Jen 's Reviews > Smut

Smut by Karina Halle
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5962787
's review

really liked it
bookshelves: dual-pov, friends-to-luvahs, frienemies, made-me-laugh, manwhore, na

4.25 Nerd On the Streets Freak In the Sheets Stars

First things first, this book had me hooked and laughing from the moment Amanda's soon to be ex boyfriend started singing Barry Manilow to her in a crowded room. Do you know how difficult it is to sneak read at work when you can't stop laughing? Damn you and your righteous sense of humor, Karina Halle!

There are far better reviewers who've managed to eloquently convey the awesomeness of this book so I'm keeping my review short and sweet. So what did I love about Smut? At first glance it's a romantic comedy meant to provide a funny escape, but as the story progressed I found the mix of funny, sweet and hot sexy times to be just right.

Thank god for e-readers, you can read the filthiest shit and pretend you’re engrossed in War and Peace.

If this book taught me anything, it's just how fabulously entertaining it would be to try and write an erotic romance aimed at the Amazon shopper looking to drop a spare buck on some smut. Having been in that position myself, I'm well aware of the epic titles and storylines that make up this genre. Ms. Halle hit this particular mark dead on.

Riding Hard: a bad boy crime boss MC ménage forbidden second chance romance standalone – Outlaw Jones is one bad-ass biker dude, covered everywhere from his neck to his cock in tattoos. There’s only one place on his body that’s bare – his heart – and he’s saving that space for Angel LaRue, his best friend and the girl next door he last saw when he was a damaged teenager. But first, he has to rescue her from Dick Pounder, the equally sexy boss of the rival gang. Things get…sexual.



I think I read that book last month. Seriously.

Admit it, the stories basically write themselves once you figure out the formula. It'd still be a hell of a good time to pen one, though.

This is the perfect book when you're feeling like something that'll make you laugh and also deliver a fair amount of hot sweetness. Another winner from Karina Halle.
69 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Smut.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

May 14, 2016 – Shelved
May 14, 2016 – Shelved as: to-read
May 17, 2016 – Started Reading
May 18, 2016 –
22.0% " No sign of turnip pancakes to be found, though this morning I think she’s been practicing her contouring because her face is looking mighty Kardashian with a bit of 90’s RuPaul thrown in there. \n \n I kinda need to see what that looks like."
May 18, 2016 –
39.0% "I’ve made my way through both Big Balls, a sports romance involving a well-hung tennis player name Rock Hardon and Begging for Seconds, about Chevy Silverado, a billionaire chef who teaches his new cook how a turkey baster should really be used.\n \n LMFAO!\n \n "
May 19, 2016 –
84.0% " “You’re just stuck and don’t know how to take it to the next step. What you really need is to take her on a walk through the jungle, preferably while Elton John—”\n “Will you stop with the Lion King analogies?”\n “Fine. But you have to admit they’re helpful.” \n "
May 19, 2016 – Shelved as: dual-pov
May 19, 2016 – Shelved as: friends-to-luvahs
May 19, 2016 – Shelved as: frienemies
May 19, 2016 – Shelved as: made-me-laugh
May 19, 2016 – Shelved as: manwhore
May 19, 2016 – Shelved as: na
May 19, 2016 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-33 of 33 (33 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 2: by Astrid - The Bookish Sweet Tooth (last edited May 19, 2016 08:59PM) (new) - added it

Astrid - The Bookish Sweet Tooth Brilliant review, Jen!

Dick Pounder? XD


Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» Fab review, lovely Jen!! This sounds entertaining, and its so hard to find quality romance with well placed humour. Definitely going to be checking this out! So happy you enjoyed this! :D xoxoxo

And I second Astrid: Dick Pounder...WTF!?? LOL


message 4: by DW (new)

DW Great review, Jen ;)


Jen Astrid wrote: "Brilliant review, Jen!

Dick Pounder? XD"


Ha! I know. Thinking of porn names would be one of the best jobs evah! ;)


Jen Maida»-(¯`v´¯)-» wrote: "Fab review, lovely Jen!! This sounds entertaining, and its so hard to find quality romance with well placed humour. Definitely going to be checking this out! So happy you enjoyed this! :D xoxoxo

A..."


Thanks, sweetie! You should definitely give it a shot :))


message 7: by Jen (last edited May 19, 2016 11:14PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Jen DW wrote: "Great review, Jen ;)"

Thanks, babe!


message 8: by Jen (last edited May 20, 2016 12:19AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Jen Patty ❤️❤️ Belongs To ❤️Kellan❤️Jesse❤️Lautner❤️Miller❤️Garrett❤️Dean and Archer❤️❤️ wrote: "Enjoy Sweetie!! :)
xoxoxo"


Thanks, Patty :))


message 9: by Jen (new)

Jen LOL! Loved your review Jen...I'd also love to talk to your co-workers and hear what they have to say about you laughing out loud at work.. Somehow I can picture it!!! Glad you found a book to make you laugh...those are the best stories of all aren't they?!!!


Jen Jen wrote: "LOL! Loved your review Jen...I'd also love to talk to your co-workers and hear what they have to say about you laughing out loud at work.. Somehow I can picture it!!! Glad you found a book to make ..."

Ha! My co-workers live with it as the norm ;) Though in all fairness, I'm not usually trying to read. And those stories are the best, sweet Jen! :D


Ang (Sizzling Pages) great review sweetie :)


message 13: by Jennifer (new)

Jennifer Kyle Great review Jen xx


message 14: by [deleted user] (new)

awesome, Jen! There's not enough funny & good romances around. Definitely considering this.


message 15: by Aisling Zena (new) - added it

Aisling Zena Terrific review Jen! :)


Jen Pavlina loves Dex ❤❤ wrote: "Amazing review Jen :))"

Thanks, sweetie :))


Jen Ang (Sizzling Pages) wrote: "great review sweetie :)"

Thanks, babe :))


Jen Jennifer wrote: "Great review Jen xx"

Thanks, Ms. Jen xx


Jen RomReader *Spoiler Giver* wrote: "awesome, Jen! There's not enough funny & good romances around. Definitely considering this."

This was funny without the cheese and silliness. Definitely give it a go!


Jen Aisling Zena wrote: "Terrific review Jen! :)"

Thanks, Aisling! :)


message 21: by Jen (new) - added it

Jen Fabulous review, Jen! ❤️


message 22: by Judith (new)

Judith Terrific review,darling,xx


TheCrazyWorldOfABookLover Awesome review Jen!


Maria✦❋Steamy Reads Blog❋✦ splendid review! I'm about to finish this book about I loved it too!


message 26: by Jessica's (new)

Jessica's Totally Over The Top Book Obsession Awesome review Jen :)


Jen Jessica's wrote: "Awesome review Jen :)"

Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞ wrote: "great review Jen!"

✤Maria✤ wrote: "splendid review! I'm about to finish this book about I loved it too!"

Nancy wrote: "Great review, Jen!"

Judith wrote: "Terrific review,darling,xx"

Jen wrote: "Fabulous review, Jen! ❤️"

Thank you, lovely ladies!


Christy Awesome review, Jen! xo


Megan✦❋Steamy Reads Blog❋✦ Stunning review, Jen :) xoxo


message 30: by * Meli Mel * (new)

* Meli Mel * FAB review, Jen!! ♥ ♥


~Anna's ƦªϻƁℓℹռg$~ Awesome review, Jen! <3


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Excellent review Jen! = ))


message 33: by Liz (new)

Liz I'm dying. Your review is spot on girl


back to top