Emma Giordano's Reviews > Harry Potter and the Cursed Child: Parts One and Two

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by John Tiffany
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
30604861
's review

liked it

FULL VIDEO REVIEW IS LIVE: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oNTYG...
I have a lot of mixed feelings on this book. Am I happy we got another Harry Potter story? Yes. Am I satisfied with some aspects? Absolutely. But am I disappointed as well? Unfortunately, YES.

L I K E S :
Characters:
I was so happy to feel like the characters were authentic. Throughout the entire novel, these felt like the children I grew up alongside and their development over the last two decades into adults felt REAL. Everyone was who I wanted them to become (ESPECIALLY DRACO) and even the kid's had their own distinctive voices I really enjoyed. The dynamic of the characters (Harry & Draco are a perfect example, as well as Harry & Ginny and Ron & Hermione) were consistent with the books, yet still developed over the years into what I felt they should be. Also Scorpius is my everything, he is one of the purest characters in all of literature and if you disagree, bye.

Things that were addressed that needed to be addressed:
(view spoiler)
(view spoiler)

Minimal moments that made me happy: Basically, I think there are so many people that loved everything about this book, but as I read this book very critically and found a lot of faults, the parts I loved seemed pretty minimal so I've grouped them here.
-Beginning: I loved that the story started at the epilogue of Deathly Hallows. I didn't even think this was a possibility, but I think it was the perfect way to mesh these two stories into one another.

- Draco & Harry's Dynamic: These two developed exactly as I wanted them to. While there is still an air of distaste around both of them, they've truly grown and come to terms with each other. (view spoiler)

-(view spoiler)

-(view spoiler)

Humor: I personally really enjoyed the humor in the play! The jokes coming from the cast felt really true to their characters and this book had me laughing out loud all throughout the books. I'll go over specific lines in my video review for the sake of length on here, but I don't think there was a single intentional joke that didn't have me howling of laughter.

Scorpius & Albus: Okay listen, I am one to respect anyone's sexuality, so if these two claim they're straight, they're straight. But seriously, there is so much queer baiting in this script that it pains me to know it was never going to amount to anything. I don't understand why it's so bad to have two gay wizards as the main characters. If you're going to throw lines at me like "He doesn't like his friend talking to a girl" and "They hug each other with fierceness. They hold for a beat." IMMA SHIP THEM TOGETHER. And that's not to undermine their love as friends; regardless of their sexuality, they have a beautiful relationship and their dynamic is a pleasure to read. It's clear they love each other so much, even if it is just as friends. I just think I would have loved this story on a whole 'nother level if their friendship became something more at the end of the story.

D I S L I K E S :
Lack of characters: This goes into my feeling that this plot was FAR TOO LARGE to be limited to the time constraints and physical space on the stage for a play. There is an absence of every character who is not Harry, Ginny, Ron, Hermione, Draco, Albus, Scorpius,and Delphi.
-Hugo: Does not appear ONCE. What REALLY confuses me and goes into the contradiction to the books, is that he was at Kings Cross in the Deathly Hallows epilogue, yet he's not in the first scene. He starts Hogwarts during Albus/Scorpius/Rose's third year, yet he. is. never. there. He's Ron and Hermione's child for gods sake! He should have been in this book!

- Rose, James, & Lily: While we do see these three in the beginning for a few scenes, all three are virtually absent from the entire play after about Act Two. How on earth do you expect me to believe these two groups of parents are off on another CRAZY adventure, but don't show any thought about their children, other than Albus? It's just unreasonable and does not make sense. I'm going to say this a million times throughout these reviews, but if you use the argument that "it's a play, they don't have enough time," then they should not have made this story a play. Lack of room for a plot is the biggest reason to NOT include it and putting out something incomplete is just sloppy and amateur.

- Neville: Neville is mentioned COUNTLESS times throughout this novel. He's a professor at Hogwarts and you bet your ass he would coddle The Golden Trio's children like they were his own, but again HE DOESN'T SHOW UP ONCE. (view spoiler) I'm purely disappointed.

- Teddy Lupin: Teddy is obviously a very minor character but HE WAS ALSO AT KINGS CROSS (which still confuses me because he had left Hogwarts at this point, but whatevs) HE WAS STILL THERE. They made a big deal that Teddy was a "part of the Potter family" and came over for dinner frequently, but he isn't even mentioned in the books. Also, his CHARACTER ITSELF was made a big deal by Jo, who wanted the story to end on another child being left an orphan. But nope, there's no space for anyone who wasn't a main character (which is a large fault in the author's planning because side characters are still hugely important to a story) so we don't see him at all.

- Hagrid: OK WHERE THE HELL IS HAGRID. Someone suggested to me that he may have wrongfully passed, but if McGonagall is alive, I'm betting Hagrid's giant blood gives him a different lifespan than most wizards. HE WOULD LITERALLY DO ANYTHING TO SPEND TIME WITH HARRY&GINNY&RON&HERMIONE'S CHILDREN WHERE IS HE. We go through like three or four alternate timelines of Hogwarts and he is absent in all of them. Seriously, it's a straight up disservice to his character.

Harry & Albus's relationship: (view spoiler)

The scene in the Ministry: okay I got a looooooot of issues here.
1. (view spoiler)
2. (view spoiler)

THE TIME TURNERS:Oh lordy, lordy. Prepare for the longest rant of this entire review.
1. To give you a run down, the system of time travel established in Prisoner of Azkaban is essentially a "fixed timeline" meaning that the time traveler's actions would not alter the timeline at all. (ex. it's Harry who creates the Patronus to save himself & Sirius because as Harry himself claims "It was easy, because I'd already done it.) In Harry Potter & The Cursed Child, it follows the timeline known as the "Grandfather Paradox" (aka used in Back to the Future) which is a COMPLETELY DIFFERENT SYSTEM OF TIME that is more flexible and allows people to change history by their actions. YOU. CAN'T. HAVE. TWO. DIFFERENT. SYSTEMS. OF. TIME. It's made clear that creating a paradox is possible in POA (an example given is that one can kill their future/past self if they are recognized by themselves), but that doesn't change that fact that there is no evidence of the fixed timeline that has been established for 12 years in TCC. Paradoxes fucking everywhere and The Doctor is sobbing from his Tardis.
2. (view spoiler)
3. (view spoiler)
4. On Pottermore, (here's an image as a source https://twitter.com/LIBassBunny/statu... - the original post I found it from is from 3 years ago) J.K. Rowling admits that she left a ton of plot holes in the system of time travel she created. She claims to have fixed that over the years, ending the solution with destroying all of them during the battle at the Department of Mysteries. And I think this is great, this is what authors should have the incentive to do when they make a mistake. BUT if she wanted to fix it, why would she approve a script that is built on the foundation of something she tried to erase in her books? It truly makes me question either how genuine her approval is, or the integrity of her character to turn her back on her previous decisions.
To sum up, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child BUTCHERED the system of time & time travel created by Jo and I have no words to describe how detrimental this is to the plot.

Big secret plot twist I don't want to spoil: (view spoiler)
2. (view spoiler)
3. (view spoiler)
4. (view spoiler)
This is ridiculous. This is far too convenient. There is too little information on when this actually happened. I refuse to accept this as part of the plot.

Random little things that bother me:
- First trip back in time: (view spoiler)

-The Trolley Witch: (view spoiler)


T H I N G S T H A T M A D E M E C R Y :
-Harry in Godric's Hollow: (view spoiler)
-Hagrid meeting Harry for the first time: (view spoiler)
-Draco opening up to Harry: (view spoiler)

There are a million more things to say in my video review, so stay tuned for that on my YouTube channel. All in all, I'm happy we got this book. I'm happy I read it. I'm happy that some things stayed true and somethings impressed me. But I'm super disappointed that it's so dissociated from the rest of the books plot-wise and that it was very underdeveloped. I will stand by my opinion that this should have been a full novelization of the play, and that would have fixed a lot of the inconsistencies and plot holes. I will absolutely go to see this play when it hits New York, and I would recommend it to any Harry Potter fan.
445 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Harry Potter and the Cursed Child.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

June 11, 2016 – Shelved
June 11, 2016 – Shelved as: to-read
August 1, 2016 – Started Reading
August 3, 2016 –
page 222
64.72% "I'm really enjoying it but also questioning a lot of it? If you want to see my live reactions, check out #EmmaReadsTCC on twitter ;D"
August 3, 2016 –
page 225
65.6% "I'VE READ THREE PAGES AND I'VE FOUND YET ANOTHER FAULT IN THE TIME TRAVEL SYSTEM THAT'S BEEN ESTABLISHED FOR 12 YEARS. WHY DID NO ONE FIX THIS. WHY IS A 20 YEAR OLD MERE FAN PICKING UP ON THIS AND NOT AN EXPERIENCED TEAM OF WRITERS, EDITORS, AND THE DAMN AUTHOR WHO CREATED THE SYSTEM."
August 3, 2016 –
page 268
78.13% "I'm feeling much better about Act 4! The first few scenes have impressed me compared to the earlier three acts."
August 3, 2016 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-39 of 39 (39 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Emma Giordano This review is 6 word-doccument pages. Have fun XD


message 2: by Jacob (new)

Jacob I wasn't ready for all of this when I clicked to see more


message 3: by Spaddy (new) - added it

Spaddy I RELATE


Bridget Agree with everything. Especially the ScorpiusxAlbus thing. They're together in my mind.


message 5: by Devon (new)

Devon Munn This is a long ass review, and I have a question, how do you hide spoilers in reviews, I tried but failed, how can I so it


message 6: by Becky (new) - added it

Becky everything in this review is so spot-on with how I felt about it. A+++. (except one thing you didn't mention that bugged me: I felt like Ron got reduced almost entirely to comic relief, which I despise. it's the same thing that happened in the films, and I hated it then too. He's such a deeply complex character in the novels and I felt like we lost a lot of that. It was mostly Harry and the girls in this one. I did love the little bits of "real Ron" we got, but they were too few and far between for my taste.


message 7: by Joe (new) - added it

Joe i remeber when you twetted out about the whole Scopius and Albus thing, i screenshotted and sent it to my friends just like "yeah you know then the fave knows what happening" xD. With the Harry and Albus realationship, yeah Albus was a dick to Harry, my main problem with it was that harry said something about not having to deal with children and not having someone to compair to to bring up a child, but James is older then Albus and im sure that harry also had to go through struggles with him, And harry did have someone to campair to because he still had the Dursleys, which was an example of "dont show favoritism and dont be a dick to little kids", which, okay not to the extent of the dursleys and how they were, becasue as you said it was an absusive childhood, he was kind of a dick to Albus too, because from how it seems harry didnt have the time to work out all of the stuggles that he was facing untill he found out about the "Dark Cloud". but as i said Albus was also a dick to harry (i use dick because of a lack of a better word) and he also could have brought up how he was felling and kind of say "Hey pops? i kind of fell like you are pushing me to the side, and im also getting picked on because im a potter that isnt in gryfindor"


Hannah I was not expecting this long review BUT THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR IT


Cat Wow, this is the the most critical review (and the lowest rating) I've ever seen you put out. Amazing! i shared a lot of the same issues as you did, but I was really forgiving on the time turner, since no one knew how it worked; therefore, it couldn't be explained as simply as the earlier version of the time turners in the books. I was also really forgiving because the main plot revolved around my favorite book in the original series, so sue me lol. Lastly, I like to believe that Delphi wasn't actually voldemort's child. Since Bellatrix and Voldemort both die in the Battle of Hogwarts, it would be really easy for someone to lie about her parentage. I think that she was the child of someone that died at the battle of hogwarts, but it wasn't Tom Riddle and Bellatrix Lestrange. That's my headcanon at least. Looking forward for your video review, Emma! :)


Nikita the bookworm I share many of these opinions. Great review!


message 11: by Grace (new) - rated it 1 star

Grace Eleanor This is just so much yes, everything I thought was wrong with it (expect the characters - I have major issues with how they portrayed the characters) is in this review. Thank you for making me feel like I'm not the only one who thinks this!


christine Shared all of these opinions. Kudos to you for voicing it!


Leandra You literally took the words out of my mouth


message 14: by Sailor // (new)

Sailor // This was definitely the best review on the Cursed Child. I haven't read it yet because I just know that I'm going to be let down


Halley Hopson I am SO happy to see a coherent, well thought out, detailed review of this, even thought there were so many things you disliked.

Most of the negative reviews I've seen are just straight up bashing it and calling it a joke, not bothering to point out any flaws and having information to back it up.

I am one of the people who loved this book, despite its flaws, but I am very glad to have finally seen a good, critical review of it. Fantastic job Emma! :)


message 16: by Ana (new) - rated it 3 stars

Ana Ministry scene: I knoooow! Also I'm amazed you can still enter the building while under Polyjuice potion. I mean that's exactly what the trio did and they knew how far you can come with that and nobody did anything about it??? Arrrggh.


message 17: by Lizzy Reads (new) - added it

Lizzy Reads I too share all of these opinions. I really feel like, if they could have explained how the time turners work the plot would be so much better.


Ayushi ypu said everything I felt while reading this script.


Ayushi great review!


message 20: by Emma (new) - rated it 3 stars

Emma Giordano Bridget wrote: "Agree with everything. Especially the ScorpiusxAlbus thing. They're together in my mind."

it's hard for me to type it because it keeps hiding my explanation because it thinks i'm trying to hide a spoiler, but when you're typing a review, the right top corner of the type box has a few options, one of them being formatting tips that show you how to do those things :)


message 21: by John (new)

John Cleary I agree with you, I was a bit disappointed. I had read what happens in the script book via an online site with spoilers.


message 22: by Emy (new) - rated it 5 stars

Emy I think the biggest mistake they made was to make this whole story a play. Like you said, a lot of things weren't explained well because they didn't have time, in other words, it should not be included in the first place then.
There are a lot of plot holes and mistakes you listed that would have been fixed if JK Rowling had written an entire book (not a play) with descriptions etc. I think this is why we don't see Hagrid or most of the other Weasley/Potter siblings/cousins, they are probably there, but they are no place or time to include them because they aren't doing anything important. (Again, something wrong happened there and if there isn't time to include some of the main characters, then something needs to be fixed in the plot,asap)
As this is a play, it should have a simplier plot. End of story. It's the biggest mistake they made and I so hope the actual play in London is better live than this book because if it isn't the case they I am sincerily confused as to why JK Rowling even allowed this to happen.


Jawaria Ali yes that is so true!! it would have made a lot more sense if it was a BOOK! not a PLAY.


Faith Honestly, I agree with most of the things you said. This whole script felt like every single fans, fan wishes, fan-fictions and fan predictions come to life. The entire story to me didn't seem like anything that would happen in the harry potter world. I just felt like they had so much potential to make this amazing! Honestly, I was sort of disappointed when Voldemort was going to possibly be a threat again, because we already went through that. Bellatrix was obsessed with Voldemort, but Voldemort was never capable of love?

To me, this whole storyline was just felt like they recycled the harry potter books and placed the new characters in those storylines.

I would've been much happier with seeing Harry as an auror and battling a new group of dark wizards or something that wasn't related to Voldemort.

Also the time travel thing was ridiculous in my opinion. It made no sense.


Anette I agree with almost everything! They should have done something different with the plot, now it was full of holes and felt pretty tired. I thought Harry and Ron were pretty OOC at times but loved Draco and how the script stayed true to him. I also agree about Albus and Scorpius!


Emily (theBookishLounge) This is an amazing review Emma!! I agree with almost everything you've said and this is worded so well. These are the type of reviews people should pay attention to :D


Divyanshi It's *Harry Potter* ! You cannot hate Harry Potter! I really liked this....but the story defied what was told in the previous books. Also, Harry seemed....changed. Not like the Harry I knew and loved but a different, sort of (don't hate me for this) stupid. I mean, I know Harry would never do something to hurt someone intentionally but he did. He hurt his own kid. _Intentionally_


message 28: by Mary (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mary I'm not yet done with the script, but I came here to see if anyone else picked up on the time travel inconsistency thing. Thank goodness I'm not the only one! I'm trying to ignore it and just enjoy the story for what it is, but it's bugging me so much! I seriously don't understand how J.K. Rowling even approve the play, and I'm starting to think she didn't...


Bettina Burger Can I just say, I agree with a lot of things in your review, but one thing in particular stands out:

(view spoiler)


Bexnbookx I absolutely loved reading your review. I agree with heaps of the things you said. One extra thing that hit me in a soft spot was Snape. He new he wasn't going to survive in the alternate world when they fixed it, but he helped anyway. Ahhh all the feelings.


Dean_o I couldn't agree more with you on the whole Scorpius/Albus queerbaiting part. Like honestly, I thought we were above this by now.


message 32: by Lyn (new) - rated it 3 stars

Lyn Caglio Excellent review. This whole book/play left me pretty much flat - too many plot holes. Just didn't feel like it was totally JK Rowling's work. You could tell it was co-written by others or there would not have been so many plot errors. I think I'll just stick to reading her excellent Robert Galbraith mystery series in the future. At least I know those are completely penned by her.


Kathleen Well said, Emma! You have voiced out many of my thoughts. I would like to read the narrative version too to see any improvements. And as much as I want to watch the play, alas I can't. I love this book even though I can see its flaws. I'm happy that it exist. But I don't see it as the 8th Harry Potter book.


Ashley Haven't read a more accurate description of my feelings on this book!


Rahul Gr8 review


message 37: by [deleted user] (new)

Geez. Way better than how I could describe it in my review. I was a mess trying to convert my feelings into words. Job well done.


message 38: by Blabla (new)

Blabla My feelings exactly. Great review


Joanna Wonderful review!! Sums up my feelings exactly!!


back to top