series, what book # are you up to ? i can't wait for Peace talks!


back to top