ambsreads's Reviews > Paper Princess

Paper Princess by Erin Watt
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
30813900
's review

did not like it
bookshelves: not-for-me, new-adult, annoying-male-leads, may-continue, contemporary, romance, literal-trash

I can't even begin this review with a quote like I've been doing with my most recent reviews. Why? Because while I didn't had this book I found every piece of dialogue laughable.

I hate giving negative reviews to books, I literally hate doing it. An author puts so much work into a book and you want to enjoy it for their sake. This book, however, was not one that interested me. The plot line made me feel ill in several instances. SEVERAL. I don't think that's every happened to me before. The main characters were annoying, childish, and beyond stupid. Also, the cliffhanger this book ended on does in no way entice me to read the next book in the series.

I'm going to try and summarise this book in my own way, be warned I can't summarise and theres spoilers :

(view spoiler)

I honestly wouldn't recommend this book. The only reason it got 2 stars from me instead of one was the fact I laughed at how desperate and awful the portrayal of the characters were.
43 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Paper Princess.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

May 9, 2016 – Shelved
May 10, 2016 – Started Reading
May 10, 2016 –
30.0% ""Well tell me about the Royals" is this a damn Twilight moment"
May 10, 2016 – Shelved as: not-for-me
May 11, 2016 – Finished Reading
July 16, 2016 – Shelved as: romance
July 16, 2016 – Shelved as: may-continue
July 16, 2016 – Shelved as: contemporary
July 16, 2016 – Shelved as: new-adult
July 16, 2016 – Shelved as: annoying-male-leads
October 18, 2016 – Shelved as: literal-trash

Comments Showing 1-13 of 13 (13 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Kainat 《HUFFLEPUFF & PROUD》 I didn't like it much either.


ambsreads Kainat Ijaz wrote: "I didn't like it much either."

The only reason it was enjoyable was because Ella made every stupid decision possible and plot holes were everywhere. Like was the fighting thing ever brought up again? Most of this novel was just dribble.


message 3: by [deleted user] (new)

^agree Ella made the worst decisions. (view spoiler)


Kainat 《HUFFLEPUFF & PROUD》 ^^Ella was so dumb she irritated the hell out of me! Reed wasn't any better either. And, yes, there were many plot holes, i can't even start right now.


ambsreads Christine wrote: "^agree Ella made the worst decisions. [spoilers removed]"

Literally same! Like why in gods name did she make that choice?? I definitely won't be reading the next book in the series because I don't think I can put up with her choices. In no way was anything about Reed attractive either! Biggest asshole


ambsreads Kainat Ijaz wrote: "^^Ella was so dumb she irritated the hell out of me! Reed wasn't any better either. And, yes, there were many plot holes, i can't even start right now."

This book makes me so mad ahaha. I'm just glad I finished it and can move on.


Brenda My major problem was daniel's plot that Camé of nowhere. And ella was dumb to believe in reed


V. A Court of Wings and Ruin is NEW ADULT/EROTICA but Goodreads editors won't tell you to include it in the choice awards This is one of the best reviews I've read about this book. I also hated giving it a bad rating.


message 9: by CAM ♔ (new) - added it

CAM ♔ I've heard a lot of positive feedback about this one. Sorry it didn't turn out so good! Oh and it pains me to make negative reviews to books, too. Well, we do have to be honest.


V. A Court of Wings and Ruin is NEW ADULT/EROTICA but Goodreads editors won't tell you to include it in the choice awards Yeah, we own it to our friends. Some might find themselves dissapointed if they follow the hype.


message 11: by S. (new) - rated it 1 star

S. Davis I don't know where I am liking this so far but I feel like I'm relating to Ella.
My grown up self says "run!" fast and very far away from that Reed guy, but I fell for a mean guy when I was her age and married him, so I know why she might have done it.
Still in the first half of the book, so I don't really know how it turned out yet.
I can understand Ella's character so far. Reality isn't always so cut and dry. Some of these characters are flawed because we are flawed.
As for the writing I don't really know yet. I'm listening to the book...


message 12: by S. (new) - rated it 1 star

S. Davis Finished the book and yes, it was a highly unhealthy portrayal of relationships all across the board. What horrible characters. No redeeming qualities, yet the book isn't even in such a genre that supports "no redeeming qualities" in the lead characters. Such a genre would actually contain a character arc or two wherein the non-redeemed, through some highly emotional or inspiring events, become redeemed, and The End.
This was nothing like that; this was just a soft-porn, "toxic relationship" warning to women and men of all ages, but definitely not a good read for all ages.


message 13: by Adi (new)

Adi After reading 3 sentences of this review I removed this book from my to read shelf...


back to top