Kai's Reviews > Wonder

Wonder by R.J. Palacio
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
41788524
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: 2016, important, favorites, to-buy

“I think there should be a rule that everyone in the world should get a standing ovation at least once in their lives.”

A normal boy, with an unusual face, starting school for the first time in his life.
August was born with facial abnormalities, went through lots of operations, but his face still looks far from normal. Now he's about to start middle school, and because he's been homeschooled by his mom ever since, he's both scared and excited.

This book. It's Amazing.
While sometimes sad and shocking, the happy definitely overshadows the sad. I admit to shedding more than a few tears. But don't tell anyone.
The greatest thing about this book - in my opinion - is that there are so many perspectives to one story. While August is clearly the main character, lots of people get their fair share of pages, and I am so, so glad for it. This beautiful novel is not only about acceptance, tolerance and kindness. It teaches so many lessons. More than just once I stopped reading and thought, Yes, that is exactly how I feel, that is precisely what I think. R. J. Palacio touches so many topics through her variety of characters. Poverty, death, relationships and more

The only thing I have left to say is that, from now on, I will try to be kinder than necessary.

Find more of my books on Instagram
214 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Wonder.
Sign In »

Quotes Kai Liked

R.J. Palacio
“I think there should be a rule that everyone in the world should get a standing ovation at least once in their lives.”
R.J. Palacio, Wonder

R.J. Palacio
“Kinder than is necessary. Because it's not enough to be kind. One should be kinder than needed.”
R.J. Palacio, Wonder


Reading Progress

February 4, 2016 – Started Reading
February 6, 2016 –
page 60
19.05% "I'm heartbroken already. This book is going to destroy me" (Paperback Edition)
February 7, 2016 –
page 236
74.92% ""I think there should be a rule that everyone in the world should get a standing ovation at least once in their lives."" (Paperback Edition)
February 7, 2016 – Finished Reading
June 20, 2016 – Shelved
June 20, 2016 – Shelved as: 2016
June 20, 2016 – Shelved as: important
June 20, 2016 – Shelved as: favorites
August 9, 2016 – Shelved as: to-buy

Comments Showing 1-16 of 16 (16 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Cat (new) - rated it 5 stars

Cat world would be a little better place if everyone read this book


message 2: by Kai (new) - rated it 5 stars

Kai I wholeheartedly agree


𝐦𝐚𝐫𝐢𝐚⋆. · ⋆ You have inspired me to read it! :D


message 4: by Kai (new) - rated it 5 stars

Kai María wrote: "You have inspired me to read it! :D"

That's the point! Enjoy :)


Lt. Commander Data great review


message 6: by Kai (new) - rated it 5 stars

Kai Thanks a lot :)


message 7: by Elizabeth (new)

Elizabeth Completely agree with this. I read this book at the beginnning of this year and found it very inspiring to be kind to those around me.


message 8: by Kai (new) - rated it 5 stars

Kai It is a very motivating and heartwarming book.
Just makes you want to be better.


Mahdi wish more heartwarming books like Wonder and heartwarming people like August existed in this world


message 10: by Kai (new) - rated it 5 stars

Kai I wholeheartedly agree :)


Oliver I definitely need to re-read this, It's been around four years


message 12: by Kai (new) - rated it 5 stars

Kai Oliver wrote: "I definitely need to re-read this, It's been around four years"

same here, but the film gives a pretty good account of the book too


message 13: by Kingsley (new)

Kingsley i love love LOVE this book so much. it was so good


message 14: by Kai (new) - rated it 5 stars

Kai Kingsley wrote: "i love love LOVE this book so much. it was so good"

yes yes and yes


Oliver good to know!


message 16: by Kingsley (new)

Kingsley Kai wrote: "Kingsley wrote: "i love love LOVE this book so much. it was so good"

yes yes and yes"


lol i liked the movie but my experience reading the book was amazing and so much better. have you watched the adaption?


back to top