Gitte - Bookworm's Closet's Reviews > Gone with the Wind

Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
2963923
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: 2011, american, classics, favorites, historical, written-in-1930s

What a book! It always amazes me to read about a character that I both dislike and admire. I was shocked by Scarlett's complete lack of empathy, love and kindness, but I still admired her ability to survive when others failed. And even though I thought throughout the book that she deserved what was coming to her at the end, it broke my heart when it finally happened. I felt so sad for her after finishing the book and I couldn't really shake the feeling off...

I loved the character Rhett! He was so fun and amusing and I loved how he could see through Scarlett

And the entire setting was just brilliant! The descriptions of war, the aftermath and the way it effected people's lives were very interesting.

I can easily imagine reading it again some day, I enjoyed it so much and wished it would never end.
1 like · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Gone with the Wind.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

May 4, 2011 – Started Reading
May 4, 2011 – Shelved
May 4, 2011 –
page 9
0.62%
May 8, 2011 –
page 88
6.08%
May 8, 2011 –
page 202
13.95%
May 11, 2011 –
page 303
20.93%
May 13, 2011 –
page 401
27.69%
May 15, 2011 –
page 523
36.12%
May 24, 2011 –
page 585
40.4%
May 30, 2011 –
page 691
47.72%
June 3, 2011 –
page 754
52.07%
June 5, 2011 –
page 958
66.16%
June 9, 2011 –
page 1006
69.48%
June 14, 2011 –
page 1186
81.91%
June 17, 2011 –
page 1240
85.64%
June 19, 2011 – Shelved as: 2011
June 19, 2011 – Shelved as: american
June 19, 2011 – Shelved as: classics
June 19, 2011 – Shelved as: favorites
June 19, 2011 – Finished Reading
October 17, 2011 – Shelved as: historical
May 9, 2012 – Shelved as: written-in-1930s

Comments Showing 1-6 of 6 (6 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Doug Bradshaw I will be interested to hear how you like it. I read it a long time ago and would enjoy re-reading it....I think.


Gitte - Bookworm's Closet I've only read 10 pages, but I like it so far!


Doug Bradshaw Gitte, I like it that you liked it so much. It has been over 40 years since I read it. It's one that would be fun to read again, but I have too many things I want to read. How are things over there in Europe?


LemonLinda This is one that I generally reread about every 10 years.


Gitte - Bookworm's Closet @Doug Oh, you should read it again! Great characters and very entertaining! But I understand finding it difficult to find time for rereads - esp such a huge book!


Gitte - Bookworm's Closet @LemonLinda I can imagine I will do the same! I really loved the story!


back to top